We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, food, staff and atmopshere”
Review of Chalet Chardons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Chardons
Ranked #1 of 17 Tignes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The staff couldn't have been better. As a beginner skier, they were always encouraging and enthusiastic. The afternoon tea was a welcome treat after a days skiing. The evening meal and breakfast wonderful. We really appreciated sitting with other guests over dinner and meeting new people. Slept wonderfully in the rooms which were basic, clean and did the job. The village is the prettiest in the Tignes area. We visited in the last week of the season with a hire car. There were more staff there than guests so I guess in high season, it will be a quite different atmosphere. From the village we were able to easily access the higher skiing areas by a short car journey. It could be done by ski lift from the village also. Couldn't recommend Chalet Chardons more.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

We just came back from a great 4 day getaway snowboard trip over Easter. Staying at Chalet Chardons was a top experience.

We chose to stay there for two main reasons: Firstly they seemed to be one of the few places that allowed a non Saturday to Saturday stay, and secondly they were extremely reasonably priced at only 99 euros for the 4 nights. We were amazed that the price included breakfast and dinner.... often you can spend that much just on food itself, so it was definitely well worth the price.

The place more than lived up to our expectations. Breakfast was wholesame - a choice of porridge, cereal, fresh croisants and eggs (alternating scrambled and boiled)... and dinner was a 3 course meal including wine. During the day there is help yourself coffee and tea. There was even home made afternoon tea from 4pm onwards daily. One of the best parts of the ski trip was not having to worry about finding or cooking food... you could just come home after a day at the slopes, have a nice hot shower, little nap, and then voila there would be dinner. Then there's the Underground bar just below for those who want to continue with a drink or 10. Happy hour = 1 EUR shots!

The place has a great atmosphere with extremely friendly and helpful staff, and you find yourself interestingly mingling with all sorts at the dinner table. All this added to an overall fantastic experience.

The only thing was because we went so late in the season there was not much snow at Les Brevieres, hence no ski in/ski out. Would be great to go back during winter to experience this. Instead, you need to take the gondola up/down each day to get to skiiable regions.

But overall, an excellent, reasonable place to stay, and it was a huge plus not having to worry about food each day. Free WIFI was an awesome bonus. I would definitely recommend Chalet Chardon, and plan on going back to stay there next year.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikkils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This is an incredible place for anyone who wants superb value for money and enjoys a feeling of community and fun. The rooms are very basic but clean, the food is plentiful and delicious, the staff are warm, friendly and go out of their way to please. It is always a real pleasure to return to the chalet for "Happy Hour" after a day on the slopes, and the diverse mix of other guests makes it possible to relax of an evening, or engage in a more energetic social life by participating in some of the many activities in the chalet "Underground" bar.
We love it here and truly feel part of the special Chardons family.
Caroline and Simon, Kent, UK

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simcar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Had an amazing time at Chalet Chardon last week. Our party paid a little more to stay in the apartment next to the main block and although it was a little compact (i'd say average for the alps mind) it was accomodated with everything we required. The staff/team were absolutely excellent, very welcoming, curtious and efficient.
The location of the Chalet is spot on and even late in the season we were able to ski down to within 100 yards of our apartment. On the 1 night the excellent food was not produced (staff night off) we were able to use the comunal BBQ outside the Chalet, which was also very conveniant. I have ski's all over the alps and for value for money and conveniance to a massive ski area as well as the off piste knowlege of Mark the owner, this place is very difficult to beat.
Thakns again to all the staff, we shall be back.

Room Tip: Ask Mark about some unchartered ski runs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottsmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed in the Chalet Hattiers which was chosen by the hotel team as more suitable for a more mature skier. The chalet is clean and the chalet team were most friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much and they were very flexible - offering and preparing packed lunches on a day to day basis, leaving out dinner for the late arrivers - we arrived at 9.45pm and arranging provisions for early breakfast - we left at 4.30a.m.

Much of the enjoyment is in interacting with the others staying in the Chalet - joining different tables at breakfast and dinner, sharing the skiing and other experiences and sitting up chatting.

That is all facilitated by the copious and varied food and wine for those who want it.

Our room was compact but provided all the essentials - and with ample space for hanging all the skiing paraphernalia to dry. The teenager lived out of their bag, leaving the hanging cupboard for the suited gent. The shower was always hot and flowing. The balcony caught the afternoon rays, but all too often we were on the slopes til too late to take advantage of the deck chairs.

It is but a short walk to the bars and restaurants in the village, including the Underground Bar.

Others with children spent longer in the chalet than us, using the lounge and TV, but if you are in Tignes for the skiing and after no frills, friendly accommodation, this is the place. Overall excellent value, friendly and we are definitely up for a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob18P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

All staff were very helpfull and extremely friendly. The rooms were adequate for what we needed them for. Entertainment wise it was great fun. All meals were good value for money and suited all tastes. An all round good time was had by all...

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenC611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I'm a pensioner who has skied most of his life,I want to continue skiing big resorts on my pension and thought I would give Chalet Chardons a try.
When we arrived it was a top bunk option for my female skiing partner and myself and when we expressed dissapointment Pip gave us an upgrade to a room with our own toilet/shower in Chalet Hattiers,a great gesture that will ensure repeat business.
The chalet was what i expected a bit rough and ready but the food was good and plenty
of it,the company was enjoyable and the walk to the lift was no worse than many other
places I have stayed in.Discounts on ski hire and lift passes were very welcome also.
Another thing about this company, many of the customers are staying out for the season so the level of local knowledge about the resort ie cheap deals on food/ski gear where to
picnic on the slopes etc is second to none.
It ticked all the boxes for me

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenatleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#4 of 37 in Tignes
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chardons Belvedere
Chardons Belvedere
#2 of 17 in Tignes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Les Seracs
Les Seracs
#29 of 80 in Tignes
33 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#17 of 37 in Tignes
89 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chardons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chardons

Address: Les Brevieres, 73320 Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tignes
Price Range: $29 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Skiing and Snowboarding Hotel 100 metres from the slopes in Tignes, France. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Chardons Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing