We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neige et Roc apartments - a perfect base for the slopes”
Review of Hotel Neige Et Roc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Samoens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed in the apartments of the hotel and I was very pleased with our rooms. We had two large rooms both with fantastic baths! The main bedroom had a small kitchenette and dining table which was perfect for breakfast and snacks - we could have comfortably cooked easy family meals (pasta etc.).
The children loved the pool which has a short quick slide and was great fun. It's very convenient for the ski bus and only a 5-10 minute bus journey to the main Samoens lift.
We would definitely come back to Neige et Roc if we were to ski in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieBlue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Neige Et Roc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 220 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Ho Hum hotel in Samoens with comfortable rooms and a decent restaurant, but the hotel needs updating and lacks character and charm.

The spa was not up to standard. Staff is friendly, hotel is clean, and breakfast was good, but we would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a really pretty traditional chalet hotel offering good quality cuisine with comfortable rooms in need of updating.
The spa/wellness area was disappointing and of poor quality overall. Been to other French 3 star hotels with far better spa facilities.
Both breakfast and dinner are of a good standard and you won't regret your half board option. The owners are hospitable and helpful.
You will need to take the ski bus outside the hotel to the slopes and back. Some skiers are okay with this. We found this inconvenient during busy periods. This is no fault of the hotel and we were aware of its location prior to arrival.
Samoen has a very limited skiing terrain. The main lift in town has massive queues. You can queue for 45 minutes before getting onto the gondola. The best of the skiing is in Flaine via interconnected lifts.
Again expect bottlenecks.
Your stay at hotel neige et roc will be a comfortable, pleasant experience. Just too much of ski touring out there. Not sure if we shall return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FREDDY023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Friendly staff, clean, bright and spacious.

When we visited, there was building work going on next door so it was a bit noisy.

The restaurant is large and bright, but lacking in atmosphere. Breakfasts were good, but we decided to seek dinner in more traditional surroundings. If you want efficient modern hotel with an alpine chalet style wrapper, this is the place. If you want true alpine village atmosphere,, Neige et Roc doesn't quite do it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I booked the hotel for a family christmas on the strength of the reviews and the website. We arrived and were instantly disappointed by the area of Samoens which is very lacking in charm. The hotel itself is more motel in style and quite banal. The rooms we were shown were both very small and unprepossessing. This is not by any stretch of the imagination a luxury hotel. I spoke to the owner who was charming and did what he could which was to keep our deposit and not charge us for the rooms which I suppose he was within his rights to do.

I've no wish to give the hotel a bad review and I think the records show that a lot of people have a great time here but I think that we discovered the hard way that Samoens and this hotel was not for us. We drove on to Megeve where we normally stay, found a last minute vacancy and had a fantastic week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SirGeorge61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This hotel has so many excellent reviews that it barely needs another one. Oh well, it was every good thing that people have already written. Monsieur and Madame and all the staff are lovely - friendly, welcoming, helpful. It's always a good sign when the management eat the same food in the dining room with the guests, don't you think? And the food was legend - that cheese board...! The party evening mid-week was so much fun, and again, there was a table for the owners, their children, grandchildren and friends. Thought went into who sat where and the entertainment was delightful. Our room was lovely, everything worked and the standard of cleaning every day was probably the best I've ever encountered. The hotel is very child-friendly. Ours are grown up, but we were never bothered. Admittedly almost all the small children were french (or half-french) and thus used to dining out and generally behaving beautifully, which to me means running around occasionally and being generally children, but not screaming and shouting. I would have to mention that the pool is pretty much taken over by small children in the evening, but they aren't allowed in the health suite, which is more important for our old bones after skiing anyway, so we didn't mind not swimming. It's in a great location for skiing, out of the town, so nice and quiet, but with the ski bus stop right outside, and it only took 10 minutes to walk to the centre of this lovely town.We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We have just returned from a week in Samoens, where we stayed at Hotel Neige et Roc.
After looking all over the web for info on this lovely place and found very little - I thought it best to compose my own report for all to view.

Samoens is 1 hour transfer from Geneva Airport.
We used Go Massif who were brilliant. €120 private transfer or €80 shared (I think)

The hotel has in the basement a ski locker and boot warmers. No point using the lockers on piste - The bus stop is literally 30meters from the boot room - Right outside the hotel. The bus stops every 15 minutes.
The lift from Samoens opens at 845 and takes 8minutes to the pistes. So if you're meeting friends in Flaine this is what you need to do. Once on the piste... you skate along the flat for about 50meters. Then ski to the Express Lift (on right)... Take that to the top. Then keeping left ski down till you see another lift on the LEFT. Take that lift and then follow signs to Flaine. We easily managed to arrive in Flaine by 925 every morning.

Back to the hotel.
Mr Deffaught is brilliant. But 99% French spoken and only speaks broken English.
Selena (front desk) is magnificent and speaks good English. Do not expect anyone to speak English to you. This is a quaint French Hotel! And everyone speaks French.
Don't be put off... This was part of their charm!

The bedrooms are fine. Nothing exciting. (ask to stay in the new block) The bathrooms are LOVELY! Huge with corner bath and magnificent decor.
The beds again-Typical French. Plastic under sheet (but seriously it's not that bad) with attached roll pillow. (They provide another fab pillow)...

There is a large 6 person Jacuzzi, smallish but sweet indoor swimming pool (28 degrees) , sauna and Hamann.
Outdoor pool and Tennis courts.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk into Samoens centre which is great.
NOT a party town but is very much worth visiting and spending time in. Cheese and Sausison everywhere you look.

The white local wine is delicious - Hotel sells this from €20 though spend €26 and you get a lovely bottle.
The red local - not to our taste. A bottle of decent Bordeaux in the hotel is €38.

Cocktails are €8 as are G&T's.

The shops all greet you in the evening - Please greet them back. They're just being polite.

Back to the hotel.
The food... We had the half board.
We ate everything from Scallops, French Onion Soup, Local Lake Fish, Crab, Lobster, Wild Boar, Frogs Legs, FANTASTIC puds, CHEESE CHEESE CHEESE, Fondue, Sausison, etc etc. GREAT VALUE.
The A La Carte Menu is good too! Expensive but VERY good.

The waiters again - ONLY SPEAK FRENCH! Lots of pointing, smiling and laughing and we got on great.
We were the only two English people there. Everyone else was French.

WiFi is available - STUPIDLY - they charge €20 for this service for your stay. Or €4 for half hour.

A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riverhead66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
6.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
2.2 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neige Et Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neige Et Roc

Address: 255 route de Taninges, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Samoens
Price Range: $113 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neige Et Roc 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Neige Et Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neige Et Roc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing