We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best weeks ever”
Review of Chalet Chardonnet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Chardonnet
Ranked #38 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spent a week in Chalet Chardonnet with my 2 teenage sons and a friend. The location couldn't be better (3 mins walk to lifts), the staff, food and chalet were all excellent. We very much enjoyed getting to know the other (22 in total) guests at breakfast and in the evening and had fun socialising and skiing with them making this much better than staying in a hotel.
If I had to find a negative for balance I would advise taking an extra towel for the hot tub as the ones provided are very small as is the pillow, this is a very minor negative however.
We only had a ski pass for the Tignes area (you can get one which includes Val d'Isere) and found this plenty for a week. Some fabulous skiing to be had, particularly very high on the glacier which makes this area a good option for late season skiing.
We booked through Inghams including ski rental, pass and travel, all was seamless. My sons are already hassling me to book for next year.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Chardonnet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just got back from a week skiing (Mar 2013) booked through Inghams. Chalet only 3mins walk on flat ground to centre of Tignes le Lac where ski school/lifts are. Friendly staff with good food. Large chalet so great for meeting people. Chalet very warm and clean with heated boot racks for your ski boots. Also booked boots/skis/lessons through Inghams and was very pleased with all of these. Would recommend this chalet/Inghams based on our week. Only down side is 3hr transfer from Geneva but that's life.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We arrived at the chalet and were instantly made to feel welcome and at home by the wonderful hosts, Sam, James, Emily and Sophie. They gave us a glass of wine each, afternoon tea, with one of the biggest (and tastiest) cakes I have ever seen, and proceeded to go through the chalet policies, procedures, health and safety etc. After that, the hosts were on hand to answer any questions and give us advice on places to go, which slopes were good etc - it was great.

The bedroom was just the right size with a small but perfectly functional en-suite bathroom. The view from the windows was just phenomenal (lake view with mountains framing it) - you couldn't get bored of looking at it. The bed was comfy with a very warm and cosy duvet.

Meals were, quite frankly, brilliant. Breakfast consisted of continental with a hot option - usually a piece of bacon and a eggy bread or a sausage and hash browns etc etc. The hosts happily offered to make us sandwiches for lunch for the bargain price of 3 euro each - a snip given the size of the sandwich!! Afternoon tea would be served every day ready for when you return from a day's skiing and consisted of bread, butter and jam and the most amazingly large cakes I've ever seen - all home baked and fantastic. Dinner was a 3 course restaurant standard meal and I have to commend all the hosts on their cooking prowess, as the food was excellent - and there was plenty of it. Wine was served with the meal and empty bottles were replaced with full ones on request.

Other benefits - a ski/boot room with boot warmers, a sauna and a hot tub - brilliant after a hard day's skiing.

The location of the chalet is brilliant - its right on the lake, so very picturesque but also only 5 minutes from the main ski school meeting area and across the road from the resort bus which would take you to the various different chairlifts - FREE OF CHARGE! I can't comment on the nightlife as we usually ended up drinking wine with the other guests and chatting until late!

Overall, a fantastic holiday, great reps, and wonderful chalet hosts who couldn't do enough for you. Well done Neilson - we hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 4 - amazing view.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beth176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was mine and my family's first time in Tignes, we arrived at the Chalet to the most welcoming staff (Sophie, Sam, Emily and the chef James) who helped carry our suitcases to our rooms and then proceeded to serve us tea coffee and champagne! (not to mention the cake which was HUGE!!!! The rooms are fairly small but not at all bad for a chalet, having stayed in many before with other companies, I'd seen a lot smaller for a similar price. The chalet staff did daily housekeeping and our rooms and bathrooms were left spotless.
One of the reasons we chose the chalet was for the spa area, including the hot tub and sauna, which was perfect after coming home after a long day on the slopes to soothe our aching muscles,
The only down point to our holiday was one of the group of guests (i think there were 10 of them, 2 couples and a family of two boys and one of their friends) who sadly booked the same week as us. They started off as just being irritating, letting off fire crackers indoors at dinner time, the adults included and out side the chalet which happened to be outside mine and my wife's window, they then proceeded to being down right embarrassing. On the tuesday night we were served the french dish of Tartiflette which is one of my favourites and i was thoroughly enjoying it until one of said guests when asked by one of the chalet girls if everything was alright said it was disgusting and was there anything else on offer, dinner was written up on the board in the morning and as they complained during the course, the staff couldn't offer anyhting substantial that would be ready in a short time, they therefore suggested bacon sandwiches to which the staff readily made up.
As it was the staff's day off the next day, one of the girls came out during dessert to explain that all the cereals would be set up in the kitchen and fresh bread would be delivered to the front door in the morning, yoghurts and juices in the fridge, etc... To this one particularly spiteful girl from the group stood up and demanded that there should be pastries, the staff explained that no neilson chalets provided these for breakfast. (they do provide a very hearty breakfast, infact one of the girls in the group complained that she didn't want mushrooms on the first day to which the staff offered a fried egg instead, on hearing this, the whole of the group asked for a fried egg to which they delivered within minutes.
it all came to a halt on the thursday morning, a note was left by the staff explaining that the spa area would be out of order for the rest of the week due to huge malpractice and abuse to the area, sophie, emily, sam and James' Supervisor then appeared, i was still down at breakfast at that point and he asked me if i'd seen anyone using the area the day before (the staff's day off) I said i'd heard commotion coming from the area but not seen anyone. The supervisor asked me to come and have a look at the area and i was honestly shocked by what I saw, wet loo roll had been thrown all over the area, literally caking the walls. i was then told that te filter to the hot tub had been broken and that some of the pumps were blocked, he opened the hatch to the filter to which a sock and pair of boxer shorts had been placed, not causing any damage but giving away the guest who had done it as the young boys had been seen wearing the socks previously. On speaking to the staff later, i was told that one of the boys from the group owned up but also said that 2 of the adult males had been involved, by this childish action they not only caused the staff a day of cleaning and misery but also ruined the rest of the holiday for all of the other guests as well.
I only go in to so much detail as i see that they have written a review below, something about eating bread... The food was truely delicious and the staff were genunely lovely, friendly people. I wish i could remember the names of these people but if you do ever find yourselves in a chalet with them, I'd get out quickly!!!!

Room Tip: ask for top floor rooms
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank je67celtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The food was excellent as was the service. Location of chalet is very good but some bedrooms are just too small and therefore overpriced. The plusses definitely outweighed the minuses with the hosts performing miracles under difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffnjenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed here for a week; we had half the chalet and therefore shared it with another group. The chalet is a good size, small enough to be quite homely. There's a decent sauna and hot tub (if a bit small) and a great balcony onto the lake with arguably some of the best views in Tignes. Location is good, The free resort bus stops outside the front door, and centre of le lac with the main lifts is a short walk away. Only downside is you cant ski rig back to the door. The rooms are small but clean, and do the job perfectly for the money.

By far the best bit is the service though; chalet hosts are genuinely lovely people (Sophie, Sam, James and Emily) and the food is excellent. They were really keen to help and even organised a cheese board and port when we suggested this as an idea!

A great week, thanks all.
Sam, Reading, UK.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

having looked at the very few photos available of this chalet I headed off with trepidation. On arrival however the chalet was much nicer than it appears on the photos and spotlessly clean. By far the best aspect of the chalet was the service - there was a team of 4 looking after us and nothing was too much trouble. The food was of v good quality - in previous years I have enjoyed a cheeseboard after dinner and this was not provided but the wine flowed freely.

The slopes were within easy distance of the chalet. It is worth noting this resort is not well equiped for beginners as the green runs are away up the mountain and the few greens coming down the mountain often end up with a steep icy descent into town.

in addition transfers involved a four hour coach ride which makes the overall journey long despite short flight times from the uk.

overall the chalet is lovely and if it were not so far from an airport i would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosie-punch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
16.5 mi away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#2 of 37 in Tignes
245 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
400 reviews
16.4 mi away
Langley Hotel Tignes 2100
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hotel Le Lavachey
Hotel Le Lavachey
#24 of 37 in Tignes
67 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Vanoise
Hotel Vanoise
#5 of 37 in Tignes
238 reviews
16.0 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chardonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chardonnet

Address: Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Tignes
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chalet Chardonnet Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing