We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Marie Stuart
Ranked #2 of 8 Samoens B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 6, 2013

There is a real warmth and friendly atmosphere to this Chalet , and this is because of the amazing service provided by Caroline and her colleague Alison. We stayed during the half term, and were thoroughly spoilt, nothing was too much trouble for Caroline or Alison, their hospitality , the food , the comfortable , clean accommodation could not be faulted.
The children in our party were extremely happy and well catered for with separate meals and eating times.
I would thoroughly recommend the chalet to anybody who wants to be able to enjoy a great skiing region and then go back to relax and be looked after to a high level, but be prepared that all the husbands and kids will want to trade you in and take Caroline home with them.
Thanks Caroline keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Marie Stuart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 140 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a group of four families ranging from 6 to 60 and everyone had the most amazing time. Caroline is the most wonderful host, attentive, genuine and full of excellent tips, whether it be about the skiing or other local activities. Nothing is too much trouble and her culinary skills were as good as any London 5 star restaurant. The property is homely, cared for and brilliantly clean. Everyone we met knew Caroline and spoke of her with such fondness. Having met her, we can see why. The village of Samoen is beautiful, the area full of things to do, so you will not go wrong by choosing Chalet Marie Stuart.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a huge bathroom with a bath and loads of Character
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andythechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can I say. This was our first time on this sort of holiday and we went with friends and family of all ages. It sounds a bit over the top to say it was perfect but it really was. The chalet felt like a family home, the resort could not have been better (some of us were not skiers but we found surrounding area so beautiful and worthy of many days out.) However the real star of the show was Caroline most certainly the hostess with the mostess!. Her food is quite stunning and her hosting skills unbeatable, there was nothing that was too much trouble, she was warm and friendly and loved by the children (all husbands wanted to take her home with them too!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

All is excellent! Caroline's a brilliant hostess, a marvellous cook, and so friendly and helpful - despite hosting such a rowdy crew as the 'Milton Keynes Brass Ski Formation Team'! My only worry with giving a truthful review - the truth being IT'S FAB! -is that Chalet Marie Stuart would become so popular that I might not get a chance to visit again - so I've already booked for next winter to be certain. Lizzie :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizziebancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A group of friends stayed here to ski, Caroline is a lovely lady and prepared us amazing food & even catered for some of the more 'picky' members of our group. She made us feel welcome and part of the Chalet, we totally enjoyed staying there and look forward to doing it again. Unfortunately my wife broke her shoulder on the first day of skiing, Caroline, her staff & Ski Weekender (Katy) went out of their way to help us; we are very appreciative. It's about a 20min walk into town downhill & scenic, you'll thankfully burn off a few calories walking back to the Chalet uphill though :)

Room Tip: I believe the rooms upstairs are much larger than the room/s on the main floor (possibly room 2 but...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

another welcome post christmas trip to Chalet Marie Stuart didn't fail to tick all the boxes once again. Carolines hosting, particularly the culinary magic from the kitchen, is several notches above the normal chalet fayre along with that extra attention to detail, post ski cakes and aperitifs live long in the memory! The added bonus of Ski Weekender offering the extra assistance in organising transfers etc, thanks to Kate (ne Scully). All in all a faultless few days. May this alpine gem continue to offer its great service, comfortable and relaxed ambience, with excellent value for money. Keep it up Chalet Marie Stuart.......

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Caroline and Ali made us thoroughly welcome the minute we stepped through the door. Lovely food, friendly atmosphere, clean and comfortable bedrooms, relaxing lounge, etc. Nice to have the TV in a completely separate room instead of taking over the lounge. Caroline really cares about her guests - after only one night she remembered I like a gin and tonic and had the gin, lemon and ice ready for me the next time. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samoens hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Rose
Villa Rose
#3 of 8 in Samoens
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Marie Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Marie Stuart

Address: Le Petit Saix, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Samoens
Price Range: $96 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Marie Stuart is a traditional Savoyard chalet on the outskirts of the charming village of Samoens, in the beautiful Giffre Valley and part of the Grand Massif ski area. It is owned and operated by Caroline Morgan, an experienced chalet operator and a qualified chef. You can be certain of high standards of hospitality and a warm welcome to help you to enjoy a fantastic holiday - summer or winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing