We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Hotel Le Gentiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Gentiana
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have stayed one week in "le gentiana". It is a great location, not far for the lifts and center. The food was really fantastic. I can recommend this hotel for everybody who wants have a nice skiholiday.

Room Tip: excellent, the food was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greet111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 359 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I am sitting in the bar on the last night of a great week! Serge is a great host and tried very hard to make our stay as good as possible. The rooms are small (like many alpine hotels) but very clean and comfortable. Our booking included half board and the food was very tasty with different meals offered each night. The meal on Christmas Eve was a special meal and very well presented. One night my daughter did not like the options offered and it was no trouble to cook something different for her.

Our lift passes and parking were all sorted for us and as we are leaving very early tomorrow a packed breakfast has been arranged.

There is a small spa which is nice at the end of the day on the slopes.
Cakes are also offered each day in the bar at about 4pm.

My only slight compliant us the quality of the wifi which is not free but very slow and unreliable.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for a nice relaxed week and hope to come back!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank sueandbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just visited for a week of skiing. The location is perfect for the lifts. The hotel is clean and very comfortable, and the food is great too. There's a handy ski and boot store adjacent to the entrance. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthless B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

6 nights stay with 5 days skiing.

Lovely homely French hotel.

Great location less 5 mins walk to main lifts and close to the shops.

Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff.

Eat as much as you like buffet breakfast which will set you up for the day but the real treat is the evening meal. Probably some of the best Savoie and French cuisine you are going to get in the region.

Oh and the skiing was first class too.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MarkMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed there 4 times now for a season opening ski trip. Serge and his sister Nadia always make us feel very welcome. The hotel is in an ideal location being less than 5 min walk to the main ski lifts, they have a fabulous boot and ski store right beside the main entrance. After a hard days skiing there is nothing better than going for a swim, sauna and a jacuzzi in the spa down stairs, never an ache or pain the following day. The best way to finish off the day is to have a four course fabulous dinner always expertly prepared. The hotel has an extensive selection of wines to go with the various meals. The package includes half board plus ski pass which works out less than £100 per day, value, value.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank MarkMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights in July to ski on the glacier. The staff was amazing and accommodating. The ski storage area is great as we found our room on the small side (for ski gear etc...). The room we had was recently renovated and had a warm cottage feel. Can't comment too much on noise, etc as it was the off season; however, many ski training teams but did not seem to be a problem. We never used the the pool or Jacuzzi nor did we eat at the hotel. Had two good meals down the street at L'aribina. WiFi would have been nice. Tignes is great in the summer!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watersunsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights right at the start of the season. We must absolutely mention first the amazing dinner (half pension) from meat to fish and amazing desserts every meal was fantastic. Very good breakfast too.

Staff are very helpful and can sort out the usual discounts at ski shops. Very conveninet (2-3minutes) for the Aeroski lift, the free bus to Val Claret and the shops/restaurants. Good secure ski storage area including ski boot drying racks.

Our room was straightforward with good storage but smelt slightly of cigarettes on arrival and it then turned out the shower drain was faulty and made the room smell. We reported it a few times but we ended up having to slide the shower door closed, keep the bathroom door shut and fan on and buy scented candles!

A computer is available in the lounge but wifi is otherwise not free (unless you can pick up the free one from the Alpaka lodge next door, which is also good for an apres ski drink/ hot chocolate). The spa area is not too big but has a pool and 2 jacuzzis (a little busy at just after the slopes close but never a problem).

Food, staff and ease of access make it definitely worthwhile.

Room Tip: Possibly best to be on the Alpaka Lodge side (avoid noise of boots/cars from the road and better wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
422 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#5 of 37 in Tignes
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#10 of 37 in Tignes
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#11 of 37 in Tignes
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Gentiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Gentiana

Address: rue du Rosset, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tignes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
#3 Spa Hotel in Tignes
Price Range: $139 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Gentiana 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Gentiana we're a family hotel since 1964 Our hotel is made for you, we like to give you nice and friedly stay. We're here at your service, and try to you give the best stay possible. our welness center is made for you, find a relax time after a ski day or a trip in mountain. Our restaurant, by ouyr chef cook Johan Audren for a nice cooking with a french Touch we want to give you a warm atmosphere in our hotel with our best and sincere regard Serge and Nadia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Gentiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gentiana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing