We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining meets chalet life - the ultimate winter experience with great skiing thrown in”
Review of Absolute Alpine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absolute Alpine
Ranked #4 of 8 Samoens B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Alexander and I had a boys week away ski-ing and it was our best ever. From the pick-up at the airport to the drop off a week later we were treated like kings the whole time. The food was perfect every night. Alexander and I still can't choose the best meal as it was all so delicicious. Lee is a world class chef and top bloke! Would recommend Absolute Alpine wholeheartedly.

Many thanks to Sam, Steve, Kate, Kee and the team! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Both rooms in Le Petit Ourse are great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Absolute Alpine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent holiday again. It's is the second year that we have stayed with Absolute Alpine. This year only 10 of us managed to meet up. Last year Absolute Alpine catered for at least 26 people in the same group . The accommodation, food, and attention to detail has been excellent on both occasions. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is always first class, and they can cater for unusual dietary requirements. I unfortunately had an accident this year, decided to fly rather than ski, Steve and Sam and the team came to our rescue. Thank you very much. Also on the team are Kate, Lee, Justin, Jake and Ryan
Claire and Michael

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and of a high standard
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairejmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've just returned from a really great skiing holiday in Samoens. Having a lovely warm cosy, clean chalet/apartment to come back to after a day skiing is a very significant part of our holiday and Absolute Alpine certainly didn't let us down. Steve, Sam and Kate provide a very professional service, from beginning to end. When we arrived we were greeted by Justin the chef who's very helpful and friendly but above all makes the best Victoria sandwich cake in town! The hamper was much appreciated to. We wouldn't hesitate to stay with Absolute Pine again as it makes a great skiing holiday complete. The only problem is, it makes coming back to reality much harder. Thank you, the Jones family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillianjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Absolute Alpine over Christmas and New Year in the Grande and Petite Ourse. Our group was composed of a complete mix of family and friends, skiiers and non-skiiers, and all ages from 9 months upwards. Samoens is also a sweet little village, with great slopes nearby for all levels of skiier or snowboarder, and tobogganing for the little ones. Steve and Sam were fantastic in helping us to prepare for this major holiday, and no request we had was too strange - stair guards, child seats, sledges etc. Once we were in the chalets the team was superb. Kate, the chalet manager, was on hand to answer our queries and organise the Wakefield College Students who assist with all the day to day chores - Lauren, Amy and Kieran were a friendly and hardworking trio and we all wish them the very best for the future. Lee, the chef, arrived early each day to cook our breakfast hot option, and conjured up a fantastic four course dinner every night (and 4pm cakes...). We had a variety of eating requirements, and everything Lee served up was absolutely delicious. The team does take a day off in the week (though they still gave us a lift to the ski-lift) - and ensured that we were set up with reservations in a friendly restaurant. Steve always managed to be in the room when we needed him, and had an impressive ability to sort out things that we were certain we'd left too late - massages, ski school places, and paragliding experiences. The chalet has gorgeous views, the boot room is snug so no cold feet or coats, the showers warm and powerful, the hot tubs were much appreciated, and the social areas were a super cosy space for all of us. Absolute Alpine has a truly personal approach to the hospitality service and they made our Christmas and New Year very special. We can't speak highly enough of them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FHTWMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed with Absolute Alpine in the week they opened their chalet and since then have been back with them 6 times in all. We have had holidays with them for us as a couple and as many as 13 with all the family. I always stay 5 star on holiday or for a short break ( but not always on business as I am generally on my own) and I am the most fussy punter to please. I am critical and judgemental. These guys deliver 100%. If you find anything wrong with Absolute Alpine then it is more than likely you that has the problem. They are a high class operation and take your ski experience in lovely Samoens to a higher level. BTW the town and ski area is very chic. Reminds me of Meribel before it got too big for its boots and far prettier.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent a week with Absolute Alpine in August..... for the 3rd year running. The chalets are beautiful and the food and service provided by Steve, Sam, Kate and the team are second-to-none. It was a truly relaxing experience for us and our children and choosing the catered option meant that we could spend time as a family without having to worry about shopping, cooking, chores etc. There is plenty to do in and around Samoens in the summer, whether you want to spend time relaxing at the local outdoor swimming pool or at Lac Bleu in Morillon or taking up more energetic pursuits such as cycling or rafting. I cannot recommend Absolute Alpine enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheltenhamLady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not even slightly tempted to give our stay in the Grand Ourse anything less than five stars. As with others, we found the food second to none, the service amazing and the facilities superb. A fantastic week of paragliding, kayaking, cycling, hiking and relaxing - highly recommendable.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank hiltonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samoens hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Berouze
Le Berouze
#2 of 6 in Samoens
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose
Villa Rose
#3 of 8 in Samoens
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Alpine

Address: La Grande et La Petite Ourse | Chalets de Levy, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Samoens
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a family run, chalet company offering two luxurious fully catered chalets for ski and summer holidays in Samoens, French Alps. Our two chalets cater for groups from 4 to 21 guests.Each of our adjacent chalets have its own hot tub and plenty to entertain the whole family (UK TV, DVDs, CDs, Nintendo Wii and more). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing