We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful!”
Review of Lo Terrachu

Lo Terrachu
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lo Terrachu
Ranked #11 of 17 Tignes B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2007

I can't believe the other reviews, were these people staying at the same Hotel we have just come back from?!
I travelled with a group of 14 guys for a weekend and we all thought the hotel was a disgrace!
I personally have never stayed anywhere like it, even in my school days the places we stayed at were like the Ritz by comparison.
The rooms were awful. The decor was like stepping back in time, poorly decorated rotten old carpets, crap bed linen, tiles missing in the bathroom, holes in the wall tiles missing from the floor, hole in the batroom door.
I had water dripping from the bedroom ceiling onto the carpet, my friend had no glass in his bedroom window, I could go on & on! This was a "Crystal" run hotel, they should be ashamed.
Why is it that when Brits go skiing they leave their standards at the airport and are willing to accept such horrid substandard accomodation? I am sure that if a party of German tourists were taken to the Terrachu Hotel, they would refuse to stay there, get straight back on the coach and demand to be taken somewhere better. Come on people open your eyes and raise your standard! Don't settle for this pile of ----!

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billybrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2007

Stayed here end Feb 2007 with 18 month old child. We found very little to fault this hotel and would recommend it.

We were in room 11, a ground floor room which along with room 12 can ONLY be accessed from outside. This means that you may have to trudge through deep snow to get to the dining room / bar area. Room 11 is recently renovated, though there were still some fittings to be completed. Otherwise, the room was kept at a comfortable temperature (heating just right), and was cleaned daily. The terrace between rooms 11 and 12 and the rest of the hotel were regularly cleared of snow, but not before breakfast! Attached is photo with the walk from these rooms to the main hotel entrance.

This hotel is a Crystal club hotel, which in reality meant something inbetween a hostel and chalet in the level of service. Some rooms had somewhat tired decoration (we were part of a group and saw other rooms) and are in dire need of renovation.

The major plus for this hotel is the staff. The hotel is well managed, and the staff friendly, who do what they promise to do - if you make a (reasonable) request they will do all they can to help you. The food is superb, not at all what you would expect given the condition of some of the rooms. The bar is adequate, 1 beer (Amstel) on draft, otherwise bottles / spirits / wines, and there is a pool table and table football to keep you busy. They also have Sky TV and show any football matches that might be on.

We had our 18 month old son with us, and the staff (especially those in the restaurant) did all they could to make our holiday as hassle free as it can be with a small child.

A word of warning if you are planning to stay in rooms 11 or 12 and not be part of a group that books both - the sound travels very easily from one room to the next. We had a group of 4 lads in the room next to us - who were no problem - but had this group been noisy party animals we would have had one sleepless night after another.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Tignes-le-Lac (Chaudannes and Aeroski lifts) and a 5 minute walk to the Chardonnet drag lift. If you are using Crystal's childcare in Chalet Christina, this is about 3 minutes walk away.

The location is excellent - on the edge of the lake and very close to bus stops to take you to any other part of Tignes (buses run 24/7). As mentioned by another reviewer, the path to the hotel entrance from the road is steep and can be tricky in heavy snow, but the hotel staff usually got to clearing this rapidly. The hotel can be accessed from the path going around the lake if you'd rather not use the steep path - but then you'd probably end up walking further.

This is a hotel which does all the essentials very well. The state of decoration of the rooms is easily forgiven because of this.

4  Thank mountainperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Terrachu during January 2007, we booked through crystalski online and got an amazing deal £125 for 4 nights !!! The hotel was well located and we had stunning views from the bedroom window, the property had a good bar and nice eating area again with views - the food was very good. The rooms were fine although the beds felt as if they were 50 years old - however, the bathroom was terrible, cracked tiles, outdated decor. but worst was the fact that the bath had a shower attachment to the taps but no curtain or screen and no where to hang the shower so you had to hold it and drench the bathroom at the same time. The staff were helpful and friendly but didnt clean the bedrooms or bathrooms in the time we were there at all. It is also worth noting the the Terrachu has a very steep path leading down to it - but if the weather is ok it is great to sit outside overlooking the lake.

As a whole we loved it but would have been complaining loudly had we paid any more than we had.

bus stops were close by and you could walk to the ski lifts if you wanted and the sking was fantastic although the slopes were not necessarily for beginners !!

I would definately recommend this if the bathrooms were updated but would also recommend it if you can get a good deal there !

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank RissWestonSuperMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

First time skier, stayed in Terrachu, a complete ease. Ok, the hotel isnt decorated to your ususal standard, but its clean, warm, and very comfortable. A sitting room with a log fire looking out over the lake and mountains is absolutely gorgeous wehn youve come back from a hard days skiing. Basically, if youre looking for budget accomodation thats clearn, frriendly and tasty food, choose the Terrachu, if your a snob and demands good decor, dont bother. A perfect place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Firsttimethailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
113
Reviewed April 27, 2005

This hotel is not the fanciest in Tignes but i truly belive that the staff there made the world of difference to our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to make sure our holiday went a smoothly as possible. The food was fantastic and looked beautiful with such a brilliant selection selection that catered for our kids and the vegitarians in our group.

I would like to thank them all, Nick (Hotel Manager), Schoph (Head Chef) and Chris (Second Chef), Growler and Tom (the barmen) and the hosts Dana, Matt, Michelle and Tom for making our holiday the best we have had since we started skiing.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank nellllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank NATHIE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#4 of 37 in Tignes
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
0.4 mi away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#6 of 37 in Tignes
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lo Terrachu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lo Terrachu

Address: Bord de Lac Chemin de Crouze, 73320 Tignes, France (Formerly Le Terrachu)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tignes
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lo Terrachu is a privately run hotel, under new management that is beautifully situated on the edge of the lake in Tignes Le Lac, with every room having an uninterrupted view of the lake and mountains. Whether enjoying a drink on the outdoor sofas, a cocktail in the bar or a gastronomic meal in our restaurant it's a view and an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrachu Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing