We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better in the summer!”
Review of Absolute Alpine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absolute Alpine
Ranked #4 of 8 Samoens B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Even better in the summer!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed with Absolute Alpine for a weeks skiing previously and came back in the summer for a friends wedding in Samoens.
We had such an amazing stay with the owners Sam and Steve in the smaller chalet Petit Ourse last time, that we asked to come back and stay in the larger Grand Ourse for our summer visit. And we weren't disappointed. The chalet is immaculate, wired for sound, spacious, full of little touches like big fluffy towels and toiletries - and a fully stocked honesty bar that puts you right at home!!
The hot tub was just as much fun to sit in during the twighlight hours of the evening and the views simply stunning.
There's a bit of a trek up the hill to get to the chalet, but the elevation gives you the great views over the pretty streets in the village.
We'll be back, time and again...maybe taking in some parascending this time around.
Top notch

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious with en-suite shower or bath. Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiGats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from a sunny week staying at La Grande Ourse in Samoens. The chalet is amazing! We arrived to a welcome pack of pasta, sauce, bread, jam, cheese, butter, tea, wine, cake and more (we were staying non-catered) which was so lovely - being able to have a cuppa upon arrival was great. The honesty bar was also fantastic and very reasonably priced and being able to get UK tv meant we could keep up with Wimbledon!

I stayed in the aubergine room which was nice and spacious with a great en suite with a bath which was most needed after a run through the village. L'occitane en Provence toiletries were another lovely touch! The bed itself was super comfy - but watch your head if in the same room as there is a fairly low beam I whacked into a couple of times.

All in all, an amazing stay... The chalet is so perfect for Brits in a very non-Brits abroad kind of way; it just has all the touches needed to make your stay comfortable. It's up a steep hill so be prepared to hike if you're staying non catered (I believe if you're catered you get chauffeured around which sounds amazing) but the views you get from being that bit higher up than the town more than make up for it... Especially when sitting in the hot tub staring at alpine gorgeousness!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sofic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Samoen and a brilliant ski holiday. Absolute Alpine is a great company, the staff are incredibly friendly and will do everything possible to make the stay perfect. The Grand Massif proved to be a great ski resort and we had superb snow. Steve drops you to the gondola in the mornings, picks you up in the evening when afternoon tea awaits at the chalet, before a dip in the hot tub and a fantastic 4 course dinner!
Could not recommend this chalet/company more, we will definitely go back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fimckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have just returned from our trip and cannot recommend the owners of absolute alpine highly enough. We stayed in the chalet la Roche which comprised a chalet with 4 bedrooms (2 with ensuite) with an apartment beneath. We were two families comprising 7 adults and 2 children so opted for the 4 bed chalet. Another family had the apartment beneath the chalet and the two properties are totally separate and we never or heard or saw them during our stay. We had soul use of the hot tub which was immaculate. We choose the catered option and our chef was Justin. He was so accommodating and the quality of the food was truly 5 star. Each evening Justin would tell us what was on the menu (3 courses plus cheese board) and was happy to alter the menu if one of our guests did not like what was going to be served the following day. Justin is a credit to absolute alpine and we hope he is there when we return (he even apolgised in advance for making some slight noise with his food processor) The accommodation was designed by the current owners for their own use and this is reflected in the quality furniture, white fluffy towels and the quality sanitary ware. My wife was impressed by the branded toiletries supplied and scented toilet paper ! The bed linen was fresh white and the honestly fridge was a great idea. The owner Steve would visit some evenings to ensure everything was ok. Each morning Steve or his colleague Sam would arrive to take us to the slopes and if one of the cable cars was busy would have no problem taking us higher up the slopes to avoid the queues. Finally if you are looking for a young company who believe in offering supreme service and immaculate accomodation you can book with confidence and if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ea211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Alexander and I had a boys week away ski-ing and it was our best ever. From the pick-up at the airport to the drop off a week later we were treated like kings the whole time. The food was perfect every night. Alexander and I still can't choose the best meal as it was all so delicicious. Lee is a world class chef and top bloke! Would recommend Absolute Alpine wholeheartedly.

Many thanks to Sam, Steve, Kate, Kee and the team! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Both rooms in Le Petit Ourse are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent holiday again. It's is the second year that we have stayed with Absolute Alpine. This year only 10 of us managed to meet up. Last year Absolute Alpine catered for at least 26 people in the same group . The accommodation, food, and attention to detail has been excellent on both occasions. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is always first class, and they can cater for unusual dietary requirements. I unfortunately had an accident this year, decided to fly rather than ski, Steve and Sam and the team came to our rescue. Thank you very much. Also on the team are Kate, Lee, Justin, Jake and Ryan
Claire and Michael

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairejmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've just returned from a really great skiing holiday in Samoens. Having a lovely warm cosy, clean chalet/apartment to come back to after a day skiing is a very significant part of our holiday and Absolute Alpine certainly didn't let us down. Steve, Sam and Kate provide a very professional service, from beginning to end. When we arrived we were greeted by Justin the chef who's very helpful and friendly but above all makes the best Victoria sandwich cake in town! The hamper was much appreciated to. We wouldn't hesitate to stay with Absolute Pine again as it makes a great skiing holiday complete. The only problem is, it makes coming back to reality much harder. Thank you, the Jones family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillianjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samoens hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.4 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
AEC Vacances - Les Becchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Alpine

Property: Absolute Alpine
Address: La Grande et La Petite Ourse | Chalets de Levy, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Samoens
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a family run, chalet company offering two luxurious fully catered chalets for ski and summer holidays in Samoens, French Alps. Our two chalets cater for groups from 4 to 21 guests.Each of our adjacent chalets have its own hot tub and plenty to entertain the whole family (UK TV, DVDs, CDs, Nintendo Wii and more). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing