We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Caroline
Nearby Hotels
Les Seracs(Tignes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Santa Terra(Tignes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
27
7
2
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
2
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpine elementshot tubcakefantastic weekmixed groupgreat ski holidaychaletrunsslopesteamchefspassesskiing
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 43 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Party of 8. Mixed teenagers and parents. Arrived at Geneva airport and was greeted by Alex who showed us directly to our coach. Had to wait a while for another flight to arrive but understandable as it is a three hour drive to resort. Greeted by jake and Fergus our chalet host who walked with us to our chalet. They were very pleasant and friendly from the start and this continued throughout the whole of our stay. Jake, Fergus, Alex and Bailey went out of their way to make sure that we had a brilliant time. Even when there was a problem with the boiler, they done everything possible to cater for our needs. Jake and Fergus cooking skill. First class. Returning after a days skiing to beautifully home made cake was lovely. Each evening a lovely three course meal was served. Alex continued throughout the week to ensure that we had a good time on and off the slopes and even joining us on our bum boarding adventure! Brilliant nights at Vincent's and Quiz night. great fun. thank you Jake, Fergus, Alex and Bailey for make my first skiing trip such a great success.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had a great ski holiday in Chalet Caroline. You couldn't ask for better hosts in Rob, Christian, James and Mark. They couldn't have been more helpful and the food they made was fantastic! The chalet was really comfortable and easily accommodated our party of 16. The hot tub was great to relax in at the end of the day!
The chalet had beautiful views and was close to the slopes (with a few minutes walk to the lift taking us down to the lifts at the start of main ski area) and it wasn't far to walk down the winding road into the village centre where there were good bars (with great live music) and restaurants (the best one was directly across the road opposite the entrance to the slopes - fantastic portions of lovely fresh food and much better value than the ones directly at the bottom of the slopes). The slopes were vast and catered for all levels. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms on the first floor open up to the hot tub area, so if those in the rooms above don't want to walk down the outside stairs to the hot tub, they may use these rooms to access it instead.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Anne B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review of your holiday. We are glad to hear that your party of 16 enjoyed your holiday and thank you for posting your helpful tips for other holiday makers! we hope to see you again in the future!

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just returned this morning from a fantastic week skiing in Tignes staying at the Chalet Caroline.
We were greeting by Rob at the airport (the resort Rep) and showed quickly towards our transfer coach which was directly outside the airport. The coach left within 5 minutes so there was no waiting around.
On arriving in the Resort the sun was shining and the views were just stunning. The village is beautiful and very quaint. Our bags were taken off the coach and driven up to the chalet while we Greeted by Chirstian (one of our fantastic chalet hosts) who walked with us all about 130 metres to the Chalet Caroline. There was a lovely homemade lemon drizzle cake waiting for us along with lots of other goodies which made us feel right at home.

It was so warm the 1st day that we all relaxed all afternoon on the lovely sun terrace (next to the hot tub) with is fully equipped with sun chairs and table and it's a real sun trap.

The Chalet itself is stunning and very well equipped and maintained. the sauna always hot and the jacuzzi a really treat after a hard day on the slopes. The Chalet itself was always warm too and the lounge/living area big and comfortable and the pool table was an added bonus. The views from the Chalet are lovely.

We pre-booked the ski pass and ski hire from Alpine Elements before we arrived which I strongly recommend as its a short walk down to the ski hire shop and they are extremely helpful and friendly and there were no queues. Rob also bought all are life passes to the Chalet on the 1st evening and was extremely knowledgable and helpful with resort information, places to go and activities to do.

We had 3 chalet hosts to look after 15 of us for the week and they were absolutely brilliant and helped to make our holiday that extra special. Mark, Christian and James were superb and their customer service skills first class, nothing was ever too much trouble and they would bend over backwards to accommodate us all. One member of are party was a veggie and every night they cooked the most delicious separate meal for her, she felt very lucky. The food was spot on and all of us enjoyed every single meal (starters, mains and the scummy puddings). All 3 boys worked very hard in the preparation and the presentation of the food, some of the meals were so tasty that several members of my party actually asked for the recipe. Afternoon cakes were freshly made everyday by the boys and I have to say they really did impress all of us with there cookery skills. We also had a full English and lots of other choice for breakfast everyday.

You need to take a short walk about 100meters to the ski hill lift then you're at the bottom of the main slope to get the main ski lift up. The ski area is brilliant and we had tons of fun. It's fantastic place that suits all levels of skiers/boarders so it doesn't matter if you're beginner or advanced. One of our group attended the ski school every morning and she said she really enjoyed it plus there were only 3 people in her group so she got loads of tuition. There is a couple of swatch snow parks where you can practice jumps and tricks and there is even one where there is a huge air bag after the jump so you don't need to worry about hurting yourself.... Great fun was had by all.

It is expensive to eat up the mountain, 20euros for a burger, 6euros for a coke, so my advice is either eat right at the bottom where it's a bit cheaper (go across the road from the bottom of the slopes) or what we did was make large fresh baguettes filled with lots of treats from the chalet which the Chalet hosts arranged for us (which saved us a fortune) and filled up water bottles from the tap from the chalet.

There is a great bar called Vincent's and they are really friendly and it's not too expensive. Try to go on a Tuesday night after 9pm and a Thursday at 4pm as they have a guy called George who sings and play guitar and it's tons of fun.

I'd strongly recommend this holiday, it was by far the best ski holiday we had ever had...... We will all definitely be booking to come back next year with Alpine Elements.

One other thing, Alpine Element were very helpful when a member of our party couldn't make the ski trip a week before departing and they let us do a name change at no extra cost.

Room Tip: Room 7 has your own private balcony and a huge jet power shower. Room 1,2 and 3 all have a balcony which leads out to the sun terrace and excellent hot tub
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Kate F,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Chalet Caroline. We appreciate the time it took for you to post such a detailed review which includes a lot of helpful information and tips for other travellers.

It is always great to hear that our staff are doing a fantastic job and we have passed your feedback on to the resort team and we are glad to hear that you all had such a great ho0liday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Chalet Caroline (Feb 10th) Touching down in Geneva, after an easy but early flight, we were greeted at the coach (which was easy to find) by Rob, the excellent resort rep. During the transfer from the airport to the lovely Les Brevieres (3hrs), Rob talked us through the week programme and organised our lift passes, which arrived for us that evening.

On arrival in Les Brevieres, the bags were taken off the coach and whisked up to the chalet, we were greeted by one of our chalet hosts (Miles) who walked with us up to the chalet and was able to easily answer our questions.

Dinner each night was served to a high standard. Ok, so you're not going to get your butter delivered in swirls on top of a bowl of ice cubes, but our main host for the week, Ollie, did a great job. Ollie has a love of good food and earlier in the year, he fine tuned his cooking skills during a 2 week cookery course at the well known Orchards School of Cookery, so he had the kitchen under total control at all times.

If you are paying top dollar for the holiday during peak periods then I would recommend talking with Alpine Elements before hand so that the chalet is provisioned to your needs. On boarding the flight back to the UK, I over heard a lady talking with someone else about there stay at Chalet Caroline last year, the food being poor. This suggests that consistancy might be a problem across all chalets but all in all, great job with employing a fantastic team of Miles, Jasper and Chef Oli at Chalet Caroline.

Pros: great ski area, great chalet with outside hot tub and sauna worth paying extra for, 100 metre walk to ski hill then 70m walk to lift, sledging for adults and kids (100m), easy transfer with lunch/loo stop, great view from rooms with balcony, very warm in the chalet, room 7 with Power shower with 20+ faucets for a great shower experience, ( Clearly the couples room judging by all the heart shaped patterns around the room) wifi excellent 80% of the time.

Cons: no cleaning lady like at other resorts such as Sunsail Vounaki to blitz the rooms with the dusters in all areas after/before guests leave/arrive. A microfibre and spray bottle of vinegar and water mix in each room would have been helpful for guests who are well trained :-)

Other items: Alpine elements could do well to make use of the massive TV in the chalet for promo, ski skills etc. We were told about the ski guide problem but to pay staff 50 euro per group might be the way to go for a morning ski.

Anyway the bottom line:

Yes i would recommend Alpine Elements to a friend, and look forward to my next holiday with you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear SYScottie,

Thank you so much for your review and of the wonderful photos you took during your holiday. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food that was served as this is one of those aspects we read most conflicting views about, even from guests who have travelled to the same chalet on the same date.

We will take your feedback on board regarding the cleaning as this is something that the hosts should be doing on every change over day.

We are sorry that we are unable to offer ski guiding as this is due to a change in law. We look forward to welcoming you back with Alpine Elements on your next holiday.

Kind regards,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Alpine Elements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Family/friends holiday whole chalet booked. 8 adults 7 teenages/ kids. Lovely chalet good location. Food left a bitter taste as did not receive advertised menus or pre dinner drinks. In fact the staff at alpine elements went out of their way not to provide this even though repeatedly reminded. Prob 1 to two star service provided . Refused seconds and felt like on a budget all week - advice print off advertised menus and service and take it with you you to remind the uninterested end of season staff. We made our own fun and enjoyed the holiday despite our complaints being ignored by the company

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Realski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Chalet Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

First of all we are glad to hear that you too feel the Caroline to be a "lovely chalet with good location", we also agree! However service is important and we are very concerned and sorry to learn that you didn’t receive the correct menu and service and that you felt the staff were disinterested.

Our staff training is very detailed and comprehensive, and we spend a great deal of time and effort in planning our menus and running our catering programme. In isolated cases we do learn that some staff do not perform so well from time to time.

We generally have very tight controls via a strong management team, and we always urge guests to feed back to us (discreetly if they rather remain anonymous) because we like to react immediately to these issues which can be resolved.

Nevertheless we are genuinely sorry for the staff performance during your week. We do hope that you can see past this and consider us again in the future, guest loyalty is so important to a niche Operator such as our selves.


Best Regards
Clare Smith – Head of UK Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews