We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning chalet and perfect hosting”
Review of Ferme du Ciel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferme du Ciel
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning chalet and perfect hosting”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have just returned from a few days stay at this stunning chalet and cannot recommend it highy enough. Everything that previous reviewers have stated is true. We found everything was to a high standard, accom, food, hosting, ambience I could go on forever!
It is set in a peaceful setting with fabulous views and you really feel that you have stayed in the French countryside rather than just a ski resort.
Well done Su and Andy with thanks to Danielle and Jeremy for great dining

Room Tip: I had a tour of all the bedrooms bar one, which was occupied, and all were beautiful and very simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne_malley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    3
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just arrived back (2 days ago) from a truly wonderful 7 day stay at the Ferme de Ciel. The chalet itself is absolutely stunning with lovely spacious rooms which are all beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you could possibly want.

The living area is divided into two sections with a lovely sofa area in front of the fabulous fireplace with glorious views down the valley towards Samoens where the grown ups can relax and then tucked away around the other side of the room is a separate area with large flat screen tv, x-box and DvD player where the kids can unwind. This worked really well for us in the evenings however the only slight draw back (although this is only very slight!) is that as the two areas are both part of the whole open plan living space you can still hear the kids even if you can't quite see them! Having said that, there are also tv's and DVD players in all the bedrooms so it is possible to get the kids watching a movie in one of the upstairs bedrooms if they decide they want to watch a particularly noisy action film!

The outdoor hot tub and deck area was fantastic and champagne in the hot tub became a nightly ritual for us! The sauna was also great just to complete the whole relaxation process!

In terms of service, Andy and Su were fantastic in helping us with arrangements for the trip, advising us as to ski schools to use and then in ensuring a very smooth transfer from/ to the airport and arranging ski hire and lift passes, etc. They are also ski guides and we really enjoyed skiing with them on our last morning when we had no ski school to attend. They also did a great job of ferrying our group backwards and forwards to the slopes each day and making sure we got to where we needed to be in time and with all our gear!

Last but absolutely not least, the food was totally amazing! We have a particular passion for food so it was really vital to the enjoyment of our holiday that we dined well and Jeremy and Danielle certainly ensured this was the case! Breakfasts were vast, perfectly cooked and with a large choice so everybody was happy. Danielle's homemade cakes at afternoon tea-time were divine and she did an amazing job considering two of our group are gluten intolerant and one had a peanut allergy! And the canapes and three-course evening meals that Jeremy cooked up (with Danielle in charge of deserts!) were stunning. The children had their dinner prior to us and these again were not your standard or basic kids dinners at all but freshly prepared, healthy and most of all delicious and highly rated by all the kids!

The whole team made us all feel very welcome and at home and also were fantastic with the children.

We can highly recommend Ferme du Ciel and certainly would return ourselves in the future. The only area where I felt unable to give a score of 5 was for value and this was because we went during February half term (which is the most expensive week to go) plus we were a very small group (only 8) whereas the chalet can sleep up to 18! Therefore if you had more people going who could share the cost and you didn't go at the most expensive time of year it would be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This chalet is beautifully renovated and located in a very pretty village.
If you are ready to share the chalet experience, you can do this comfortably.
The food and house keeping were of very high standard, thanks to JB and Danielle.
Big kiss to Lulu, the "poussycat".
The kids had a great time.
Thank you very much Sue and Andy for this nice long weekend.
The G family

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmarc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have just returned from a short break at Ferme du Ciel. This was our second visit and again it did not disappoint. This really is a beautiful chalet renovated to a very high standard. Good food, good company and plenty of skiing ensured a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and 4 year old daughter spent new year with Andy and sue at their magnificent chalet. From the moment we were picked up our holiday was made to feel very special. The chalet is very very impressive, converted to the highest standards from a derelict building. No expense has been spared on the little extras that make a good holiday into a special holiday. If you are looking for a perfect winter retreat in warm friendly surroundings look no furher. After 25 years of skiing I have found the perfect ski chalet which compliments the skiing in samoens so well.

I applaud Andy and sue for there hard efforts which pay dividends for everybody who has he opportunity to stay.

A final point I want to make on the chalet and their excellent standards of service. One day I made the biggest mistake by leaving my daughters ski boots and helmet at home. One call to the chalet and the equipment was delivered to the bottom of the telecabin - I didn't even need to get off!!! That just epitomises the level of service provided

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinness-russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Ferme du Ciel lived up to everything we expected it to be.
The hosts were very flexible in terms of transport to and from the ski areas and supplying us with local info to make our time there very enjoyable and relaxing. It also helped they had a kiwi for a cook so the catered food was of the very best standard. The other guests that were in the house made for a great time and have made this stay one for the memory bank. We will not be hesitating to recommend this place to anyone that asks,
Thanks guys for the wicked time, sweet.
Jake and Gem.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakemaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We recently stayed a weekend at Ferme du Ciel mid-November 2011. Coming in the low season may allow you to benefit from a lower price but your offering and services provided are also reduced accordingly.

There is a long hallway leading from the entrance to a beautiful stairway into the Lounge. A separate rented apartment as well as the owners' apartment are accessed off of this hallway. Even if you do rent all the guest rooms you still may not feel like you 'have the place to yourselves' as the stairway is very open. There are 6 guest rooms in the chalet: 5 upstairs and 1 on the main floor with the Lounge. One of the rooms has a mezzanine with steep stairs accessing 2 single beds in a tight area probably not appropriate for young children. I would only recommend renting the chalet as an intimate group as the rooms are not as insulated from light and sound as one would expect if you were to rent an individual room in a hotel.

We actually did rent all the guest rooms for our group on a half-board basis, alcohol being extra. We were extremely let down at the first evening meal. The table wasn't dressed, no napkins and yes, even in France, no bread... After being served a lovely entree, we awaited anxiously for our main course (and the bread) to discover that that WAS the main course, there would be no bread, and our apple pie was coming. After expressing our discontent, we did enjoy our next evening meal. A soup course was added as well as cheese at the end...and bread! But then we were actually told that our price did not merit this treatment.

Gripes:
-There is a 'guest' parking area where guests enter the chalet but we were unable to park our 3 cars without blocking in one of them.
-The chalet hadn't been cleaned for weeks. There were dead flies everywhere and a considerable blanket of dust under the furniture.
-We were told not to flip through the songs on the central stereo system. Again, we rented all the rooms.
-If you are a light sleeper, avoid the upstairs room with the boiler vent. The person staying in this room did not sleep well because it would go on/off all night.
-We had Ferme du Ciel book a 5-6 massages and facials for us. Upon arrival we indicated that we had one massage booked too many and were met with harsh words regarding the possibility of canceling as they had gone out of their way to book them for us. Luckily the masseuse was very nice and had no problem doing one less massage during the weekend.
-The jacuzzi was emptied early in the morning on our last day without our knowledge, such a disappointment when we were all looking forward to having a last splash!
-We learned at the end that they would not accept our credit cards (we were told that our email invoice did say 'cash'). When we pressed more to use our cards, we were then told that the machine was broken (sure). Several people had to drive 10 minutes to the village cash machine and come back.


Pluses:
-The chalet is beautiful. The couches are inviting, a couple UK gossip magazines to leaf through, tea & coffee to help yourself to.
-Lovely breakfasts - although not enough eggs used for the scrambled eggs, we each only had a little spoonful.
-Delicious afternoon cakes for tea-time.


Clients expect to be appreciated for the business they bring. We'll be looking for another chalet to spend our money low OR high season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IheartVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLyell, Owner at Ferme du Ciel, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Wow! Where to start? I guess our immediate reaction is horror and sadness. We can defend all the points of course, but we think the most important thing for readers is to consider the weight of all the other highly positive reviews, and come to a view on the overall impression you receive.

What we can say is that the person who wrote the review came on a yoga break out of season, on a package that was clearly described. We gave them complimentary wine, and allowed them to stay well beyond the times they had booked and paid for, in the intention of building goodwill!! Regards payment; we normally take it 10 weeks in advance, but as they kept changing their arrangements up to the last minute, we asked them to pay cash when they arrived. Regards the food; we had been asked after an earlier yoga weekend to provide lighter meals for yoga groups, and therefore this is what we did. However, we found there were some Americans in this group who were used to large portions, so hence we provided extra courses on the second night. I could go on, but it’s probably not helpful……We'll just add one final comment, which is that as the group were leaving the organiser said they would like to come back again in a few months!

Frustratingly although we go out of our way to do everything we can to give people a fabulous holiday, you can’t please everyone all the time.

We are happy to chat through this comment or any other with any reader, or put them in touch with current guests to understand their experience of Ferme du Ciel and the hospitality we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samoens hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Boule de Neige
1.4 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Residence les Fermes de Samoens
1.9 mi away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferme du Ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme du Ciel

Property: Ferme du Ciel
Address: 773 route de Mathonex, 74340 Samoens, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Samoens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferme du Ciel is a stylishly converted farmhouse perched above delightfully undiscovered Samoens. We pride ourselves on offering luxury facilities in a friendly environment. We are 1 hour from Geneva and provide catered accommodation in the winter and self catered in the summer. We offer - Designer interiors - 6 large bedrooms with luxury ensuite bathrooms - 300m open plan living space with open fire - Jacuzzi and sauna - BBQs, terraces and gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ferme du Ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing