We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Chalet Alpina
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Just returned from a weeks skiing in Tignes whilst staying at the Chalet Alpina (half board). I read the other reviews AFTER booking it and was worried what I might come across at the accommodation...however we need not have been worried. Yes, the room was very small, though we have stayed in 5 star skiing hotels with equally small spaces around us. The bedroom did have a bunkbed in the entrance corridor and a fold out double bed in the main area. We did not use the cooking facilities though we did use the fridge. We did have to fill in a room inventory within a day or two of us arriving though there was no real urgency and when we checked out and a lady came round to "inspect" the room she glanced into the cupboards to briefly check that we had not wrecked the place. We were given our 300 euros cash back without any problems. The ski locker room on the ground floor was adequate as expected and the Chalet location was just about perfect, within 100m of the lifts. The hotel food was very good every day with a continental breakfast and a 3 course evening meal. The staff were very friendly and polite and the accommodation was clean. The place does need a facelift and a bit of modernisation eg shower curtain around the shower tray rather shower doors. All in all we would come back to Chalet Alpina if we got a good deal, though maybe chose another accommodation if we were forced to pay full price! As for Tignes, the ski area is massive and even after a week of hard skiing we did not cover everything. We skied over for lunch in Val D'Isere every day. The town was dead every night with all of the bars being deserted!! The snow was great and we never saw a cloud all week.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Residence Chalet Alpina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2009

We had a fantastic time in Tignes, its a very friendly place full of loads to do if you do or dont ski. Activities available for none skiers, bowling, cinema, loads of cafe's, shops, husky rides, ice car driving, mountain climbing etc

There is a lot of night life in Le Claret with some fab bars and funky house kind of places. Good for couples, groups and families. The restaurants normally serve a very simular menu, pizza, fondue, steak etc and prices are quite high at the minute due to the euro. Drinks are very expensive, average half coke 4.50euro. Cheaper drink is wine and its very good.

There is also Le Lac which is a 5 minute free bus ride, that is where most of the english workers go to drink, their local tends to be The Loop, they have english food and music there too. There is a night club in Le Lac and Le Claret for the party people.

The apartment we stayed in Alpina was good enough for our needs, it is very small and would be very hard for a family of four to stay in due to hardly any space. The bonus was its clean, warm and does a job for a week. We have been on a few ski hols and its average for the star rating. I would advise you not to go self catering though at kitchen is a sink, 2 hobs and fridge, no cooker or work surface so its card to prepare meals!!

We went half board and the food was great. It was a buffet breakfast and 3 course evening meal with an option to pay 5euro each 1 night to have a cheese fondue. The food was great for a meet eater but not so for me who is a vegetarian, almost every night i was given fish, it was nice but an easy option for them to cook. A bit of variety would of been great. The staff we lovely, dont speak much english but we were in france so knowing a bit of french could help!!

Overall a great holiday, would stay at Alpina again for sure. Oh one tip, make sure you fill out the details of whats in the flat first so you cant be charged for missing items!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We have just returned from a weeks skiing in Tignes (amazing conditions) staying at the Apart-hotel Alpina(5-12.4.08). We thought this would be ideal as we would get breakfast and evening meal, but would be able to make a pack-up for lunch to save money on the slopes (we had 3 hungry teenagers with us!). But the "kitchenette" was a joke - a sink and double-ring hob in what I can only describe as a cupboard. I didn't even make any attempt to use it! The rooms were awful: tiny and very shabby (although clean). My son and his girlfriend had been travelling last year and I asked them if they had stayed in better hostels - they had! However, the one saving grace was the food - great food and plenty of it every night. There were 4 vegetarians in our party of 8 and the chef made a real effort to give us an interesting and varied menu. The meat-eaters were also delighted with what they had each night. The staff were also very friendly. The location is great - very close to all the lifts. And so, if like us, you want to ski all day and just use a room as a base, then once you have accepted how basic it is, it's fine. But if you like to spend any time relaxing in your room, pay a bit more and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LandSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We have just returned from a super holiday in Tignes but the accommodation was not great. We have complained to Inghams who we booked with that this accommodation is not a hotel. We booked a double/ twin room in what is called a hotel and were thouroghly disappointed. Firstly we were charged for underoccupancy as the double / twin room sleeps three or four as it has a bunk bed in the hall. The we realised that it also had a kitchenette which worried us somewhat but we decided to make the most of it as this gave us the opportunity of cooking if we wanted.
On arrival we waited for over 1 hour in a queue that didn't seem to move. We had to pay a deposit on the room and fill in an inventory which is unusual for a hotel. We noted the hole in the door, the cracked tiles and the burn behind the hot plates. I am glad we were careful, as I have just read a review saying someone didn't get their deposit back because of damage done by a previous guest. The room is really a shabby appartment and not to be considered a hotel room.
However the food was good and the staff are very friendly. The pool was warm one night out of the four we used it. It is clean enough, but shabby again. The other three nights it was cold and all we did was use it for a refreshing plunge after a great day skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahBallachulish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

WARNING the owners are trying to scam money off of visitors in order to renovate rooms!

The rooms are grubby and they swiped £200 from my credit card for damage to the room that neither I nor my partner or our child made. Steer well clear of this place if this is the way they operate

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinofassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

The hotel is in a fabulous location for the lifts, and near the bus stop for travel to the other towns.

Our initial thoughts were not good, a 20 minute wait at reception to book in, dreary tatty corridors and a room that was more like a corridor than a room!

The evening meal on the first night had a main course that was barely edible too!

After that things improved, we had an excellent balcony and the room was 'cosy' once our bags were packed away (still incredibly narrow though!)

After the first night the meals improved dramatically, excellent French cuisine, often we werent too sure what we were eating (French menu) but it was tasty whatever it was.

I would stay in this hotel again as it was just about the cheapest in resort when I booked it, however my room was for 2-3 and I would dread to think how cramped it would feel with 3 in it.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkfish72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

The trip to Val Claret on saturday is terrible! six hours from Geneva airport! (both ways). The room for 3 is very small, and is more like youth hostle. The normal dinner is of low quality, but there is a secrete! when you done with your breakfast, make an order for dinner, for food whicj is not on the list!

The indoor pool is not hot enough, and a general impression is that this hotel is not a real hotel! it is better to pay a little bit more to get better conditions!!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fun436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#2 of 37 in Tignes
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Langley Hotel Tignes 2100
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalet Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Alpina

Address: avenue de Grande Motte | Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
#12 Spa Hotel in Tignes
Price Range: $76 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Chalet Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Chalet Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Chalet Alpina Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing