We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a wonderful holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Saint Loup

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Double bedroom in family suite
Family suite bunk room
Sauna
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
View from Chalet to the Col
View from Chalet to the Crioux
Vercland Black Run
Summer meadows
View across the valley from the Chalet
Spring at the Chalet
Mont Blanc from Flaine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Samoens, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AndreaHar...
Worcester, UK
1 review
“a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed March 28, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

The Harding family had a wonderful short ski break here. The food was excellent; beautifully prepared and served, imaginative, and was one of the many high points of our stay. The
Macfarlanes were great hosts and ran us to and from the lifts every day. Rooms lovely, ours had a bath, which is a big plus for me. Clare and Tony were ably helped by Jackie and Serge, who did a great job. (Special thanks to Jackie and her homemade cakes). All in all, a great stay and we would return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsa8...
Haywards Heath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food & Very Welcoming”
Reviewed March 22, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

I stayed with my girlfriend and another couple. As the chalet was not full we received a 1st class service. The lifts too & from the slope were a must, and Clare managed to accommodate 2 pick ups a day as some of us like to ski longer than others. This was very kind and made our stay very pleasant for all!

I would say this is not the chalet for the night life, but wow the food was amazing!!!!! Going out was not on the cards after a delicious 4 course meal every night!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovetoesc...
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't often feel this well looked after!”
Reviewed March 11, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

This was such a great choice for us. We were away on a short break (4 days/3nights) and this chalet helped to maximise the trip for us. The chalet is up the top of a hill (well side of mountain really!) opposite the main skiing area - stunning views - especially from the hot tub!! They drive you down to the main bubble car up to the slopes and pick you up at the times you want (only a 10min drive). You couldn't walk into town from the chalet but you have everything you need there - the food is exquisite, restaurant style every night! Clare is the most calm, friendly and efficient hostess and everyone helping in the chalet just made you feel very looked after. The skiing options are great and if the snow was what it apparently usually is, you couldn't hope for better as you are able to ski into several resorts. They have snow machines and maintain the slopes well. We still found the skiing great esp high up. And then coming back to the chalet was something you could really look forward to at end of day. Will be very tempted to return and will recommend to everyone I know anyway! We didn't take our kids but as it is family-run it would also have been perfect place to have them. But we needed the break!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valfroli
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic break in the snow”
Reviewed January 16, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Me and my boyfriend went to Chalet Saint Loup for a short break of 5 days in January. Before going I checked the website so I knew it was going to be a good place. But as soon as we got there we realized that the atmosphere and the service provided were absolutly special.
Every morning we were driven to the slopes,(only 10 min drive) which saved us the hassle of driving. Back in the afternoon then we always got an afternoon tea with sweets and biscuits ready for us, absolutly necessary after a whole day skiing!!
A couple of times we indulged ourselves in a sauna and then a outdoor iacuzzi sipping a drink and enjoying the snow falling down. Dinner time was my favourite moment, with a fantastic table setting with candles and delicious food, cooked in front of us by Claire.
Service was always excellent and jeremy and jackie from the staff were really nice and friendly.
Personally I have been to few other ski resorts in Italy, but i think this is so far my favourite corner in the snow!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyWeir
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 16, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Great Location, incredible scenery, exceptional service, friendly, polite and helpful staff.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwilli84
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“awesome stay in a great place”
Reviewed January 16, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Perfect place if your wanting to ski on le grand massif. chalet is just 5 minutes away from the slopes yet far enough away from other chalets to feel u are secluded in the middle of no where. The rooms were excellent and clean a real chalet feel to them, with ensuites and the staff assisted us with all our requirements. The highlight would have to be relaxing, after a day on the slopes, in the outdoor spa pool, overlooking the lights of the town with snow falling.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcpenguin
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family friendly Chalet with great service - would stay again”
Reviewed January 14, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Chalet Saint Loup. We were traveling with 2 kids - aged 4 and almost 2. The chalet was perfect for us. We reserved the family room which had one adjoining rooms (one for the parents and bunk-beds in the other for the children) with a full bathroom attached. The beds were comfortable and we slept quite well. The dinners (food and service) were superb - far better than we could have expected to get if going to restaurants every night, without the hassle of finding good restaurants. Plus the kids could eat dinner first and we could get them to bed or let them stay up and play while we enjoyed our dinner - definitely something not available at restaurants.

The hosts were very gracious and helpful - answering every question we had. They made reservations for us on the cooks night off at a restaurant that was great with children as well. As advertised on their website, they transported us to and from the ski lifts each day. We expected only 1 drop-off/pick-up time to be available, but they tailored the times to our desires. The chalet is not located directly in town, but up a steep 5km road, but only 10 min or so from the lifts. While it is a little ways away from town, it is the last building on the hill with a nature reserve beyond it, which makes for a good place to take walks with good views of the Alps.

While we were there the snow was far below normal, but we still enjoyed the chalet as well as making easy day-trips to nearby towns on days we did not ski. The hosts provided recommendations for these as well that turned out to be spot on for what we were looking for.

I'd definitely stay at Chalet Saint Loup again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing