We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Village Montana
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have stayed in Tignes many times over many years. For the first time this year chose the Hotel Village Montana. This was just the type of hotel I hoped for. Good sized rooms (which in my experience is unusual in Tignes). Although the hotel is fairly new it has a rustic charm with ample public space so you can relax in the common areas on large comfortable sofas. Well equipped rooms with BBC1 and BBC2. Excellent food and excellent service. Stayed for a week on demi-pension and never wanted to miss the hotel dinner. It was a varied and interesting menu which changed each night. The cheeseboard was fantastic and the deserts even better. The creme brûlée was so good that it had often run out by the time I had had my latish dinner. The staff were very professional and welcoming. We had the possibility of having dinner at their typical savoyard restaurant but chose to stay with their main restaurant it was so good.
The reception staff were also very friendly and accommodating. I would love to return again soon and for me, given I have hotel fatigue from so many business trips is rare praise indeed.

I'm a skier so spent all the available time on the slopes but if you like spas and swimming pools that seemed to be a good option too, just that I didn't try them.

Ski room was excellent with secure storage for skis and boots with your own personal boot warmers which worked very effectively. Almost ski in ski out - just a short walk around the hotel to get to the slope down to one of the main lifts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonSimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 422 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just spent Christmas here. The Montana is made up of hotel rooms (in the main building), suites and aprtments, we chose the Hotel . The rooms are designed for four people ( 2 adults, 2 children), so being two of us we had plenty of room. Lots of stourage space, robes, slippers, hairdryer and all the usual amenities. TV in the room which also offered BBC1 and BBC2. We had a balcony, but being a corner room you were overlooked. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, on half board you are offered, soup, entree, main, cheese buffet followed by dessert buffet, all of which was nicely cooked and beautifully presented. A Large lounge with an open fire as centre piece , was also very inviting. Really lovely. There is an outdoor pool, but it didn;t seem to be open, as it was covered all week. The Spa is in the connecting building, accessible by either walking through the restaurant or outside. Free wi-fi throughout. Large ski room to store your skis, individual lockers per room. Small shop is also on site. Not quite ski in/out from the hotel building, you had to walk past the connecting building to get onto the side of a blue run. If you aren;t a confident skier, then you had about a 150m walk to the base, uphill coming back. I did notice there was a shuttle bus owned by the hotel, but nothing was advertised regarding it's schedule. The staff were extremly friendly , although I did notice that on busy nights in the restaurant, you did tend to wait a while for your main course. There is a SPAR nearby and a nice retaurant/bar. Tignes itself is not a pretty village, the skiing is vast , but quite open, unless you ski down to Les Breviere where it is tree lined. There is a free bus linking all areas of Tignes. We were disappointed in the conditions of the pistes, they didn;t do much piste bashing, and we spent most of the week skiing moguls, even on blues. Not good if you are a nervouse skier, as most of the 'key' runs were like this. With regard to the Hotel, it was a good choice and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Second time we go there in summer, we love the room, the people very warm and helpful from the hotel, and the food. It's the perfect gateway for the family in summer if you are fed up with sea side holidays in France. Will come back next year for sure! Room 511 is a duplex with plenty of space.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were given this hotel as an alternative to the one we had booked due to a mistake by the agent (no fault of hotel) and we were wholly satisfied. The room we were given was good sized and comfortable, had a nice view and the location was great to ski in/out to the slopes. We stayed half board and the breakfast was always ample and varied (buffet) with dinner ranging from average to excellent (fillet steak + foie gras on the last night). The staff were very friendly and attentive and always greeted us with a smile. The atmosphere with in the hotel is warm and comfy yet it still maintained a small sense of luxury. It was our first visit to Tignes and we absolutely loved it. Overall, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Village Montana Hotel for skiing trips for the last few years. We now feel that the hotel is in need of investment and updating and is in danger of relying too heavily on its location and somewhat limited choice in Tignes. On the plus side, the location is pretty good with good ski-in on the way back to the town and the food is generally pretty good. In particular the food in La Chaumiere restaurant is very good and Michel is an excellent host there. On the negative side - the rooms need updating and the beds and bed linen are very poor; the common parts of the hotel are now looking somewhat tatty; the ski out entrance was virtually impassable; the wi-fi was unusable due to overload; and, sadly, the staff have become somewhat grumpy, particularly at reception. We love Tignes but sadly this hotel is now much poorer value for money and we will have to stay elsewhere in Tignes in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BrunswickFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Has a very good restaurant Chaumerie with very good food, excellent service and an entertaining atmosphere. The restaurant manager Michel does a fantastic job to make all guests satisfied. Recommended for both lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanmNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

my family has been staying in this hotel for nearly 10 years and every year we hoped that the next year this hotel would improve.But it never happened. 10 years is a quite long time and we tired of waiting. the same old furniture the same bedding. no duvets old blankets which could be rather called ''rugs''. No wi fi through out the stay very weak signal just in reception area.
staff is polite but no more. all the paths around the hotel were covered in ice no sand or salt were used to prevent from slipping when walking in ski boots. after a heavy snow it took them almost a weak to clear a stairway to the entrance door. lack of care and attention to details.

I wouldnt recommend to stay here for more than a weak end.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maria0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#5 of 37 in Tignes
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#11 of 37 in Tignes
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
359 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Les Suites du Montana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Village Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Village Montana

Address: avenue de Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#2 Spa Hotel in Tignes
Price Range: $226 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Village Montana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a pleasant and quiet area, the recently renovated Hotel Village Montana combines the charm and comfort of a mountain hotel with the elegance of a typical Savoyard-style chalet. The hotel is the perfect place to associate your sporting activities with relaxing ones such as sitting in front of the fire, fine dining and being pampered in the health spa>. With fabulous views of the mountains and the village, top quality service and amenities, there is everything you need to make your stay a really special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Village Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Montana Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing