We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awful! Don't stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went here with a group of friends and it was the worst holiday of my life. I knew the place would be basic but I was not ready for how bad it really was.

The room was tiny as well as filthy. The heating didn't work properly and I ended up getting a chest infection and I had to spend a fortune on steroids.

We had to keep our ski's in our room which there definitely wasn't room to do. No kettle and the hob didn't work. The shower was clogged when we arrived and we could only shower for about two seconds before it would overflow.

The music and other guests were so loud while I was here that I didn't sleep at all.

I got so ill from the lack of heating that the local doctor told me to fly home immediately before I needed to be hospitalized. The tourist office was extremely unhelpful with this and the only thing they did do was give me a number to a taxi company that did not speak english!

If it was not for a friend back home I would have never managed to get out of there!

I will never be returning to this apartment or Tigne either!

Even if your doing a holiday on a budget, don't stay here! You will regret it! And you will probably spend a fortune trying to escape!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes réellement navrés que vous ayez eu des problèmes de santé dû au dysfonctionnement du chauffage. Il ne faut pas hésiter à le signaler au personnel qui serait intervenu immédiatement ou vous aurez changé d'appartements s'il y avait de la disponibilité.

Bien cordialement
L'équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was dreading staying here having read the reviews but was pleasantly surprised. We had a large group and were split over three rooms so were able to get a look at a range of the available accommodation

The location is excellent, you're as close as you can be to the lifts in val claret and 5 minutes walk from the centre.

The rooms are honestly not as bad as some people on this site make out. It's not the plushest accommodation but considering we paid £289 for a week including Espace Killy pass which in itself costs £206 for 6 days the value is exceptional. You have to pay for sheets or bring our own and clean the apartment after you've used it but this is fairly standard practice in French holiday apartments.

You can't check in until 5 and there isn't a left luggage place at the accommodation but there is one available at the local tourism office a 10 minute walk away.

Also, I found the staff pleasant and not in any way rude.

So, as long as you come for your stay with the knowledge that you will not be staying in Ritz-like surroundings you'll be fine!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous tenons tout d'abord à vous remercier d'avoir pris quelques minutes pour partager votre ressenti avec la communauté Tripadvisor. Nous sommes ravis par votre satisfaction.
Sachez que lors des vacances d'été nous faisons 20% supplémentaires sur les promos pour tout séjour de deux semaines consécutives. Randonnée avec accompagnateur et animations pour les enfants gratuites.
Il est vrai que le ménage est à effectuer par vous même pour les occupants suivants, cependant il est possible de souscrire au "ménage de fin de séjour" en supplément afin que ce soit notre personnel qui s'en occupe.

Nous ne manquerons pas de faire parvenir votre satisfaction à notre personnel sur place.
En espérant vous accueillir de nouveau.
L'équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Been on loads of ski trips. By some margin worst accomodation I have stayed in. We paid an empty bed supplement as was 5 people in a 6 bed apartment. What a joke! 4 people would have been an unacceptable squeeze. No storage or anything. A sardine would have suffered from Claustrophobia!!!
Furthermore, the tiny apartment was disguisting. Your feet were black walking on the floor + mattresses had unthinkable stains and hairs on them.
Booked through Crystal. We complained and their solution was to find us somewhere else......AT OUR EXPENSE (in Tignes approx 200 euro an night EACH). That is unacceptable. Watch out booking here. You will be stuck unless you fancy 1000 euro to bail out.
AVOID this total dump. Seriously don't do it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 927PaulH927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes navrés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre séjour.
Le prix des logements est un prix fixe, cela ne dépend pas du nombre de personnes présentes, seule la taxe de séjour est fixée en fonction du nombre de personnes présentes lors du séjour.
Concernant le ménage, il ne faut pas hésiter à le signaler à notre personnel qui aurait pu intervenir rapidement afin trouver une solution.

Bien cordialement
L'équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group of 5 people. All of us are seasoned skiers having stayed in many ski resorts throughout the alps. The consensus was that this was without doubt the worst accommodation that we have ever stayed in the many ski holidays we have been on. The main lowlights were:

- Could not check in till 5pm even though we arrived at noon; it was not possible to check in before 5pm at all.
- Apartment was incredibly small for 5 people. We were charged an under-occupancy supplement which was absolultey absurd. There was no room for unpacking and the entire party had to live out of our suitcases. There was absolutely no space to hang our ski wear after use.,
- Apartment was very dirty and finished to a very low standard. Pubic hair on bed linen, snot on wall in bathroom, floor dirty, taps incorrectly fitted, TV hanging off the wall, pillows were disgusting, blankets riddled with hair from previous guests and dust EVERYWHERE.
- We had to leave a 300 euro deposit and cleaning of the apartment was essential this is despite the fact it was dirty when we arrived.
- although our flight times meant we had to leave before the necessary check out time, the fact we were not allowed to check in before 5 asks the questions why not considering how dirty the apartment was when we arrived. Our only conclusion was that there was nothing preventing us checking in straight away other than their own bad attitude to customer service.

We booked our holiday through crystal which we made complaints to during our holiday. Crystal's response was that we could pay to stay elsewhere but the 650 euros we had paid for Le rond point des pistes would not reduce what they were asking us to pay.

To summarise, I strongly advise not to stay at this residence. If you must use Crystal, check out the reviews of your selected accommodation prior to booking as Crystal will not support you in the slightest.

Room Tip: Terrible, atrocious, awful, dirty, disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jadossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes navrés que votre séjour ne se soit pas passé comme vous l’espériez.

La superficie de nos appartements est mentionnée sur notre site internet mais aussi sur votre bon de réservation. Le supplément que vous évoquez doit être probablement la taxe de séjour qui s’élève à quelques centimes par personne et par jour.
Concernant la propreté des lieux, nous conseillons à nos résidents d’informer la réception de la résidence quelque soit le désagrément occasionné afin qu’il y ait une intervention rapide et que la situation soit résolue.

Nous espérons, malgré tout, vous revoir dans l’une de nos résidences

L’équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Its a good location for the pistses hence the name and there is a Sherpa supermarket opposite, ideal for food, breakfast booze etc but thats where it ends. This place is pokey to say the least and we were told that it would sleep two with room for a cot, which is true so long as the cot is in the kitchen at night up against the door kinda limiting access to and fro....

Several things were broken in the appartment as well. The kitchen tap tap didnt work properly and wasnt fixed to the sink so kept spinning around. The hot plates were either hot or lukewarm so you had the choice of burning everything or waiting for ever for things to cook. . The shower didnt work properly either - it kept running boiling hot or freezing so either wasnt thermostatic or was faulty. There was a smell of drains coming from the shower and the sink whenever used and the microwave seemed to have a mind of its own. One of the lights was hanging out of the wall exposing the wires which all adds up to a pretty shabby affair. Least it was warm. On a final note, if you are taking a little one dont be fooled into thinking that there is room for a cot because there isn't. There's barely room to swing a cat.

Room Tip: Choose a 2-4 person appartment if you are staying in rond point des pistes - you will feel less like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank snowboardertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes navrés d’apprendre votre déception concernant votre logement au sein de notre résidence.
Sachez que la superficie de nos appartements est mentionnée sur notre site internet mais aussi sur votre bon de réservation. Concernant vos remarques sur les dysfonctionnements de certains équipements nous encourageons nos vacanciers à se rapprocher de l’accueil de la résidence afin qu’une équipe technique intervienne.
Nous prenons note de toutes vos remarques et nous les ferons remonter à la résidence.

En espérant que vous nous renouvellerez votre confiance.

Cordialement
L’équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I wish I could of had the for thinking to look up this place on trip advisor before booking my holiday. The reviews and it being ranked 34/37 places to stay in tignes is in my view entirely accurate.
From arrival everything was wrong. We arrived late on a saturday evening so needed to check in about half a mile down the road. This didnt really upset me as I was still on a high from arriving on holiday. Once I had eventually checked in and got back to my girlfriend who was waiting with the bags (about 35minutes on her own) we happily carried on up to the room and brushed the lengthy checking in off our shoulders. On arrival in the room we were quite frankly shocked...I chose to booked a 4 man mezzanine room for the 2 of us thinking paying that little bit extra we might have a nice amount of room. This was incorrect. I have no idea how 4 people with luggage could possibly fit in this room as the 2 of us struggled. Moving on, again we tried to let let it get to us and just thought of it as cosy. After unpacking we finally looked at going to bed...folded out the sofa bed in the main room only to find a greasy pizza box and 2 bottles of coke without lids on. At this stage I was getting annoyed. And then when we realised that there was no bed linen anywhere to be found in the room...and it having gone 12 we had to sleep our first night on disgusting dirty foul covers. Other bad points that came to attension over the holiday was the fact that the bath could probably only fit children up to the age of 6 ( it was 3 foot long) as well as the shower head pouring water down onto my knee caps unless I was to hold it. Which lets face it after a long day skiing you just want to relax. Another point was that it was practically impossible to get the temperature right in the room over night. There is a little heater which to be fair works fine...but for some reason underfloor heating seems to be turned on at some point in the morning. So almost every morning I have woken up sweating beyond belief and not had a good nights sleep because I have been too cold! There is 1 loo roll supplied for "4" people for one week. I know its self catering...but you would think simple things like loo roll would be supplied. The list of bad things in this place could almost be endless with lots of little things like bulbs needing replacing, no cupboard space...it goes on and on.
I guess to find one good point is that it is about 50metres from 3 lifts up the mountain. But this does not make up for anything.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aylett24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Aylett,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir choisi de séjourner dans l’une de nos résidences.
Nous souhaitons revenir avec vous sur plusieurs de vos remarques :
- La superficie des appartements est mentionnée sur votre bon de réservation que vous avez dû recevoir mais aussi sur notre site internet.
- Le linge de lit n’est pas fourni, cela est également spécifié sur tous les documents. Cependant il est possible d’en louer à l’accueil de la résidence.
- Au niveau du ménage il est possible qu’il y ait eu un oubli mais il ne faut pas hésiter à le signaler.
- Un seul rouleau de papier toilette est en effet fourni à votre arrivée, il ne s’agit pas d’un hôtel vous devez vous munir de tous les équipements hors mobilier et électroménager qui ne sont pas spécifiés sur nos fiches techniques.

Nous nous excusons pour ces incidents et espérons, malgré tout, vous recevoir une nouvelle fois au sein de l’une de nos résidences afin d’effacer ces bémols.

Cordialement,

L’équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Before I start, I will assume you have already been self-catering in France before (that way we can dispense with the comments on cleaning, making the beds, eclectic kitchen equipment (bring a few dishwasher tabs and a decent mug), lack of kettle, bathmats, towels, toilet rolls etc.) This is a constant wherever you go in France. Firstly checking in. It does help to understand French but do not panic if you are left walking around outside with your suitcase - if you look at the paperwork they hand you you should see the building entrance you need and the entrance code written down for you. You will not be taken to your room unless you are very lucky. Don't forget to ask for your sheets when you check in. So lets pretend you have found your room and made your beds. The boot room is on the ground floor of whatever building you are in. It uses the same code as outside. However you can't really access the lockers and get out with your skis and boots other than by shuffling along sideways. After a day of that I took it all to the room which worked well though my husband continue to use the boot locker. I had to clean the apartment when I arrived as my daughter has allergies and actually 7 days later it was still so good (compared to how I found it) I didn't need to clean it again. So I actually think it would be good to do that anyway - at least then you know its your dirt after that and not anyone elses. Of course, the skiing and location is unbeatable here so all you need to do is get your head around are the matters above and then like us you can go away for the Xmas week at bargain basements rates. I am a bit snobby and I did not regret it at all. Btw we ended up eating in some of time as it did save so much money. The supermarket and ski hire shop are less than a minute away. All we did at the end was put the sheets in a container near reception and off we popped.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Natalie,

Tout d’abord nous souhaitons vous remercier d’avoir choisi l’une de nos résidences pour vos vacances.

Il s’agit d’une résidence et non d’un hôtel, les draps ne sont pas fournis mais vous pouvez en louer à l’accueil de la résidence mais les lits sont à faire par vous-même.
La résidence n’est pas équipée de casiers à ski, cela n’est mentionné à aucun moment sur notre site internet ou même sur votre bon de réservation.

Nous sommes navrés que vos vacances ne se soient pas déroulées aussi bien que vous l’espériez.

L’équipe Odalys Vacances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Chalet Alpina
Residence Chalet Alpina
#25 of 37 in Tignes
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Levanna
Levanna
#9 of 37 in Tignes
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
0.3 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes

Address: avenue de Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
Price Range: $71 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Le Rond Point des Pistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Le Rond Point Des Pistes Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing