We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant staff -- helpful, prompt and courteous in a straightforward manner”

La Ferme des Trois Capucines
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant staff -- helpful, prompt and courteous in a straightforward manner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I will leave the descriptions of dishes to other reviews, who've already done a good job. I would like to remark upon the enjoyable service at this restaurant, which is in my opinion how it should be done in every restaurant (save of those which belong to the highest category; that is a different kettle of fish altogether): they neither stand around you in a fake way all the time, nor are they too busy to bring something, or explain a dish. They promptly help with straightforward courtesy, yet they don't make themselves the stars of the show, letting the excellent food speak for the restaurant and its quality instead.

I usually reserve Excellent rating only for outstanding, award-winning restaurants but the staff here deserve it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank breathwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    123
    23
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
234 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a very popular restaurant and will usually need booking. It is very rustic and atmospheric with animals just outside the rear windows. The staff are friendly and efficient with just about enough English to get by.
The menu is very good, though pricey, with something for everyone and is the first time I've come across black rice as an accompaniment and it was delicious.
The only criticisms are that they don't open until 7pm and our table was re-booked for 9pm and also the wine at €35 was pretty disappointing ( to the extent that a €8 bottle we had back at the chalet from the local Sherpa supermarket was much better).
All of us would certainly go back again, though.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ash666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Restaurant is very popular with locals and holidaymakers alike and has a very French Menu selection. Some of us had the set menu which for 29 Euros included Chestnut Soup, Escargots with Chorizo in Garlic ( you could opt for a Goats Cheese pastry with salad ) , Chicken with Mushrooms, Selection of cheeses actually made on the farm and finally a selection of lovely desserts. We had to send a steak back as they do like to serve it up still quite rare. They recommend set Dinner reservations - 1900 or 2100 and were a bit hufffy when we turned up at 1845 ! However, quite an experience to sit and eat with the Goats watching you through the window !

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Blanks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good location - would recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I сan join the previously posted reviews, and set the highest marks to this restaurant. Diverse menu, great food, interesting settings. Plus a great atmosphere of the traditional Savoy restaurant. We liked it - my wife and 10-year-old daughter. I hope you enjoy it also!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KievIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice food, off the beaten track.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Close to the entrance of Tignes Le Lac. Good Burgers and a nice outside space.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ferme des Trois Capucines also viewed

 

Been to La Ferme des Trois Capucines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing