We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful chalet, great food, wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Ferme du Ciel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferme du Ciel
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful chalet, great food, wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Ferme du Ciel a few years ago when I tried skiing with a friend for the first time. After the first night we had the place to ourselves as it was the end of the season. We were treated wonderfully by the owners and the chalet staff who served dinner. The food served over the week was delicious and interestingly varied. The chalet is undeniably beautiful and well looked after with bedrooms that are chic and comfortable. I've been fortunate to stay in quite a few 5 star hotels and this holds its own against them with no problem. The facilities include a sauna and hot tub which we enjoyed. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Ferme du Ciel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others or to go back and visit again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    3
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We first stayed at Ferme du Ciel in January 2012, for a long ski weekend in the Grand Massif. We were seriously impressed by the beautiful building, both inside and out, the facilities, food, staff and owners Su and Andy. So we made a return trip in March 2012, along with another couple who are good friends. They were equally impressed.

The high ratings and great reviews here say enough about the experience you can expect to make it unnessary for me to bang on further. Suffice to say we are going again this March, this time as a group of 10 - the 4 of us who visited last year and a further 3 couples who want to know what all the excitement is about.

If you are reading this and have been distracted by the odd poor review, just remember some people are not happy unless they can find something to complain about. Then forget about them and move on.

As an overall package, this place represents a superb balance of comfort, convenience and value for money. And don't be put off by the fact it's a little distance out of Samoens centre. When you can put your boots on in the chalet entrance and be bussed to the Grand Massif Express turnstiles within 5 mins, it really makes no difference.

Andy and Su deserve every success for creating this superb holiday base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just returned from a 3-night short stay at Ferme du Ciel. The skiing at Samoens was perfect with wide powdery slopes and pretty tree-lined descents. This was perfectly complimented by evenings spent in the most luxurious chalet I have ever stayed in. The spacious, luxurious yet homely living areas made for a warm and inviting ambience. The Jacuzzi and sauna were particularly welcoming for sore muscles. Dinner was served every night at 8, which involved 3-courses of fresh and healthy fare washed down with plenty of wine. But the best thing about the chalet has to be its hosts Su and Andy. At every step they go out of their way to make sure you get the most out of your holiday with their relentless hospitality and good cheer. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandseaandsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a truly fabulous week at Ferme du Ciel and can't wait to return.

Andy, Su and the chalet girls looked after us all with real warmth. The quality of food and wine is excellent and evenings had just the right balance - plenty of opportunity to get to know others if desired, but equally easy to chill out in a quiet corner.

The luxury element is incredibly welcome after a day on the slopes - so much so that we were happy to shorten our skiing hours in order to fit in more time for the sauna, hot tub and numerous comfy spots to unwind with books, magazines and movies! A special mention for he beds too which provided a week of blissful sleep. We also loved the little touches such as candles around the bath and slippers and robes for lounging around in.

Really pleased we found this gem!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I'm not normally one for writing review but thought Ferme Du Ciel thoroughly deserves it. We've stayed in many chalets over the years and none come close to this. There was lots of space to relax, several sociable areas to sit down and share stories, a sauna and hot tub to nurse the aching muscles and THE most comfortable beds I've ever slept in..

Su, Andy and the team were excellent and catered for our every need from taking us to and from the slopes (when we wanted), arranging taxis into town, had great local knowledge of what's on and where, and arranged for a wine tasting evening on the slopes with 'Sebastian' from ESF and 'Patrick' from the Mountain Patrol which gave us the chance to ask all the questions about the slopes, piste bashers, avalanches (..and how to avoid them), who are the best skiers etc we've been asking ourselves on the chair lifts over the years! :)

I honestly can't fault this place, and the team that work there. We had an amazing holiday and will definately be recommending it to friends and family...and anyone else that will listen!

For those interested in the ski area, there is plenty to do, it's all well sign posted getting from one resort to another and has great views on a clear day.

Look forward to going back again soon

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the chalet that overlooks the valley - very nice views on a clear day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hj040216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had an amazing week at the Ferme Du Ciel. It really is pure luxury. Beautiful bedrooms, stunning views, exquisite food and hospitality - Su and Andy and the team were the most wonderful hosts and really went out of their way to ensure our utmost enjoyment. Already saving our pennies to hopefully return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinaGersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had our honeymoon here in Jan 2013 and had an amazing time. The photos do not do the chalet justice as it is so beautiful and is much bigger than I thought. All the roome are a great size and lovely decor. The attention to detail is great and there is a real fire every night which was so nice to come back to. Su and Andy were great, taking us up and down to the slopes each day, it really took away any stress. The girsl in charge of the kitchen did a great job and we enjoyed a lovelt meal and cooked breakfast every day. The sauna and jacuzzi were part of our routine after a day on the slopes and they were delightful. I woulld not hesitate to recomend this to anyone for a holiday but it is also just perfect for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samoens hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
1.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
106 reviews
1.9 mi away
AEC Vacances - Les Becchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferme du Ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme du Ciel

Property: Ferme du Ciel
Address: 773 route de Mathonex, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferme du Ciel is a stylishly converted farmhouse perched above delightfully undiscovered Samoens. We pride ourselves on offering luxury facilities in a friendly environment. We are 1 hour from Geneva and provide catered accommodation in the winter and self catered in the summer. We offer - Designer interiors - 6 large bedrooms with luxury ensuite bathrooms - 300m open plan living space with open fire - Jacuzzi and sauna - BBQs, terraces and gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Ferme du Ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing