We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base to ski from samoens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham Bucks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great base to ski from samoens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We are just returning from a week in a two bed apartment, sleeps 4 to 6 with a sofa bed in the lounge. Was great for 4, might be crowded for 6 adults. Kitchen included a toaster, kettle, coffee machine which takes senseo pods, bring your own cafetiere if you don't hand blender, whisk, salt and pepper pots (empty), and a cleaning pack which had enough washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets for the week, two tea towels and a dishcloth and scourer. Not enough loo roll for the week so bring an extra roll if you're driving. It was nice to have two bathrooms and a separate loo. Both had extremely hot towel rails, be careful of drying clothes on them on full power, as coating on ski gloves etc can melt! The lounge and spa areas are great and staff are happy for you to bring a drink and crisps down to the lounge to chill while playing snooker. You can borrow a DVD player for the week for free, as well as raclette , bring dvds from home though since there wasn't much choice in English. Underground parking is great, you can park right outside whichever block you're in to access ski locker and lift to apartment. Two minute drive to free parking at base of cable car, we were there Easter week and there was always space. For food, it's worth stocking up at the Carrefour in Cluses if you drive, much cheaper than Samoens, but the local Sherpa is a two minute walk and well stocked if not. Samoens is a really pretty alpine village, lovely in both summer and winter. We only ate out once because we were content to stay in and chill by the pool then lounge after a day on the slopes, but there's a good choice of restaurants, albeit expensive. Brasserie le savoie on the main square serves a good selection of crepes, omelette, burgers, steak frites etc very quickly and efficiently and does a wicked Irish coffee. Next door to the boulangerie Tiffanie in the centre is a cheese and ham shop which will prepare you a platter for the raclette or fondue for 10 euros per person. We ordered for three people and couldn't finish it between four. Really nice apartments, hard to beat in a ski resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandyLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    49
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
100
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evje, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Samoens was a good choice for a ski holiday. The apartment we stayed in was well equipped and had good space. The tile floor was cold without floor heating and the furniture in the living room was uncomfortable. The internet was bad. The SPA was nice and the pool big enough, but I did not like the idea of having the showers in the same room as the pool. Not private at all. It was a short walk to the ski gondol and to the village. Every morning we walked to the bakery for fresh bread. The skiing was good with different runs and difficulties, lots of off piste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjertrud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evje, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice place, well located smack bang between the Gondola lift and the town of Samoens. Well suited for a ski holiday, the apartments do the job they have been built to do without any frills. They are well equipped and my only complaint was the internet is only set up for one computer. if you want more you have to pay. Not great when you are a family of five on holiday. The pool and spa is nice but I would question the fact that there is no private shower facilities prior to entering the pool area. This did make me wonder about the hygiene with all those sweaty skiers coming straight off the mountains and splash right into the pool. The reception closes early so dont expect any assistance after 8pm. This is important to know on your day of arrival just in case you dont have enough bed linen in the flat. There a lots of good restuarants close by and the reception will help with booking them. We had a good ski holiday and the hotel did pretty much what it said on the label, but without wowing us.

Room Tip: The road is quiet busy so maybe ask for the west or south facing apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timaktiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from a great holiday with our 2 young boys. One in ski school the other we put on the local nursery (garderie) which I wasn't so sure about at first. They were well organised very friendly and our son 15 months had such a great time playing with peers. It was around 35€ per day which isn't bad. Food was quite expensive but we found a lovely deli next to the ice skating ring which sold home cooked meals such as lasagne, beef Bourginon, and other French dishes at reasonable prices. Great value for the grand massif ski pass.
Don't eat at oscars at top of slop. Try the one to the right of the main lift.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummytojamesandthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

La Reine des Pres( Queen of the Lands) offered our group of 13 a perfect base for a 4 day ski holiday in Samoens. Perfectly located between the village and the telecabin, we were thankful for the short walk following hard days on the slopes. The apartments were very comfortable, especially the beds and had very well equipped kitchens. The spa area with pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna was pristine and the therapies an extra bonus. The Grand Massif is a fantastic ski area and Samoens is a great village to access the pistes

Room Tip: We had an apartment which slept 8 but we chose to under occupy, with 8 adults it would be a bit crow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawninwarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,253 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Just had long weekend here skiing with the kids
Cost me around 600 pounds by the time you added in parking, pool towel rental and tourism tax

The apartments have lots going for them:

- Samoens is lovely and easy to get to
- Apartments are close to lift station
- Lobby, pool and spa are lovely
- Concierge was great - booked us good eateries
- Underground parking is handy
- Apartments are clean and well equipped
- Comfy beds

There were some negatives:

Living area in apartment was small and furniture uncomfortable

Our main gripe was that the apartment was very cold at night - lots of tiles and no underfloor heating. Turns out that the heating thermostat was controlled centrally too

Take your slippers!

Would recommend nonetheless

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been to Samoens a few times for our winter skiing break and when this complex opened we thought we would give it a try due to the close proximity to the lift and not needing to get the ski bus.

La Reine des pre has excellent rooms for reasonable prices and the pool and jaquzzi is great after a long day on the slopes.

We booked through peak retreats who's service is excellent and really good ski tour operator including the flexiplus tunnel upgrade.

What can I say... If I didn't want to explore more regions Samoens and la Reine des pre would be a guaranteed good holiday year on year.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samoens
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CGH Residences & Spas Les Chalets de Layssia
1.3 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens
5.6 mi away
CGH Residences et Spas Les Chalets de Jouvence
CGH Residences et Spas Les Chale...
#3 of 16 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres

Property: Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Address: 132 route du grand Massif, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Cgh La Reine Des Pres Hotel Samoens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing