We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Chalet Alpina
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stay away from here”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

First of all the flight from Leeds with jet 2 was great then we landed at chambery to be met by the crystal rep then it all went down hill.on the coach for over 50 min waiting for some small blond lad to sell is lift tickets then he just got off the bus ? Then we set of.for what was to be the worst hotel we have ever been in the bed rooms can only be describe as crap and very very small.we changed rooms 3 times . The staff to be fair we ok but the rooms ,stay away from this place,
We we're drop of at a train station on our way to change coach we were there for what seems ages, then when we got on the bus they were no room for all the luggage they put skies in the alleyway so if you wanted to get out of the bus you would have never got out in a accident it was a joke just like crystal.
The return was just as bad took over 4 hours to travel 80 miles.

Room Tip: Just stay away don't go here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Chalet Alpina, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Diane,

En cas de mécontentement concernant votre arrivée aérienne et votre trajet jusqu'à la résidence, il serait plus judicieux de se tourner vers le tour opérateur qui vous a vendu ce séjour. Nous ne sommes pas responsable de l'organisaton du séjour.
Nous sommes navrés que la résidence ne vous ait pas convenu.

Cordialement,
L'Equipe Odalys Vacances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    8
    16
    19
See reviews for
40
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

It was relatively cheap and booked with Crystal so you take a risk, but flipping heck , our hotel room is an old self catering room with a fridge that you cannot open because it is too near the bed. If H&S visited this place they would have a great time , lots for them to do electrically.
The Restaurant is one step behind Faulty Towers with Basil being played by a completely mad woman whose idea of customer service is that they would be better off without customers. The Restaurant is open from 7 till 9 but we were only allowed to venture into the venerable establishment after 8.30 due to it being completely full. My idea of full is full but here it is as many as they can be bothered with at one time. We entered at 10 to nine and were treated as a bloody nuisance
We met other skiers staying at this place and the feeling was the same as ours. Never again !
Oh and God help you if you want a drink with your dinner, I daren't ask the second night !

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Chalet Alpina, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

C'est avec grand regret que nous apprenons votre déception concernant votre séjour à Tignes.
Nous lisons vos remarques avec grande attention et les ferons remonter à notre personnel.

Malgré tout nous espérons que vous nous renouvellerez votre confiance au sein de l'une de nos résidences.
L'Equipe Odalys Vacances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tignes hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Should have read a few more reviews prior to booking as room was so cramped you couldnt even open the fridge door more than eight inches without hitting the bed.
There was a table in the room but you couldnt get to it without climbing over the bed.
Towels were changed only once .shower was a wet room but water leaked under the door and flooded the room if you showered for more than one minute.
At the end of the week...to get your deposit back.. you have to clean the floor ( without being left a broom!) Clean the bathroom ( without any cleaning aids) empty all bins and take rubbish to wheelie bin outside hotel..put quilts in wardrobe..take sheets and towels to reception.. it was like staying in a youth hostel!!
The lift never worked all week and we stayed on 5th floor.
The food was limited..not much choice and only luke warm.. (we ate out four nights!!!
The staff was very pleasant though.
Stairs had a vile smell
Other than that it was ok lol
The year before we stayed at the hotel diva which was a different class!
We wont be staying at alpina again for sure.we will book hotel diva again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After reading tripadvisor reviews we weren't expecting much of this hotel however upon arrival at our room we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and bright with lots of space, dining table, kitchenett, bathrrom and W/C, two balconies and even a childrens room with bunkbeds. The location of the hotel was ideal, it was only a short 5 minute walk to the nearest chairlifts or a 2 minute walk to a transcorde across the car park which could drag you on your skis to the main lift hub. The hotel has both a swimming pool and a sauna, the former being very cold which was nice to jump into after a long bake in the sauna (repeat X 3 for lovely post-ski refreshment). Breakfast and dinner were both buffets with a variety of dishes to choose from including lots of traditional french food all of which was very tasty. The only criticism of the food I can think of was the amount they provided, it seemed the best pickings went to the early birds who were first to breakfast at 7 and first to dinner at 7. The hotel staff were pleasant enough especially the barman David who was very friendly and helpful, always smiling and went out of his way to help us plan an evening ice skating on the lake (also recommended).
All in all we can say that Chalet Alpina is an excelent hotel well worth a visit. We would recommend it to our friends and family and if we ever return to Tignes would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solroed Strand, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early and found our family suite to be ready, granted it did smell of smoke, but it was facing South as requested and we did have balconies on a corner. The suite had a kitchen, a room for the kids and seperate bath(tub) and wc, in the master bedroom there was also a sofa. We were surpriced to find this much space in a french hotel.
We tried to sneek-park the car in the yard, no such luck ;( we had to move the car and pay the mandatory 'fine' from the parking lot in front of the hotel.
We had meals included and could always find something on the buffet to match both the kids and our taste. For New Years eve they had made a good effort to pep up the dinner and serving welcome drinks.
Suggestion for improvement? Do not charge for internet!
All in all a good place for this family to stay and enjoy a GREAT skiing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just arrived back and pleasantly surprised as I wasnt overly confident after walking into reception.
I travelled with my 2 sons and we were given a very spacious room, including a large double bedroom, kitchen and seperate room for my sons.
The Food was mixed to be honest, plenty of it, but not really to my taste and lacking a little in quality. Breakfast was fine.
Location was brilliant, ski hire shop next door and skiing to within 50 metres of the hotel. The nearest list was 150 metres away.
Despite the food overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Arrived at the chalet club late on on New Year's Eve 2011. Reception staff were okay on arrival and rushed us through. First impressions of the hotel were not the worst, but it should be noted that there is little lighting in the communal areas - so watch your step! The floors were also covered in a 'non-slip' surface which was actually very slippery when wet so watch out for that too. All in all the communal areas were quite dingy and smelly. Can't comment on the food or pool as we didn't get around to using them, but other people said the food was good.

When I first arrived at the room I was quite shocked at the size - I have been told skiing rooms are normally quite small, but it felt very cramped, especially as it was for four people sharing. I would recommend getting two rooms instead of just the one if you like comfort. The size wasn't too much of a problem in the end as we spent most of our time out anyway. The kitchenette was adequate for basic meals with two hobs, a microwave and small fridge/freezer. It was also fully stocked, as you'd expect, with pots and pans etc.

The hotel was in an excellent location to access anywhere in Val Claret and it's very close to the access lift to Val D'Isere resort - so lots of slopes! There is also a bus stop just outside which goes to Le Lac etc. All in all I had no complaints about the location and the views from the balcony were stunning as there are no hotels in front of it. Tignes is a brilliant ski resort with a wide variety of slopes for all different levels of ability.

If you are planning on using this room as base then this is a good choice, but if you plan to spend more time in the room I would recommend paying that bit extra for somewhere a little more comfortable!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#4 of 37 in Tignes
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#16 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#10 of 37 in Tignes
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Suites du Montana
1.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
366 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#22 of 37 in Tignes
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Chalet Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Chalet Alpina

Property: Residence Chalet Alpina
Address: avenue de Grande Motte | Val Claret, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
#12 Spa Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Chalet Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Chalet Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Chalet Alpina Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing