We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Chalet Alpina
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I have just returned (yesterday) from a one week skiing holiday in Val Claret, Tignes, where my husband and I stayed at the ApartHotel Alpina. This is a ski resort 2 star hotel offering half board accommodation. After booking the accommodation I accessed the Internet to read the reviews. Maybe not the best approach having booked in advance. I was very nervous as almost all reviews were negative and highlighted particular areas for concern, food, rooms, cleanliness and staff. My husband and I put our concerns to one side as we decided that we were only staying away for one week and if the hotel was so bad, this short stay would not kill us.
We decided to write this review upon our arrival at the hotel. Having been delayed we did not arrive in the resort and at the hotel until 03.30am. Our very friendly holiday rep dropped us off and guided us into the reception area. Damien, the night-time receptionist, was waiting to provide our room key and information about the hotel. Damien was French and exquisite in his friendly manner and care for two weary travellers. We found our room with the help of Damiens excellent directions and slept for a few hours before arriving in the dining room for breakfast. Another pleasant experience as we made our way into the room we were greeted by again very friendly staff and offered what would be ‘our table’ for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was buffet style and perfect as vast quantities of strong coffee, cereals, fruits juices, breads, hams, cheeses, eggs etc etc etc were all on offer. Each guest could stock us as much as they could prior to embarking on their adventure skiing day. This leads us to our next pleasant experience, the ski tows and lifts were directly across the road from the hotel’s entrance. Two seconds from the stepping outside and you were on your way. What’s more each evening we were presented with a fabulous variety of four courses for dinner. All served by the very friendly and entertaining staff.
We have been skiing in France for many years now and have to state that the ApartHotel Alpina is excellent value for money and we would recommend this to any skier. As the experienced skier will be aware, accommodation within a skiing resort is somewhat different for your usual summer holiday package hotel. It is typical that rooms are more on the smaller than larger side, you are not spending much time in the room, and decoration could be a bit less grand, skies and boots etc can scruff walls. This review is written by seasoned skiers and as such is a true account. The hotel is excellent, so much so that I am intending to take my whole family, all ten members, to this to celebrate my 50th birthday very soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    8
    16
    19
See reviews for
40
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The Alpina is a truly disgusting place, squalid and filthy. The service is equally miserable and utterly indifferent to visitors. The rooms are really cells and the so-called food is junk. The location is good, but this place should be avoided at all costs. I got a refund from Crystal. I am amazed that that this dump is still in business.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyespyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tignes hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Do not stay here. Aside from the excellent dinner menu in the restaurant, this hotel was far and away the worst we have ever stayed at. We were sold a double room, which ended up being a pokey room with two bunk beds and a pull out split double bed (hard to explain but small and extremely uncomfortable). We complained and we're eventually given a double room on the third night. It was only a fraction more comfortable (fold down bed, small).

The hotel reception serves a number of different establishments, and the staff are generally rude and unhelpful. It’s not cheap either or particularly well maintained. And the pool and sauna was only open for 2 of the 7 days we were there, and even when it was open, hours were very limited.

You also need to clean your own room, strip your own bed etc. and it is inspected before you can check-out and get your deposit back. A bit like staying in a hostel, but a hundred times more expensive.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank recycle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Just returned from a weeks skiing in Tignes whilst staying at the Chalet Alpina (half board). I read the other reviews AFTER booking it and was worried what I might come across at the accommodation...however we need not have been worried. Yes, the room was very small, though we have stayed in 5 star skiing hotels with equally small spaces around us. The bedroom did have a bunkbed in the entrance corridor and a fold out double bed in the main area. We did not use the cooking facilities though we did use the fridge. We did have to fill in a room inventory within a day or two of us arriving though there was no real urgency and when we checked out and a lady came round to "inspect" the room she glanced into the cupboards to briefly check that we had not wrecked the place. We were given our 300 euros cash back without any problems. The ski locker room on the ground floor was adequate as expected and the Chalet location was just about perfect, within 100m of the lifts. The hotel food was very good every day with a continental breakfast and a 3 course evening meal. The staff were very friendly and polite and the accommodation was clean. The place does need a facelift and a bit of modernisation eg shower curtain around the shower tray rather shower doors. All in all we would come back to Chalet Alpina if we got a good deal, though maybe chose another accommodation if we were forced to pay full price! As for Tignes, the ski area is massive and even after a week of hard skiing we did not cover everything. We skied over for lunch in Val D'Isere every day. The town was dead every night with all of the bars being deserted!! The snow was great and we never saw a cloud all week.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We had a fantastic time in Tignes, its a very friendly place full of loads to do if you do or dont ski. Activities available for none skiers, bowling, cinema, loads of cafe's, shops, husky rides, ice car driving, mountain climbing etc

There is a lot of night life in Le Claret with some fab bars and funky house kind of places. Good for couples, groups and families. The restaurants normally serve a very simular menu, pizza, fondue, steak etc and prices are quite high at the minute due to the euro. Drinks are very expensive, average half coke 4.50euro. Cheaper drink is wine and its very good.

There is also Le Lac which is a 5 minute free bus ride, that is where most of the english workers go to drink, their local tends to be The Loop, they have english food and music there too. There is a night club in Le Lac and Le Claret for the party people.

The apartment we stayed in Alpina was good enough for our needs, it is very small and would be very hard for a family of four to stay in due to hardly any space. The bonus was its clean, warm and does a job for a week. We have been on a few ski hols and its average for the star rating. I would advise you not to go self catering though at kitchen is a sink, 2 hobs and fridge, no cooker or work surface so its card to prepare meals!!

We went half board and the food was great. It was a buffet breakfast and 3 course evening meal with an option to pay 5euro each 1 night to have a cheese fondue. The food was great for a meet eater but not so for me who is a vegetarian, almost every night i was given fish, it was nice but an easy option for them to cook. A bit of variety would of been great. The staff we lovely, dont speak much english but we were in france so knowing a bit of french could help!!

Overall a great holiday, would stay at Alpina again for sure. Oh one tip, make sure you fill out the details of whats in the flat first so you cant be charged for missing items!!

  • Liked — it was nice and clean
  • Disliked — it is very small
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We have just returned from a weeks skiing in Tignes (amazing conditions) staying at the Apart-hotel Alpina(5-12.4.08). We thought this would be ideal as we would get breakfast and evening meal, but would be able to make a pack-up for lunch to save money on the slopes (we had 3 hungry teenagers with us!). But the "kitchenette" was a joke - a sink and double-ring hob in what I can only describe as a cupboard. I didn't even make any attempt to use it! The rooms were awful: tiny and very shabby (although clean). My son and his girlfriend had been travelling last year and I asked them if they had stayed in better hostels - they had! However, the one saving grace was the food - great food and plenty of it every night. There were 4 vegetarians in our party of 8 and the chef made a real effort to give us an interesting and varied menu. The meat-eaters were also delighted with what they had each night. The staff were also very friendly. The location is great - very close to all the lifts. And so, if like us, you want to ski all day and just use a room as a base, then once you have accepted how basic it is, it's fine. But if you like to spend any time relaxing in your room, pay a bit more and go elsewhere!

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LandSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballachulish
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We have just returned from a super holiday in Tignes but the accommodation was not great. We have complained to Inghams who we booked with that this accommodation is not a hotel. We booked a double/ twin room in what is called a hotel and were thouroghly disappointed. Firstly we were charged for underoccupancy as the double / twin room sleeps three or four as it has a bunk bed in the hall. The we realised that it also had a kitchenette which worried us somewhat but we decided to make the most of it as this gave us the opportunity of cooking if we wanted.
On arrival we waited for over 1 hour in a queue that didn't seem to move. We had to pay a deposit on the room and fill in an inventory which is unusual for a hotel. We noted the hole in the door, the cracked tiles and the burn behind the hot plates. I am glad we were careful, as I have just read a review saying someone didn't get their deposit back because of damage done by a previous guest. The room is really a shabby appartment and not to be considered a hotel room.
However the food was good and the staff are very friendly. The pool was warm one night out of the four we used it. It is clean enough, but shabby again. The other three nights it was cold and all we did was use it for a refreshing plunge after a great day skiing.

  • Disliked — This is an appartment with half board - not a hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahBallachulish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#16 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
1.0 mi away
Langley Hotel Tignes 2100
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalet Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Alpina

Property: Residence Chalet Alpina
Address: avenue de Grande Motte | Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
#12 Spa Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Chalet Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Chalet Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Chalet Alpina Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing