We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent week made even better by the service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Hotel Aigle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Aigle
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent week made even better by the service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just got back from a great week in Tignes. The snow has been incredible although visibility was poor but you rarely have both.

The Aigle was a great place to stay, the rooms are clean and perfectly adequate for there purpose. The beds are clean and comfortable, the bathrooms are new and well maintained. Some have said the rooms are small but I guess it depends on previous experiences, I've certainly stayed in smaller.

The food from breakfast through afternoon tea to the evening meal was great with plenty of options and flexibility to cater for special requests. I can't comment on the wine as a non drinker but the others in my group stoved in plenty of it without complaint.

The pool and sauna area is a great addition, aiding recovery after a long day and also killing time before dinner.

The best thing about the chalet however has to be its staff. All were excellent and a real credit to ski world, but special mention has to go to Charlotte and Heather who worked incredibly hard to make sure we had anything and everything we wanted whilst maintaining a friendly professionalism.

All in all a great week and will certainly book again.

Chris Rm 28

Room Tip: All rooms were good but second floor has its own wireless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawyer_c123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed for Christmas and had an absolutely fantastic time, nice chalet, good food, great atmosphere and lovely staff - we have to give a special mention to Paul Martin, the night porter. I can't understand why anyone has complained about the rooms, we had 2 rooms on the top floor and they were much bigger than rooms we've had in other French chalets, with plenty of storage place. Absolutely couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Don't be confused by the term Chalet Hotel, this is not an Hotel, it's facilities and rooms are similar to that of the "up market" youth hostels, that provide excellent value for travellers.

The rooms are very clean but are basically furnished, quiet small with strangely large bathrooms. There is no comfortable sitting chair, just a wooden one and a small wooden table. Therefore the only place to sit is on the bed but be warned it is easy to hit you head on the self, inconveniently placed at back of head height. The wardrobe doors have catches that do not actually secure the door, odd rather than a problem. The drawer unit in the room provided storage but the drawers were difficult to open and close. I understand that shelving had to be installed in one room whilst we were there because there was no storage space other than wardrobes. The most annoying thing is being asked to pay a supplement for a balcony, that you are never going to use in sub zero temperatures and there isn't any seating provided anyway. Very little transfer of noise from other units except other guest returning from a night they had clearly enjoyed!

The location of the Chalet is not ideal, it is quite a climb up from the main lift station, probably about 300 metres but with skis and boots, it is "fun". Also, it is some way from shops and pharmacy. It is between 100 and 300 yard walk to put skis on - depends which way you go. This is not a good location for less experienced skiers and beginners should probably avoid altogether. Getting back to the Chalet is OK, as long as make sure you are in the right place at 4.30, otherwise it a walk up the hill.

The ski and boot room is Ok, the boot warmers do not have convection so boots can stay damp. The most inconvenient about the boot room is that is not accessible from the inside of the chalet so outdoor shoes are needed rather than just doing a quick dash in ski socks.

The general areas of the chalet are quite basic but adequate, however, non skiers may feel the area is not particularly comfortable. Strangely you can open a bar tab but you cannot pay by credit card. You get a bill outside your door on the Friday, I suggest you wait until the evening to pay, I handed my bill and money over in the morning but never got the change. Not a big deal and would have told them to keep it - but it is courteous to ask.

It is important to appreciate that Chalet staff are working to a tight budget and this is controlled by the operating company. In fact, it may be that some buying and menus are decided centrally. That said, the food was not great and choice was limited. If good quality food and menus is important - this place is not for you. The wine served with meals is apparently purchased in bulk by Skiworld at the start of the season and tastes like it!!!

Regarding the Internet, it is advertised, and was not working properly for two thirds of our stay. I am sure we were all grateful to the staff for putting in an extra router - much of the issue is to do with bandwidth anyway but the management were aware of the issues and dealt with the matter before the 5th week of the season.

The resort tax, Skiworld take 6 euros off everyone on arrival. Why do they not include this in the package like every other operator. Simply to reduce the headline price, I suspect. Skiworld say it is because it varies from resort to resort and they don't want to over-charge. The accommodation cost varies so how does that follow?


The SkiWorld transfer organisation is chaotic, we had a 45 minutes wait for one person at Geneva, who did not turn up, that's after everyone else was on the bus. Another party had a 90 minute wait for another flight and were 5 hours on the bus, then were forced to walk from the village because the bus driver would not go to the Chalet. On every other skiing trip, I have been on the return transfer, usually very early morning, is direct to the airport, not Skiworld, they drive you for about an hour , then wake you up, get up off one vehicle, get you bags and get on another bus.

Tignes as a resort is great for skiing but is what it is a purpose built resort, so if you are looking for skiing with Alpine charm, this will not be for you. Val d'sere on the same lift pass is better for this but not in the same way as some Swiss resorts. That said a real effort is going into the quality of mountain restaurants and it is important that these are supported, we had some excellent low cost soups and bread, omelette etc but supported the local economy and paid for the essential facilities we all need on the mountain. It was noticeable that establishments are forced to ask people not to picnic and use the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oldmillscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield - Notts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Currently on our last night of a weeks skiing in Tignes and we've had a fantastic week here at the Chalet Hotel Aigle!

The staff here are an absolute credit to SkiWorld and this Ski Lodge. Ben behind the bar, Heather and Harry in the Dining Area, Lara and Lorna, and Joel the Chef are all worth a mention. A group of approachable, friendly, hospitable people willing to go that extra mile with nothing being too much trouble! Thank you. To those staff that I haven't named, sorry! But you were all great! :) An example of this being the staff and chef making us all up a packed lunch each day at 5 Euro per head consisting of freshly made baguette of your choice, crisps, water and a cereal bar for a minimum of 11 people every day! That beats any silly priced food on the mountain!

The rooms are all comfortable and with decent facilities, storage and comfortable beds. All were warm and cozy. We were on the first floor and yes, you can hear movement downstairs in the communal areas, but it never really disturbed us and we slept well each and every night. Rooms are made up each day with a Towel change midweek. We saw many other rooms occupied by our party and all looked great, no room issues at all.

The communal area, bar and dining area was spot on. Comfortable, warm and accommodating. Cakes, tea and coffee after each days skiing from 4pm, aperitifs every evening at 7pm and a lovely meal from 730pm each night (with the exception of Wednesday as that's the staffs one night off) what's not to like?! All the food was lovely, red and white wines at dinner were of a good quality and free flowing. On the one night the staff were off the staff organised a restaurant for us!

The Internet, as aforementioned on a previous review, is a little intermittent, BUT, whilst here the staff installed a second router and were willing to try all in their power to sort it. To badly rate this place on the performance on its Internet is frankly ridiculous. You don't come on holiday to surf the Internet do you?! We're in the French Alps! It's about the Ski! As an aside, I've written this review whilst here using the Internet! No issues!

Ski in, ski out wise the lodge is adjacent to a piste but you can only Ski in, off the side of a Red run slightly off piste and its a short walk to Ski out on the same run. Moderate Skiers and upwards can achieve this, any beginners will struggle.

The Boot and Ski Rooms are spot on. Wall mounted Boot heaters and lots of room to sit and boot up or boot off. Ski room also nice and roomy. Both secure all day. No issues.

Pool and Sauna area is lovely, it could be a little cold in the pool area but it was clean, with nice fresh towels and the Sauna was spot on.

All in all a great base for a weeks skiing in the great resort if Tignes! Book here, you won't be disappointed!

Any questions, feel free to send me a message!

Lad and Las Tour 2013! Done!

Hazel and James, Rm 14

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I had the misfortune to stay at this Chalet last year and there were problems with lack of Internet which is advertised in the ski world brochure. I only returned this year, after pressure from other in our ski group as this was the accommodation offered for our ski course. I was amazed that the Internet problem was worse this year. Whilst the Chalet Manager appreciated the issue, the answer only seems to make a formal complaint, this does not alter the inconvenience experience, absorbing too much of the holiday. I attempted to phone the resort manager's mobile, provided on the Skiworld with the joining details but the number is not in use!!! Also it would seem to be virtually impossible to speak to anyone at Skiworld head office. If you need the Internet, view emails etc do not go to this Chalet. The excellent Village Montana hotel opposite has good connection, you can get the code and enjoy a drink in their lounge.

I do add that many of the staff try very hard to provide a good service, Harry in particular is superb and seems to understand perfectly how to provide good service to the customer.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HampshireBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

After a great stay at Chalets Les Martins, I hoped the Aigle would be even better and I was not disappointed. Although not really suitable for beginners, it is possible for moderate skiers to ski out and in to the hotel with a little effort. Otherwise it's a 5 minute walk to the nearest lifts. Food was excellent and staff were attentive, particularly Eddy, the manager, and the chef, whose food was very good for a chalet hotel. Rooms were clean and had plenty of space for storage. Hot water was plentiful and there was a pool and sauna. The free wine was better than the normal chalet quality wine. I'd fully recommend this Ski Lodge to both groups and slo travellers.

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly quiet but the third floor rooms can have restricted head room in places, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank obbleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Spent xmas here with my family and we had a great week of skiing

The chalet is in a good central location a few minutes walk to the town and we were able to ski in and out which was a real bonus with easy access to a fantastic ski area

The chalet itself was basic but comfortable we had very small rooms but they had everything we needed and overall the chalet was quiet and we all slept well.

The food varied in standard from excellent ( Xmas dinner) to adequate but there was plenty of it and the staff were helpful and enthusiastic.

The spa area was good with excellent sauna however the swimming pool was very cold and as for the heated boot racks in the ski storage area I would be surprised if that ever worked as all reviews say its about to be repaired and we were given the same story !

Overall the chalet was basic but good value for money set in an expensive ski resort , the skiing was great and I would definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soosyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#3 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#1 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
Hotel Le Ski d'Or
#14 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#12 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Suites du Nevada - Maison Bouvier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Aigle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Aigle

Property: Chalet Hotel Aigle
Address: Rue de l'Eglise, 73150 Val-d'Isere | Tignes le Lac, Tignes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Number of rooms: 92

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing