We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to self-cater in style, GCH and Samoens have it sussed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“How to self-cater in style, GCH and Samoens have it sussed!”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We had the pleasure and privilege to stay for the whole month of January 2011 and feel very qualified to say that this is the best accommodation I have had in the Alps. CGH have perfected the quality of residence-all wood, glass and stone so 10 out of 10 for aesthetics (important to me). The leisure area is fantastic, perfect after a day on the slopes-Spa is a must, and underground garage links to the spa/leisure area without going overground, great in bad weather/wearing only a light clothing! Apartments are perfectly appointed (en-suite in master bedroom) but I have to say that the staff really made our holiday. They were all, without exception, professional, wonderfully warm and friendly and efficient. I could write all evening about the wonderful service and experience we had, suffice to say we will be customers for life (as long as the staff stay so wonderful!). Perfect location next to the GM Express "bubble", heated boot warmers in lockers-tons of storage, bakery items delivered to reception each am. Really, it is the best accommodation in the most perfect location. Samoens is a wonderful/beautiful village-use "Zig Zag" ski school -an amazing company , and eat in "Mezzanine" and "Le Bois De Lune". Somebody told me you'll come for a holiday and want to stay and I understand that now-no longer interested in 3 Vallees/Espace Killy and the like, give me Samoens/Grand Massif area any day. Oh, and the ski "lifties" were the friendliest I've ever come across, treating my 4 year old like a VIP. Samoens, deservedly, has the "Famille Plus" award and the locals were so friendly. Looking forward to returning, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblingBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    49
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
102
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed here for a week from Boxing day. The location is prefect. Mid way between the lovely village and the ski lift (this is only a five minute walk). The facilities are spacious and brand new. We had two double bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large sitting/dining/kitchen area. It was incredibly well equipped with everything - and more - than we needed. Reception were friendly and helpful. The bread/croissant etc ordering service for breakfast each day was great - no early morning trips to the supermarket - this was only 5 mins away having said that. The spa area was lovely. Large, clean and again, brand new. The changing room mechnism between the entrance and changing area was bizarre though and there was no way out when the changing rooms were full. There ski locker area was excellent - a massive cupboard with boot drying facilities for 4 sets of boots in each. The only small gripes were that the sitting area was a little uncomfortable - more squashy sofas would have helped and the "sky" tv they talk about is all french stations - a minor point, but worth making. You could hire DVD players, but we were not told about that on arrival, which would have been good for teenage downtime after skiing. Also, it would have been nice to have had a change of towels in the middle of the week. Overall, though, this was a lovely place to stay and by far the most spacious ski accomodation that we have experienced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The chalet was clean and well laid out, beds very comfortable indeed, kitchen basic (but no more so than other appartments in the alps), ski locker facilities excellent. Location half way between the ski lift and the village did mean everywhere is in easy reach but you had no chance of finding a space on the ski bus as it went by so had to walk but it isn't far and meant you could get to the lift before the hoards get off the bus. Village is quaint and worth investigating. There are some excellent shops but unfortunately for the self caterer who has flown there (rather than driven and picked up provisions at Carrefour just down the road) the local supermarket on the corner is very limited. And don't expect to be able to buy much on the evening of transfer day, its all gone! You can preorder lovely breads from the local boulangerie to be delivered early every morning to reception. The very best bit is the spa. The pool and two jacuzzis get busy between 4.30 and 6pm but actually quite empty beforehand so if kids get tired early in the afternoon, give yourself a treat and come back sooner and have it all to yourself. The saunas and steam rooms are excellent. Kids are welcome in every bit of the spa. A truly fantastic way to end each day. Beware that the restaurant next door is lovely but absolutely extortionate. We didn't have good luck with restaurants - the Louisianna was below average, the Savoire just OK, so we gave up looking for better than average tourist food and cooked at home most of the time. Afterall the prices for lunch up the mountain are so high, you can't afford two overpriced meals a day! The manager was extremely helpful and nice, as were his staff. Not everyone at the front desk spoke English so brush up your french.
Overall loved it. Met a few people who had stayed in other CGH residences before and were hooked. Will do like them and try out others. Its a great concept. And we're considering returning in the summer for our first summer alps holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizbielinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Spent week after Xmas here to ski grand massif. Had been to the area before and stayed in the excellent neige et roc but it was full. Plus points: the fabric of the development is excellent, modern apartments and our 3 bed duplex was fresh and new and very clean on arrival. Negatives: a nanny state set up with heating temperature and tv volumes restricted and issues with utilities such as regular power trips, intermittent wifi and inconsistent hot water every day (the place was full). The spa area was excellent but overrun with screaming and badly behave children and bizarrely entry and exit to the pool area is through double side locked changing areas - if they are full you can't get in our out ! Apartment also had new kitchen equipment throughout but no instructions to use anything. When leaving we had to have a room inspection and then were escorted from the apartment presumably in case we sold the tea spoons ! Could be good but there are better options at this price in my opinion.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Almecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The location on TA is shown wrong. It is actually much closer to the river very nice place indeed. Very close to numerous restaurants and the people are very friendly. A lovely village.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
0.3 mi away
CGH Residences & Spas Les Chalets de Layssia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres

Property: Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Address: 132 route du grand Massif, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Cgh La Reine Des Pres Hotel Samoens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing