We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent week!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Orion

Hot-tub with views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot-tub with views
Chalet Orion in the snow Living room with plenty of comfortable sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Hot-tub with views
Chalet Orion in the snow
Living room with plenty of comfortable sofas
Relax by a roaring log fire
Fully fitted kitchen with lots of work space
Kitchen with seating for 4
Dining area - enjoy our delicious food!
Beautiful double bedroom with balcony
Bedrooms can also be made as twin beds
Pretty twin room
Bedroom with plenty of storage
Ensuite family room
Pretty bedrooms, luxury bathrobes are provided
Cosy family room
Ensuite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries
View from the ski lift
2 doubles or twin bedrooms on the Ground floor
Living and dining and family room on the 1st Floor.
Twin or double and family room on the 2nd floor.
Lovely summer location
Samoens in the summertime
Hot-tub with fantastic views all year around
Let us at PureChalets take care of your holiday!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Samoens, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bungle24
london
1 review
“Excellent week!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just returned from a Excellent week at Chalet Orion with three friends! I would recommend this chalet to anyone. It is in a great location, with just a short walk into the town, and only a 10 minute walk from the main lift to the slopes. The chalet itself is very clean, comfortable and spacious, and the food was excellent. The hot tub was great after a day on the slopes and had lovely views across the valley! The owners Liz and Andy were great and very helpful throughout our stay, and our hosts Jess and Jamie were Brilliant! they couldn't do enough for us!. Samoens itself is a nice resort and the skiing is excellent! We will definitely be returning!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, Hot tub
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigd131...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just returned from a great week in chalet orion.
Liz and Andy the owners were great , and our special thanx to our Jess and Jamie our house keepers who down a brilliant job of taking care of us, nothing was to much trouble.
The resort was first class and the location perfect for town and skiing.
Would thoroughly recommend and will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: none of it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyHugh...
Northamptonshire
2 reviews
“A wonderful week.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our week spent in Chalet Orion with friends was one of our best holidays together. The chalet was clean, comfortable and cosy, and our hosts, Jess and Jamie were simply wonderful. We were all very impressed with the breakfast, afternoon cake and evening meals which set us up for our full days of skiing.
The village was so pretty to stroll through and we enjoyed our Wednesday restaurant meal at Louisiana (kindly booked by Liz).
Many thanks To Liz, Andy, Jess and Jamie for such a wonderful ski trip. We shall definitely be returning to Samoens which offered a huge range of runs to suit all our levels. We especially loved the Marvel run in Morillon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julianne...
Jersey, null, Jersey
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Gorgeous chalet, wonderful hosts, and good, hearty food! We had several young children with us, who were looked after beautifully by our hosts. Although not near to the lifts, we were shuttled there every morning by Andy, and usually made our own way back to the chalet in the afternoons. Charming village too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Indeed”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Lovely Chalet, very comfortable and clean, had a great skiing holiday here. Liz and the chalet hosts were great, food was good.
Only reason I would not recommend location is because personally we prefer to be within easy walk of the lift, but having said that transport to the lift was flexible - even when we could not get ourselves organised in the mornings! We normally stopped in town for an apres ski drink and walked back anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: cleanliness and comfort - all you needed
Liked least: The very, very steep walk back to the chalet, essential to leave skiis and boots at the rental shop by the lift.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLD83
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet, good food and lovely resort”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2012

A group of 12 of us stayed here in February 2012 having found the chalet on the internet. The owners were very accommodating during the booking process and very helpful throughout our stay. We were able to book return transfers to/ from Geneva airport via the owners and they also provided transfers for the whole group to the main ski lift each day. (You are able to walk to the main ski lift though it's a bit of a trek with your ski gear. There is also a ski bus that stops nearby if for some reason you don't make the arranged transfers.)
Chalet is of a very high standard and spacious. Hot tub was great with lovely views across the valley. Chalet hosts were very friendly and the food was of a good standard.
Samoens itself is a great resort with plenty to do (besides skiing) and nice restaurants.
We're hoping to make it back in the next coupld of years!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very roomy, clean , bright
Liked least: no access to washing machine as described
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing