We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a family ski trip”
Review of Chalet Corniche

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Corniche
Ranked #54 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have always tended to ski in Espace Killy or Trois Vallees just because the snow can almost be guaranteed and although it lacks the charm and atmosphere of Austria or the Dolomites I'm going there for the skiing.

This was our first family ski holiday with a 7 year old boy and my daughter who turned 4 while we were in Tignes.

The Chalet Corniche is a modern, well designed chalet opposite the main nursery slopes and with great views up the valley towards Val Claret and the Glacier.

We chose the flight to Chambery as I find the transfer from Geneva an absolute killer and try to avoid it at all costs. We were the only people on our bus going to Tignes and were dropped off in Moutiers train/bus station and nobody seemed to know what was happening, the Rep on hand didn't seem very well briefed and it was actually the employee from the taxi company who took control of the whole affair and loaded us all into mini buses and sent us off to Tignes.
The rest of the transfer was uneventful. Very happy when we turned up and the chalet looked as good as the rendered images on the companies website.

Now comes my biggest gripe of the whole week, the ski hire!!
The way the excellent childcare is structured with the days split between lessons and snow club it is convenient for the kids to keep their skis in large tubs at skiset. Having had problems waiting for boots and skis before we rushed over as soon as possible in the hope of beating the rush. When we entered the rental area there were 3 or 4 employees from Ski esprit who were all very friendly but only rather surly ski tech. we waited twenty minutes while he sorted out the family infront of us, whilst the queue behind us built up. after an hour we had managed to get skis and kit for ourselves but the poor bloke was drowning and I said to the rep that she should tell the owner to get some more staff downstairs. Its not rocket science, the guests must come in at the same time every week and this was in march so it should have been sorted. Eventually more members of staff started dribbling in with their skis in hand! If Ski Esprit are linked to Skiset and give them that much business they should demand a better level of service or go elsewhere, it was a really low point for us and after a day travelling with kids it was really unnecessary.

The childcare with ski esprit was amazing, my daughter fell in love with Dave and we were very impressed with the staff, especially the boys such as Ben which was a surprise to me as normally I have seen childcare provided by young girls. The listening service every night during dinner was well organised and enabled a relaxing evening meal.

The chalet staff were efficient and polite but not incredibly engaging. The evening meal, kids teas and cakes were ok, but the breakfasts were pretty awful. All of the bread and the pastries were cooked from frozen and on occasion the baguettes were still cold in the middle. Having asked before we travelled if the cooked breakfasts were more than and egg or porridge I was assured that there was a daily special, french toast, pancakes etc. There wasn't! One of the great pleasures of a chalet holiday in France is fresh baguettes at breakfast and to be honest with you that was probably my biggest gripe with the service at corniche.
The wine for once was surprisingly drinkable.

Great
Location, rooms, childcare,

Poor
Transfer, ski hire service, breakfast

skiing with kids can be tiring, we had a great holiday and would use ski esprit again, but one guest who had been to St Anton with Ski esprit said how much better the food etc had been there, so lets hope they hire a top chef for next season.

Room Tip: the rooms on the fron have great views, but there are two suites which makes it much easier, try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reigatedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks ski holiday with Ski Esprit and were very pleased with our choice of chalet and resort. We are a family of 4 (children aged 9 and 5 years) and this met and exceeded our expectations. The chalet team, Jake, Harrison, Stuart, Matt, Hazel/Mary (sorry if i have left anyone out) made us feel welcome, catered for our needs well (including the childrens meals) and provided an all round excellent service. The food and wine was spot on. We had rooms 2 and 3 on the first floor (both with balconies - which are lockable) and our very spacious. Locker room in the basement was ideal for ski and boot storage whilst providing easy access to the slopes. The sauna, steam room and hot tub was an added and enjoyable bonus.Having skiied for 30 years, you will struggle to ski the espace Killy area which cover both the Tignes and Val d'Isere resorts, but we gave it a shot! Our daughters also took ski lessons in the mornings, supervised lunch and snow club in the afternoons. The 5 year old enjoyed the whole adventure and was a beginner whilst the older one was an improver. Ski Esprit (Hayley and Hannah - Childcare Managers ) tailored a programme for our 9 year old and this met all our needs. I would definately return to this chalet and the resort. To the staff of Ski Esprit; thank you for all your hard work you should be very proud of yourselves!

Room Tip: My preference was the first floor rooms 2 and 3, however there is a lift although the chalet is quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent holiday at the Chalet Corniche. The Corniche has a great location in Tignes as it is possible to ski within approx 100 metres of the boot room door and it is also close to the main resort centre.
The chalet is well appointed, clean and the food, overall, was of a good standard. The hot tub and sauna etc proved popular with fellow guests but we did not use it ourselves. All of the staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help. Yes, they are young, but this is usual with Esprit.
The kids had a great time. It was a bonus having a DVD player in the kid's bedroom for evening quieter time. The lack of interconnecting rooms throughout the whole chalet is a shame particularly if you have younger children but we managed this by paying the 10 euro returnable deposit for additional keys for both rooms which helped. There were a few niggles such as a lack of hanging and drying space for ski gear and the boot lockers were relatively tight for space but this should not distract from an overall excellent holiday.

Room Tip: There are some excellent views from the rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went in December in the first week of the season. We were expecting teething troubles but actually had very few. The staff were friendly and engaging and did a great job coping with the first week of guests (it was a full chalet as well).
We have been a few times with Esprit and we like their childcare approach and their reps are always fun and good with the kids. The rooms in Chalet Corniche were actually slightly nicer than some of the chalets in the past (I think this is a hotel in the summer) so the rooms were all a decent size and had a proper wardrobe. Cleaning was done to a good standard (and with fun touches in the kids rooms e.g. arranging the teddy bears every day). As it is also a hotel - there is bit of a faff as you need keycards to access the rooms so if the kids got up in the night they often locked themselves out (we always kept one of the cards to their room in ours so it was not a problem). There was a listening service on each floor every night so we were not concerned about security (and in fact felt more secure as the doors actually locked unlike many chalets in the past)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevynevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have just come back from a fantastic trip to Tigne and a lovely stay at Chalet Corniche. The staff were all really helpful and great fun. They looked after us really well. Our kids all loved them. Food was good, wine was plentiful, rooms were clean etc.

I am so glad I did not read some of the earlier reviews as I would have been pretty worried about the holiday. All in all our party was really happy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Had a great group holiday with friends, the chalet has great views of the slopes and is only five minutes walk to the main meeting area and lifts.
Unfortunately for us Esprit experience was fairly average, food was ok but never on time and any small issues we had throughout the week were not really dealt with apart from removing one of the childcare staff who was pretty horrible to the smaller children, maybe we suffered from going in January whilst they found their feet, looks like things have improved which is great.
The steam and jacuzzi down stairs was a great addition, rooms were ok but as the staff never locked up downstairs we had a few security worries and had to lock our children in the rooms at night.
No problems with the chalet just felt the esprit service was poor and would not rush to use them again if they can't get it right from the first month of the season and have to wait for complaints to get it right.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Wanted to pass on our experience of Chalet Corniche as it does not fit in with the reviews below.

From arrival to departure we encountered nothing but helpfulness from all the Esprit staff whether they be the chalet hosts or kids reps etc. If you are expecting 5* treatment and surroundings maybe this is not the place / company for you, but if you are looking for friendly, cosy, comfortable, clean, safe surroundings for you and your family then this is the place.

Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff, the kids had a brilliant time in ski lessons and kids clubs, and the kids dinner went down very well. The food at night for the adults I would describe as good, maybe not quite restaurant standards but it was always filling and tasty, and the free wine was more than drinkable.

The location, furnishings and standard of the chalet were all excellent, and I would return without question. Either the place has improved beyond all recognition to the reviews below, or they had unreasonable requirements. Only slight negative would be a bit more storage in the rooms would have been useful.

Special mention must go to Ellie and the other chalet hosts, and Will and others at kids club.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reded78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
253 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
2 mi away
Les Seracs
Les Seracs
#28 of 80 in Tignes
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#4 of 37 in Tignes
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
0.3 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Corniche

Address: Le Lac Le Rosset, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Price Range: $138 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new chalet, built especially with Esprit families in mind, enjoys an ideal location, close to piste and ski-lifts. The choice of bedrooms and suites all offer smart new en-suite bathrooms, and stylish and attractive interiors are planned throughout, to make this one of our top quality chalets. Children in our childcare lunch here, with the childrens ski area so conveniently close. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing