We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All round excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Thredbo Village, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All round excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

For such a small family run restaurant the price, choice and quality of the food is excellent. The management are extremely welcoming and it has become my favourite restaurant when I visit Samoens.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paluski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas Eve traditional French meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited this lovely restaurant on Christmas Eve. It is a traditional unspoilt French restaurant with excellent service from a waiter who spoke excellent English. The menu was simple, written in French with English translation.

I had the smoked salmon to start which was a large portion and very tasty. For main course, My Son had Duck and Mash potatoes, My Wife had the Venison special, My Daughter and I had lamb shank, mash potato and gravy. All our meals were good portions, excellently cooked and very tasty. Washed down with soft drinks for the kids and a lovely bottle of Savoie Rouge.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellence all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A superb small restaurant at the edge of the village. We were made very welcome by the owner, who with his wife, provided a very good level of service with some amazing food. The menu was interesting and varied. Nothing was too much trouble. Variations to some of the dishes were made to take into account diets.(The tomato tart, is definitely worth a mention) The wine was good and reasonably priced. Overall an excellent eating experience. Definitely worth going back, which we did twice!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susiesmithYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capel Curig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We have returned there yet again this year. The menu has improved but is still great value. Another good addition is a house wine again at a very reasonable cost. The owners are always friendly and helpfully.Well used by locals which is always a good sign. Always a great place to visit

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendliest People You Could wish To Meet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Fantastic unassuming little restaurant with some outside seating on the roadside, perfect for the great weather we experienced whilst visiting Samoens in Aug 2012. Set menus were great value at 16 and 22 euros, meats, local sausage (Diot) and polenta, apple tart, etc . Wine was local and chilled which was very welcome in 36 degrees!! owner was exceptionally accommodating, especially as we had a 2 year old who wanted some attention!, offered a child seat, served a smaller version of the lovely Tartiflette and even washed our own child's bowl for us which was a great touch, service was quick and the food cooked to order. Our 2 year old was exstatic when the ice cream dessert arrived with a mini model snow rabbit perched on the top! Very friendly, good value and authentic local food. *****5 Star, made for a great lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Rendez Vous de la Piaz also viewed

 
Samoens, Grand Massif
Samoens, Grand Massif
 
Samoens, Grand Massif
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing