We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly family run hotel”
Review of L'Arc en Ciel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Arc en Ciel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2010

In quality terms far better than the average 2 star hotel and definitely good value for money.
Easy access to ferries and bus to Evian. Take footbridge over railway.
Hotel has only breakfast room but good news is that there is a connecting door to restaurant next door ,"Les Marroniers", good service and food. Several fixed price menus .Good value for money.In one week we were there always full, essential to book.
Typical French food. Wine list restricted but reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEREKAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 493 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed half-board for 4 days at the end of July this year. The staff were great, the room was comfortable and the evening meal was very good. The cheese board was outstanding - a wide range of top class local cheeses. And there was still dessert to eat after that! Would strongly recommend this hotel to visitors to this part of France. Thonon is a pleasant town and other places like Switzerland (by boat) and Evian are in easy reach. We travelled there by car and visited the local organic wine producer - Chateau la Tour de Marignan - at Sciez nearby. The owner was very keen to give us samples of his range of wines. We left slightly tipsy and with a selection of his best wines in the car boot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week in July 2009 and had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious with bathroom, separate toilet, dressing table, large mirrored wardrobe, table/chairs in room and balcony with table/chairs overlooking the swimming pool. There was a pc available at reception with internet access. There was also a small games/pool room good for families. Breakfast was ample. Reception was so helpful and friendly. It was run by husband/wife team and the husband even drove us to the train station on the day we were leaving as were two female travellers with large suitcases and no car. We also discovered that the shuttle buses to the Montjoux festival left/returned from practically outside the hotel which was fantastic. The only downside - and this is more to do with Thonon les Bains rather than the hotel - is that the hotel is situated in the upper part of the town whilst the buzzing restaurants are in the lower part of town, however I saw NO HOTEL in the lower part near these restaurants. As a previous reviewer said, to get to the hotel on foot, the quickest way is to cross a bridge over the railway line and through a small pedestrian tunnel which was a little off-putting at night for two female tourists. However, there is a longer route along the main road. We did not encounter any difficulties but always did go as fast as possible through the tunnel. The hotel price is exceptionally reasonable for what you get. If you're going to Thonon then stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EurTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel. Reception were very welcoming on arrival. The room we had was very large and comfortable with a separate bathroom and wc. It also had a good sized balcony. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for our stay - I think the chef was on holiday, but reception recommended numerous good places to eat which was fine by us. We had breakfast at the hotel next door which is linked by a corridor - pretty much a standard buffet. Ample car parking on site. Good value for money stay, I would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

very nice hotel ,very clean spacious rooms with a terrace with table and chairs among flowers; nice big bed ,big flat tv screen ,free wifi (they have a computer if you don't have yours.)free covered parking.Very good food in the hotel next door.
The owner is very nice,and very helpfull.
I suggest you book a bit in advance if you can and book directly with the hotel to get the BEST RATE. [--]

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NantesMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

After some dubious French accommodation, we were all overjoyed to look around this room. The entry is ordinary, and as you walk along the hallways you aren't sure what you are getting into, but when you open the doors you see a really big room. Downstairs there was a queen bed with ample space around, and a strange kitchenette? behind a locked roll-a-door. There is a separate toilet and bathroom with bath, but no conventional shower. There was a balcony with seating and a view over the garden. Upstairs was a gallery style room with 3 separate beds. TV upstairs and down. The kids and parents were all happy! Everything was spotlessly clean. Easy parking outside and helpful staff.

There is a bakery 1 minutes walk away if you don't opt to pay for breakfast. The waterfront was a short drive away, and was beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zosterops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Had to find a hotel at short notice as my Son was in the local hospital.L'Arc En Ciel is classed as 2 star but it was far better than this.A good size room with a very large comfortable bed.Good size bathroom with seperate toilet.Also had a balcony.Did not eat breakfast as we went into Town to eat and look around.No staff spoke English when we visited and on check out a slight problem with the credit card machine was like a cross between Fawlty Towers and AlloAllo for any English readers of this.Overall I would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank moultonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thonon-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Ibis Thonon Evian
Ibis Thonon Evian
#3 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Comte Rouge
Le Comte Rouge
#2 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
#5 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
578 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoie Et Leman
Savoie Et Leman
#6 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Arc en Ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Arc en Ciel

Address: 18 Place de Crete, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thonon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Arc en Ciel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel near center of the town of Thonon Les Bains. Balcony, wifi, garden, outdoor swimming pool, parking and garage. For business or holidays, one night or a long stay, room, BB, half board or full board. On the way to the winter station(Morzine, Avoriaz, Chatel and Switzerland). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Arc en Ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Arc En Ciel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing