We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a week at the hotel curling tignes”
Review of Hotel Le Curling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Curling
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

hotel clean dining room ok staff friendly goog location for slopes very busy area around hotel rooms a good size with a bath and shower coooool cheap for beers and lunch compared to places around about hotel would return meals ok a good platefull only downside noise at night with clubbers very loud bought earplugs after first night but still diddnt work guys on the pistes side of hotel did not hear anything so i know what side of hotel i will be asking for next time

Room Tip: rooms facing the nightclub is what we had a nightmare we were all woken up every night by extreme no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 170 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location as regards the skiing, food not bad, and staff pleasant and helpful. Downsides: it's typical high density, low cost skiing accommodation, with tiny beds and all very scruffy. But you get what you pay for when you ski in France! The real issue was the noise! Revellers congregate outside the bars opposite and the sounds echoes against the concrete buildings all around; despite being on the 5th floor it was enough to keep me awake till 2-3am each night - and I'm not a bad sleeper! So take some ear plugs!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank afryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This Hotel is set up for schools and it shows - dont go there if you are over 21. The meals are school dinners, you even have to pass the plated food along the table. The breakfast offers nothing hot and no hot chocolate. There was food stuck in the carpet in our bedroom. Beds are very hard and pillows awful. The rooms with outside walls are freezing. The rooms overlooking the Melting pot night club are very noisy all night. Unless someone pays you....dont go there. Bar staff are miserable probably after not sleeping all night. Weird picture on our bedroom wall of a naked woman with Neptune wrapped around her.....and its for school children? I dont think hotel knows what it wants to be....
Plus points - some rooms have great views, the staff are friendly (even if the average staff age is 12 years old).

Room Tip: ask for high up and not opposite melting pot and no outside wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel itself has a great position and with a bit of pushing you can ski right to the door, which is great! its a two minute walk from the ESF ski school meeting place. Breakfast was a nice typical continental but exactly the same every day, the orange juice isn't nice plus a good selection of teas and coffee available. Lunch was always nice ranging from soup and sandwiches to jackets potatoes to cottage pie. Dinner was usually good and catered fairly well for allergies such as gluten and always had a vegetarian option, however one night "white fish with crushed potatoes and ratatouille" which travelling with 14-17 year olds didnt go down well. Evening activities were usually great and there was a good social area with a bar and a pool table. However mealtimes were ALWAYS late which rushed everyone in the morning and after lunch. Another huge downside was after experiencing a supposedly 'real' fire alarm. This occured at 2:15 am in the morning and the alarm was unable to be heard from inside the room and me and others were only awoken due to a knock on the door, some guests didnt wake up at all due to the ridiculously inaudible alarm. Thankfully after standing outside for 20 minutes we discovered it had been another alarm in a sister hotel which our alarm was connected to. The next morning i asked the staff that the alarm NEEDED to be turned up alot but they replied nonchalantly "im afraid we cant turn the alarm up" this is extremely dangerous and a huge risk to everyone staying at the hotel curling. This experience and knowledge really shook me up and still worries me. However i still had a lovely holiday and the hotel was always clean but remember a towel, and if you don't then they are more than happy to provide you with one. The hot chocolate at 3.50 Euros was awful and the bar was overpriced too :/ The rooms didn't have a lot of extra room but the shower was good and there was a fair amount of storage, overall i would stay here again regarding the location and value for money :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C607S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've just spent one week in this hotel, it was very early in the season. There were a couple of minor snags i.e. the lift needs servicing, the heating too, plus the Wi-Fi seemed a bit flaky.
But all in all it was very good value, there was about 100 in our group and we didn't have much to moan about.
The staff were extremely helpful, the place was as clean as you’re going to get it. The food is more in the style of youth hostel, but adequate. The bar was truly reasonable and had a great atmosphere, I didn't “shoot any pool” but some did.
The in house ski technician Matt deserves special praise for his budget service prices and also his unbelievably great value equipment rental as well as the attitude that nothing was too much trouble.
The location is just about as good as you can get, with an almost 100 metre level walk to the bottom of the Tuffs lift or just a little poling to get back to the front door.
Yes I’ll go again.

Room Tip: I shared a triple room (two pair of bunk beds + a single) Snow covered balcony. The 4th floor is whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel itself is in a great location and is kept clean - these are the best attributes about the hotel.

We travelled in a group of 26 and the main drawbacks we found were as follows;

Massive lack of towels

Horrific food (meals were appalling and breakfast was always gone by halfway through the breakfast sitting)

Prices of drinks - the owner decided to increase the price of the alcohol halfway through our stay (even though we were commended for our spend behind the bar)

In conclusion, I would say that this hotel is adequate but I would not recommend. Having stayed in Tignes on numerous occasions there certainly are better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danziniblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just returned from a week in Tignes, skiing fantastic, group travelled with brilliant fun. Hotel sadly lacking in some aspects, food moderate (breakfast great from bakery just below hotel, evening meal very very dissappointing - due to chef being sacked and made to work a weeks notice - so sadly poor management decision affecting our stay). Room entered everyday to tidy up duvets, and usually room left open all day! (by staff not ourselves) Hotel staff lovely, just a shame, the management decision regarding the chef made a big impact on our holiday.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, choose a room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
0.2 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Diva
Belambra Clubs - Le Diva
#21 of 37 in Tignes
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#2 of 37 in Tignes
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Curling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Curling

Address: rue du Front de Neige, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tignes
Price Range: $75 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Curling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Curling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Curling Hotel
Le Curling Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing