We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Village Montana
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“poor wifi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

my family has been staying in this hotel for nearly 10 years and every year we hoped that the next year this hotel would improve.But it never happened. 10 years is a quite long time and we tired of waiting. the same old furniture the same bedding. no duvets old blankets which could be rather called ''rugs''. No wi fi through out the stay very weak signal just in reception area.
staff is polite but no more. all the paths around the hotel were covered in ice no sand or salt were used to prevent from slipping when walking in ski boots. after a heavy snow it took them almost a weak to clear a stairway to the entrance door. lack of care and attention to details.

I wouldnt recommend to stay here for more than a weak end.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maria0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    99
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
176
95
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Hotel Montana is a three star, but I have to say, we received five star treatment. The hotel was not terribly full, given that it was the summer season, and we found the staff quite accommodating, the rooms were lovely (although a bit dark!) and the area in general a great place to visit.

The heated outdoor swimming pool was a key highlight. We enjoyed the breakfast, although we dinned out for other meals. Overall, it was an excellent experience and I would recommend the hotel for summer visits.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

As a seasoned skier, I have skied in numerous countries and stayed in a variety of hotels of varying quality. Without exception I can say that The Hotel Village Montana (3*) has provided the best value for money.
We first stayed there in Feb 2010, and were amazed at the standard of the rooms, the quality and variety of the food, and the great service.
This year in Feb, we decided to treat ourselves to a stay in the Village Montana Suites (4*), situated just behind the main hotel. The rooms are even bigger, with 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms and a lounge with solid fuel fireplace. The main bathroom has its own sauna.
The gourmet restaurant is truly amazing, however the quality of the food may prove to be too rich for some children. Although the chef always seemed happy to accommodate a request for a simpler meal for kids. As with the 3* hotel, you always have the option of eating in one of the other restaurants if you wish.
The bar is very good, but more of a cocktail bar atmosphere and a lot quieter than that in the 3* hotel.
The spa is definately better in The Suites than the 3* Hotel, if only for the fact that the pool is indoors, warmer and was always child free when we used it. The sauna and steam room are well worth a visit, however the steam room could have been hotter!!
For the extra money, the 4* Suites are well priced, however I still feel that the 3* Hotel offers the best value for money. So much so that I have booked to go back during Feb half term next year with my two children.

The only negative with either the hotel or suites is that they don't have a gym. However, a short walk into the village takes you to the main sports centre and pool, where they have an amazing gym.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

2nd time around for us at the village montana. (stayed at easter 2010) and it was far busier during thee school hols than last year at easter.
All good apart from the following and, generally due to being totally full and far to busy. School hols eh???
Limited hot water after 17.00 when everyone comes off the slopes.
Restaurant at the 19.00 sitting was struggling to find tables for everyone. On 3 occasions we had to sit at a table for 2 with my son pushed in on the end, not really giving enough room.
We had a couple of items removed from the room, which despite 4 attempts to complain did not re appear. The hotel manager more than refunded us for our missing items though.
Restaurant service far too inclined towards the french speaking guests. On a couple occasions we waited 30 mins to just order drinks, despite our best efforts to attract attention, and when the drinks cam, they arrived well after the meal had already strted to be served.
12 euros for a single malt is miles off the mark. Never saw the whiskey bottles move all week!! If they only realised that if they charged 6 euros they would still make a tidy profit and occasionally some people might actually buy one!!
I would still recommend this hotel for location, ambience and location right next to the slopes, but I will not be going myself again. Not at least in school hols. We all know school hols are the busiest time, but the level of overcrowding was in this case unacceptable. I feel that the premium they charge over their self catering apartments is definitely not worth the added premium.
Thats what I will be doing next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Ski room opens straight on to the snow. Ski in ski out to the Palafour chair lift or down to Palafour then across to Aeroski to go up the Val D'isere side. The food was great. A choice of three restaurants was covered by our half board arrangement. We paid extra to eat at the gourmet restaurant just for one night. All the restaurants were good. The room was large and had plenty of storage. We had booked 2 single rooms but were given rooms which slept 2 adults and 2 children. Plenty of hot water. Spa treatments were good. Outdoor pool water a little cold for me.

Good cocktail list, friendly atomosphere and very nice staff.

Skiing in Tignes is great. The mountain restaurants were a bit pricey but these days everywhere is the same! 2 hot chocolates and 2 waters = 21 euros!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelWithBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

I enjoyed this hotel for its excellent food, helpful staff, on piste location with a locker room opening straight onto the piste but near enough to walk to the shops, and the spa with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. We also enjoyed good conference facilities for 80 people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnUK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

The hotel was in an excellent location, most of the staff were excellent found one member of staff in the restaurant to be quite ignorant, reception fantastic. The rooms I found to be very stuffy and no air and the fan in the bathroom and toilet made a noise all day and night, quiet anoying. Views from the hotel were fantastic. Food was very nice except for new years eve deer or lobster ugh!! Also if you are worried about animals dog were allowed in the dining room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Suites du Montana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#3 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#1 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#14 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Village Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Village Montana

Property: Hotel Village Montana
Address: avenue de Grande Motte, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Tignes
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tignes
#2 Spa Hotel in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Village Montana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a pleasant and quiet area, the recently renovated Hotel Village Montana combines the charm and comfort of a mountain hotel with the elegance of a typical Savoyard-style chalet. The hotel is the perfect place to associate your sporting activities with relaxing ones such as sitting in front of the fire, fine dining and being pampered in the health spa << Les Bains du Montana>>. With fabulous views of the mountains and the village, top quality service and amenities, there is everything you need to make your stay a really special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Village Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Montana Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing