We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chamois d'Or made our trip (from the sand to the snow)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The first congratulatory point about this hotel was their efficiency in dealing with our booking. We contacted the hotel directly, with our requirements, and they responded quickly and proficiently in order to facilitate our request for a room with a balcony.

Upon arrival we were welcomed with flair and friendliness from the front of house staff - nothing was too much trouble. We felt immediately relaxed and put at ease, which continued throughout our trip.

Living in the Middle East we are used to 5* service, but nothing compared to the personalised and friendly welcome we received upon meeting any member of the Chamois d'Or team during the course of our stay.

As mentioned by other guests, the food is just phenomenal!! Each dish lovingly prepared with thought and executed to Michelin standard. The wine list was extensive, and it was easy to pair each dish with a selection of offerings by the glass or bottle.

The bar was a friendly, lively spot, where afternoon tea was served post-ski, if you weren't quite ready for the apres ski, and with a good selection of cocktails, beers and wines on offer. The staff could make knowledgable recommendations and would remember your favourite selections during the course of your stay. Members of staff, and owners, of this boutique hotel could be found in the bar after their shifts which allowed you to mingle in a less formal setting, and made each guest feel like part of the Chamois d'Or family.

It really is the staff that make this venue so wonderful and memorable - Well done guys!!!

We were meeting up with another couple here & we all agreed that we had the best holiday ever, and we would be returning next year to this wonderful Alpine haven - Can't wait!

Many thanks to you all

Jane & Graham

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We're delighted with your lovely review of our hotel, it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on the friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency of our reservation process, it's great that we were able to fulfil all of your requirements. Please do come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 196 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Upgraded on arrival to the most beautiful penthouse apartment, which was just the start!
Every part of the hotel is a design haven of Alpine Chic without being OTT, from the fur clad doors to the beautiful toiletries,
The food is out of this world Michelin quality with the bar bringing cosmopolitan style, which neither can be found anywhere else in Les Gets.
But what really made the holiday was the staff, they go out of their way to please and are all so friendly. We got engaged whilst we were there and they made it even more memorable, bringing us breakfast in bed to decorating our table at dinner!
We travel a lot and this really is one the best boutique hotels we've been to and never been able to find anywhere else in the Alps and is just the best value for money, I really don't know how they do it!
We cannot wait to return and are already planning when that is!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandrareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

First of all, huge congratulations from myself and the entire team - it was an absolute pleasure to look after you both during your engagement holiday and if it hasn't already occurred to you... we do weddings too!

We're delighted to read that you rate the hotel so highly, especially being such busy travellers and we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you're going to make your weekend or week away special without too much fuss or huge extravagance then this is the place to be in Les Gets!
We loved it from start to finish. The rooms are perfect and amply equipped. The staff can't do enough to make you welcome . The food is unreservedly fabulous ! Portions are perfect and care is taken to make each dish balanced and flavourful ! We will be back without doubt!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevesimmance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review of our hotel, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the Hotel Chamois d'Or started the winter season as a 'hidden gem' but judging from the feedback we've had on TripAdvisor, we're unlikely to stay that way! Just so you know, we can also do 'huge extravagance' too, but only when we spot an opportunity (the lovely couple who got engaged last week had a very extravagant champagne breakfast in bed fir example!).

We're looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

What can I say about Le Chamois d'Or Hotel & Spa? Firstly, there's no spa: it's apparently coming, but whilst the discovery of its absence caused my travelling partner and I much angst prior to our holiday, in reality we hardly noticed it because there were so many other ways to keep ourselves entertained. Ok, our room was a little on the pokey side, but had a nice double aspect balcony with views of the village and mountains and a great modern bathroom (the hotel has been recently entirely refurbed and it shows) with a super powerful shower (just what you need after a day on the slopes). But the rooms are not why you visit Le chamois d'Or, and after all, on a ski holiday, very little time is spent in the room. No, it's the hotel itself that is the gem, and by that I don't mean the fancy animal skin themed decor or the subtly lit funky bar, it's the friendly, sometimes almost familial atmosphere which makes the hotel appealing to return to every day. The management team and staff could easily star in their own reality TV show documenting the trials and tribulations of life 'on the piste' (in more ways than one) and the welcome we received from this eclectic bunch of soon-to-be celebs was unparalleled in its friendliness and openness. And then we get to the food.... At this point, I wonder if I should stop, for fear of revealing the truth which will cause the chamois d'Or to treble their half board prices, but oh well... It is in a word, breathtaking. No, they don't mention on their website or through the agents they use to sell their rooms that their chef trained in a Michellin starred kitchen, or that he has maintained that impeccable attention to detail in his cleverly constructed and beautifully executed menu every evening. From delicate fruit gels, spiced savory jams, exquisite veloutés and mouthwatering meats, to ice cream to die for, an inspired construction of a 'shepherds pie fritter' as an amuse bouche, or delicious afternoon tea cakes. The chef has it made. Hey: he even makes superb poached eggs. Faultless aside from its occasional ingredient repetition, the food is every bit as significant in a skiing experience at the chamois d'Or as the quality of the snow.

So go, go now to meet the crazy team before they're all z list reality tv stars in the UK, and before the owners hoik up the prices to reflect the incredible food. Who knows, the spa might even be open.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us so extensively. We're really looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for our New Year celebrations next winter. Maybe we'll be able to tempt you back for a summer break too?

Indeed, there are currently no wet spa facilities at the hotel, although we do have massage and beauty therapists on-call for our guests. We do make a point of communicating this to all of our guests in advance of their arrival, fingers crossed the complete spa set-up will be ready when you next visit us.

We're delighted that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay in one of our Classic bedrooms. Future travellers should note that larger Prestige bedrooms are also available for a small supplement.

The stand-out experience of your stay was clearly the friendliness of our team, who've been trained to be that correct blend of friendly, helpful and fun, while at the same time as skilled, professional and useful. Despite the hilarity that might ensue from a fly-on-the-wall Channel 4 documentary, I can pretty much guarantee that you won't see any of us on the telly any time soon.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stopped here with my wife for a long weekend ski break in February.

As most other reviewers have already stated the staff and food and decor are all fantastic; even to the extent that the night that their own restaurant was closed we got driven to the French restaurant that reception had booked for us as we were running late.

Nice location in a pretty village our only criticism was that our classic room although beautifully decorated was a bit on the small size( no room for a second bedside table on one side of the bed)

Would definitely stay again but would try to avoid room 10. On the plus side we were given a tour of the 3 bedded apartment at the top of the building which looks fantastic; We will be asking Emma or Pete for rates for this next season.

Room Tip: Room upgrade may well be worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

February certainly feels like a lifetime ago now! We have endless sunny days to look forward to here in Les Gets. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as these reviews go to show, our standards of guest care, food and facilities have remained consistent throughout the season.

At 15msq our Classic Rooms are probably slightly larger than you'll find in many of Les Get's other fine hotels, but we appreciate that out guests have different requirements when it comes to the size of their bedroom. Our larger Prestige bedrooms are more roomy, and as one previous reviewer has commented, it very much depends on the amount of time you anticipate spending in your bedroom. We're delighted that you also had the opportunity to view our Penthouse Apartment - it's been fully booked throughout the season!

Please do get in touch with the hotel as we've now published our summer and winter '15 rates and we'd be very happy to welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Perfect….just perfect!

I can't remember why we chose the Chamois d'Or in Les Gets but I am so glad we did! It is like Mary Poppins "Practically perfect in every way!"

What makes the Chamois d'Or stand out from the other hotels we have stayed at is the exceptional team of people they have assembled to look after and cater for your every need. From reception to the restaurant and bar, kitchen to housekeeping the team all work so well together to make this one of the most exceptional holidays we have experienced. Normally there is a weak link in a team…..but we failed to notice it!

The rooms are great…we chose a 'classic' …. just because we didn't intend to spend too long in there! It was perfectly cleaned and presented, small …. but ideal for what we wanted, the bed was supremely comfortable. The restaurant has a fantastic atmosphere when busy…not too quiet and not too noisy…but the food is definitely fine dining! The chef is very creative …. classic dishes with a modern twist. The bar is the perfect place for some apres ski and/or a pre/post dinner drink….and you know what? … you can actually chat and hold a conversation with fellow skiers, guests, your partner and the bar staff.

The welcome at reception was perfect …. a welcoming and inviting smile with personal attention to detail make you feel instantly at home, introducing you to everything the hotel and the area has to offer, if you need more info just ask!

Couple of minor gripes are the lack of a roomy ski locker area (its currently a very small cupboard to the right of reception) … and … the website says its a 'Spa'…currently its not! But neither these items detract from the quality of the Chamois d'Or and the fantastic team!

We loved our stay and recommend the Chamois d'Or to travellers who want a first-class relaxing stay in Les Gets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarshWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your very lovely review, we're delighted that we've inspired a Mary Poppins moment! Feedback that praises our team and their attention to detail is music to our ears as everyone has been trained to an exceptionally high standard. It's great to hear that everyone worked hard to make sure your stay was supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (sorry, I couldn't help myself!).

As for your gripes, please be assured that they are ours too! Our on-site spa didn't open on time as planned due to rather huge unforeseen building problems but everything is being done to open the spa as quickly as possible. The new facilities will also include a larger boot storage area. We really hope we can welcome you back again to see both areas in all their glory.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed staying at the hotel, it's quite a good spec (refurbished 2 years ago), comfy(firm) bed, nespresso in room, good shower, lovely restaurant with fantastic food (set menu, limited choices but all good - not too far short of Michelin star quality IMO), staff all friendly( mostly British seasonaires). Not too far from the ski lifts, maybe 5 mins at a decent pace. Would stay again (-:

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staycationer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Chamois d'Or. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa

Address: 826 rue du Centre, 74260 Les Gets, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Les Gets
#2 Family Hotel in Les Gets
#3 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range: $136 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamois d’Or Hotel is an extensively refurbished luxury boutique hotel ideally situated in the heart of Les Gets in the French Alps, only a short distance from the slopes. You will find elegant contemporary interiors, excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere, making it the ideal destination for a perfect ski holiday in Les Gets, ensuring you feel at home whether by yourself, on a family ski holiday, with friends or on a short romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamois Hotel Les Gets
Chamois Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing