We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, nice people”
Review of Chalet Chardons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Chardons
Ranked #1 of 16 Tignes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
199 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great value, nice people”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a basic European hotel (small rooms) with decent food but the value is so great in a ski town that you cannot really go wrong. This is not swanky living but hey, I was in town to ski and this provided an outstanding home base for a couple of days. Food is plentiful. English speaking staff, the hotel markets to the UK. No hot tub, sauna, or other amenities that my old body would appreciate but I was there for only two nights. Tignes is a super ski area and Tignes Les Brevieres is the cutest little town. I take a bus to get to Tignes Les Brevieres. This hotel gets 5 because of the incredible value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    42
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
22
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Basic but homely, Chardons is nestled a mere 5 mins from a gondola and a free button and chair. Rooms are very basic but delightfully comfy, nursing your bruised rump after a hard day hitting the kickers at Mach-20.

Reduced price lift passes and ski hire are sorted out by the lovely and painfully Australian Chloe, whilst the bar expertly controlled by Becky. The Underground Bar also provides some very close Apre-ski.

The food is absolutely exceptional both in quantity and quality. Breakfast consists of croissants, pan au chocolates, porridge and eggs. Afternoon tea of freshly made cakes and selection of hot drinks is a lovely way to warm up before preparing yourself for dinner.

Vast portions of 3 course meals and house wine keep everyone well nourished and slightly tippled, with the fantastic Alex and Megan on hand to provide both excellent service and banter alike.

Just sublime. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillP192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent two weeks here, for my second year running during March, and it was excellent! Would highly recommend it. Great bunch of people, staff are charming and helpful, not to mention the hostesses Alex and Megan who were excellent. Its in a really nice spot and I love the cost as well, unbeatable in the area. Dinners were always really nice, and always punishing in how much there was to eat before dessert and how delicious the dessert was! Will (and am planning to) stay here again. Try and see for yourself, theres a very good reason I'll keep coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a great holiday here - it is just as many other reviewers have said - basic but excellent value. We were on our second family ski holiday of the season so we wanted to make it value for money and that is what we got. Considering the price the food really is quite excellent - I had expected it to be a lot more basic. The room was basic and is probably in fairly urgent need of a lick of paint, but hey at this price who cares so long as it is clean. Service from the staff was excellent too. Always cheerful and polite. Great place - we will definately come again. As for the couple of whingers on here who moaned - I expect they moan about everything!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

All the staff at Chalet Chardons are so friendly and helpful that you can't help but have a good time! You are treated like an old friend and immediately feel comfortable. Staff go out of their way to help you with things like lift passes - anything you need, just ask and it's done. The rooms are basic but comfortable, they have everything you need. As a single traveler, the best thing about Chalet Chardons is how sociable it is - the staff make it easy for you to make friends by alternating seating plans at meal times and providing entertainment such as cocktail night, beer pong, live music downstairs in the underground bar etc. I also appreciated the free wine at meal times! Thank you for a wonderful stay - i'd recommend this place to anyone and everyone :)

Room Tip: I had my own double room so had a better sleep than some of the other people who were in dorm rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in January and wanted to stay longer. All necessities are close at hand like the coach drop off point, laundrette, cash machine, shops and ski lifts. All within a 2 minute walk from the Chardon's front door. The chalet itself is warm, clean and friendly, with staff always about to help. The rooms are basic but has everything that you need for the duration of the holiday, with a boot room below to store equipment and wet ski boots. Breakfast is filling and prepares you for a whole day on the slopes, is in the perfect spot to ski all day then get back late afternoon without doing the same run more than once.
Dinner in the evening is huge, with a weekly repeating menu full of energy food and lots of wine. The meals themselves are delicious, each one completely different than the last but just as tasty, and is always food left over. The evenings are usually spent in the bar underneath the hotel, or in the pub across the road, each provide cheap alcohol to round off an exhausting day!
I'd definitely recommend this place, all the staff are young and enthusiastic skiers themselves, everybody gets on well with each other and you make a lot of new friends.
I'm looking forward to doing it all over again next season!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in Chardons in March with 3 friends - it was our first skiing holiday, and we had a blast!

The room was basic, yet clean and comfortable (with ensuite). The staff were friendly and extremely helpful - they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed ie. lift passes, equipment hire, enough food at dinner etc

The staff and value for money are definitely the Chardons strengths, along with the FOOD! Each evening we were treated to a 3 course meal with wine, they seated us with like-minded guests which gave us the perfect opportunity to mingle with new people. It has such a great atmosphere, and it is perfect way to start the evening before heading down to the Underground bar for some live music.

Special thanks to the Kitchen staff, Alex, Meg and Chloe - your advice on where to eat, drink and ski were spot on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhammer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#16 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.6 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#5 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Les Brevieres
0.0 mi away
Chalet Hattiers
Chalet Hattiers
#2 of 78 in Tignes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chardons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chardons

Property: Chalet Chardons
Address: Les Brevieres, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tignes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Skiing and Snowboarding Hotel 100 metres from the slopes in Tignes, France. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Chardons Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing