We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chalet hosts, nice accommodation, short walk to the lifts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Chardonnet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Chardonnet
Ranked #47 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great chalet hosts, nice accommodation, short walk to the lifts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a week in march 2013 (booked through Inghams).

I was a bit nervous as we booked the ground floor twin room next to the front door, but i didn't need to be. The chalet was lovely: not five star but comfy, spacious and clean. Our room was a great size and the bathroom was sizeable too. You couldn't here a thing from the front door which was fine. You could hear chatting from the lounge in the evening but most went to bed by 11 so not a problem at all - and most of the time we were the last ones chatting anyway!

We had two massive windows in our room both with views straight out onto the lake and mountains beyond which were stunning.

The sauna and jacuzzi are fantastic after a day on the slopes and are both well maintained.

We had two chalet hosts and a cook, all of whom were absolute stars. They made us feel completely welcome and even walked us around Tignes resort to show us their restaurant recommendations etc. Our Inghams rep booked our restaurant fro us on the night off and this was a fantastic recommendation.

Food was great and the wine was lovely (not just because it was included in the price!). Breakfast was hearty and set me up for ski school.

The chalet is a short 5 minute walk to the main lifts and ski school meeting point so great location.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJCOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Amazing week at Chalet Chardonnay in April. Great location - close to everything. Staff were fantastic and looked after us brilliantly. Food was excellent, some of the best vegetarian food i've had in ages (no pasta or omlettes in site!) Couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LornaM348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent a week in Chalet Chardonnet with my 2 teenage sons and a friend. The location couldn't be better (3 mins walk to lifts), the staff, food and chalet were all excellent. We very much enjoyed getting to know the other (22 in total) guests at breakfast and in the evening and had fun socialising and skiing with them making this much better than staying in a hotel.
If I had to find a negative for balance I would advise taking an extra towel for the hot tub as the ones provided are very small as is the pillow, this is a very minor negative however.
We only had a ski pass for the Tignes area (you can get one which includes Val d'Isere) and found this plenty for a week. Some fabulous skiing to be had, particularly very high on the glacier which makes this area a good option for late season skiing.
We booked through Inghams including ski rental, pass and travel, all was seamless. My sons are already hassling me to book for next year.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just got back from a week skiing (Mar 2013) booked through Inghams. Chalet only 3mins walk on flat ground to centre of Tignes le Lac where ski school/lifts are. Friendly staff with good food. Large chalet so great for meeting people. Chalet very warm and clean with heated boot racks for your ski boots. Also booked boots/skis/lessons through Inghams and was very pleased with all of these. Would recommend this chalet/Inghams based on our week. Only down side is 3hr transfer from Geneva but that's life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

We arrived at the chalet and were instantly made to feel welcome and at home by the wonderful hosts, Sam, James, Emily and Sophie. They gave us a glass of wine each, afternoon tea, with one of the biggest (and tastiest) cakes I have ever seen, and proceeded to go through the chalet policies, procedures, health and safety etc. After that, the hosts were on hand to answer any questions and give us advice on places to go, which slopes were good etc - it was great.

The bedroom was just the right size with a small but perfectly functional en-suite bathroom. The view from the windows was just phenomenal (lake view with mountains framing it) - you couldn't get bored of looking at it. The bed was comfy with a very warm and cosy duvet.

Meals were, quite frankly, brilliant. Breakfast consisted of continental with a hot option - usually a piece of bacon and a eggy bread or a sausage and hash browns etc etc. The hosts happily offered to make us sandwiches for lunch for the bargain price of 3 euro each - a snip given the size of the sandwich!! Afternoon tea would be served every day ready for when you return from a day's skiing and consisted of bread, butter and jam and the most amazingly large cakes I've ever seen - all home baked and fantastic. Dinner was a 3 course restaurant standard meal and I have to commend all the hosts on their cooking prowess, as the food was excellent - and there was plenty of it. Wine was served with the meal and empty bottles were replaced with full ones on request.

Other benefits - a ski/boot room with boot warmers, a sauna and a hot tub - brilliant after a hard day's skiing.

The location of the chalet is brilliant - its right on the lake, so very picturesque but also only 5 minutes from the main ski school meeting area and across the road from the resort bus which would take you to the various different chairlifts - FREE OF CHARGE! I can't comment on the nightlife as we usually ended up drinking wine with the other guests and chatting until late!

Overall, a fantastic holiday, great reps, and wonderful chalet hosts who couldn't do enough for you. Well done Neilson - we hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 4 - amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was mine and my family's first time in Tignes, we arrived at the Chalet to the most welcoming staff (Sophie, Sam, Emily and the chef James) who helped carry our suitcases to our rooms and then proceeded to serve us tea coffee and champagne! (not to mention the cake which was HUGE!!!! The rooms are fairly small but not at all bad for a chalet, having stayed in many before with other companies, I'd seen a lot smaller for a similar price. The chalet staff did daily housekeeping and our rooms and bathrooms were left spotless.
One of the reasons we chose the chalet was for the spa area, including the hot tub and sauna, which was perfect after coming home after a long day on the slopes to soothe our aching muscles,
The only down point to our holiday was one of the group of guests (i think there were 10 of them, 2 couples and a family of two boys and one of their friends) who sadly booked the same week as us. They started off as just being irritating, letting off fire crackers indoors at dinner time, the adults included and out side the chalet which happened to be outside mine and my wife's window, they then proceeded to being down right embarrassing. On the tuesday night we were served the french dish of Tartiflette which is one of my favourites and i was thoroughly enjoying it until one of said guests when asked by one of the chalet girls if everything was alright said it was disgusting and was there anything else on offer, dinner was written up on the board in the morning and as they complained during the course, the staff couldn't offer anyhting substantial that would be ready in a short time, they therefore suggested bacon sandwiches to which the staff readily made up.
As it was the staff's day off the next day, one of the girls came out during dessert to explain that all the cereals would be set up in the kitchen and fresh bread would be delivered to the front door in the morning, yoghurts and juices in the fridge, etc... To this one particularly spiteful girl from the group stood up and demanded that there should be pastries, the staff explained that no neilson chalets provided these for breakfast. (they do provide a very hearty breakfast, infact one of the girls in the group complained that she didn't want mushrooms on the first day to which the staff offered a fried egg instead, on hearing this, the whole of the group asked for a fried egg to which they delivered within minutes.
it all came to a halt on the thursday morning, a note was left by the staff explaining that the spa area would be out of order for the rest of the week due to huge malpractice and abuse to the area, sophie, emily, sam and James' Supervisor then appeared, i was still down at breakfast at that point and he asked me if i'd seen anyone using the area the day before (the staff's day off) I said i'd heard commotion coming from the area but not seen anyone. The supervisor asked me to come and have a look at the area and i was honestly shocked by what I saw, wet loo roll had been thrown all over the area, literally caking the walls. i was then told that te filter to the hot tub had been broken and that some of the pumps were blocked, he opened the hatch to the filter to which a sock and pair of boxer shorts had been placed, not causing any damage but giving away the guest who had done it as the young boys had been seen wearing the socks previously. On speaking to the staff later, i was told that one of the boys from the group owned up but also said that 2 of the adult males had been involved, by this childish action they not only caused the staff a day of cleaning and misery but also ruined the rest of the holiday for all of the other guests as well.
I only go in to so much detail as i see that they have written a review below, something about eating bread... The food was truely delicious and the staff were genunely lovely, friendly people. I wish i could remember the names of these people but if you do ever find yourselves in a chalet with them, I'd get out quickly!!!!

Room Tip: ask for top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank je67celtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

The food was excellent as was the service. Location of chalet is very good but some bedrooms are just too small and therefore overpriced. The plusses definitely outweighed the minuses with the hosts performing miracles under difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffnjenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tignes
16.6 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#3 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Allodis
Hotel Allodis
#3 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Savoy
Hotel Le Savoy
#2 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Helios
Hotel L'Helios
#6 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#17 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Chaudanne
Hotel La Chaudanne
#13 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chardonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chardonnet

Property: Chalet Chardonnet
Address: Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chalet Chardonnet Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing