We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem of gastronomic greatness in a picture perfect chalet hotel in charming Les Gets. Prepare to be entertained.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of gastronomic greatness in a picture perfect chalet hotel in charming Les Gets. Prepare to be entertained.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

What can I say about Le Chamois d'Or Hotel & Spa? Firstly, there's no spa: it's apparently coming, but whilst the discovery of its absence caused my travelling partner and I much angst prior to our holiday, in reality we hardly noticed it because there were so many other ways to keep ourselves entertained. Ok, our room was a little on the pokey side, but had a nice double aspect balcony with views of the village and mountains and a great modern bathroom (the hotel has been recently entirely refurbed and it shows) with a super powerful shower (just what you need after a day on the slopes). But the rooms are not why you visit Le chamois d'Or, and after all, on a ski holiday, very little time is spent in the room. No, it's the hotel itself that is the gem, and by that I don't mean the fancy animal skin themed decor or the subtly lit funky bar, it's the friendly, sometimes almost familial atmosphere which makes the hotel appealing to return to every day. The management team and staff could easily star in their own reality TV show documenting the trials and tribulations of life 'on the piste' (in more ways than one) and the welcome we received from this eclectic bunch of soon-to-be celebs was unparalleled in its friendliness and openness. And then we get to the food.... At this point, I wonder if I should stop, for fear of revealing the truth which will cause the chamois d'Or to treble their half board prices, but oh well... It is in a word, breathtaking. No, they don't mention on their website or through the agents they use to sell their rooms that their chef trained in a Michellin starred kitchen, or that he has maintained that impeccable attention to detail in his cleverly constructed and beautifully executed menu every evening. From delicate fruit gels, spiced savory jams, exquisite veloutés and mouthwatering meats, to ice cream to die for, an inspired construction of a 'shepherds pie fritter' as an amuse bouche, or delicious afternoon tea cakes. The chef has it made. Hey: he even makes superb poached eggs. Faultless aside from its occasional ingredient repetition, the food is every bit as significant in a skiing experience at the chamois d'Or as the quality of the snow.

So go, go now to meet the crazy team before they're all z list reality tv stars in the UK, and before the owners hoik up the prices to reflect the incredible food. Who knows, the spa might even be open.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us so extensively. We're really looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for our New Year celebrations next winter. Maybe we'll be able to tempt you back for a summer break too?

Indeed, there are currently no wet spa facilities at the hotel, although we do have massage and beauty therapists on-call for our guests. We do make a point of communicating this to all of our guests in advance of their arrival, fingers crossed the complete spa set-up will be ready when you next visit us.

We're delighted that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay in one of our Classic bedrooms. Future travellers should note that larger Prestige bedrooms are also available for a small supplement.

The stand-out experience of your stay was clearly the friendliness of our team, who've been trained to be that correct blend of friendly, helpful and fun, while at the same time as skilled, professional and useful. Despite the hilarity that might ensue from a fly-on-the-wall Channel 4 documentary, I can pretty much guarantee that you won't see any of us on the telly any time soon.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
61
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stopped here with my wife for a long weekend ski break in February.

As most other reviewers have already stated the staff and food and decor are all fantastic; even to the extent that the night that their own restaurant was closed we got driven to the French restaurant that reception had booked for us as we were running late.

Nice location in a pretty village our only criticism was that our classic room although beautifully decorated was a bit on the small size( no room for a second bedside table on one side of the bed)

Would definitely stay again but would try to avoid room 10. On the plus side we were given a tour of the 3 bedded apartment at the top of the building which looks fantastic; We will be asking Emma or Pete for rates for this next season.

Room Tip: Room upgrade may well be worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
February certainly feels like a lifetime ago now! We have endless sunny days to look forward to here in Les Gets. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as these reviews go to show, our standards of guest care, food and facilities have remained consistent throughout the season.

At 15msq our Classic Rooms are probably slightly larger than you'll find in many of Les Get's other fine hotels, but we appreciate that out guests have different requirements when it comes to the size of their bedroom. Our larger Prestige bedrooms are more roomy, and as one previous reviewer has commented, it very much depends on the amount of time you anticipate spending in your bedroom. We're delighted that you also had the opportunity to view our Penthouse Apartment - it's been fully booked throughout the season!

Please do get in touch with the hotel as we've now published our summer and winter '15 rates and we'd be very happy to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Perfect….just perfect!

I can't remember why we chose the Chamois d'Or in Les Gets but I am so glad we did! It is like Mary Poppins "Practically perfect in every way!"

What makes the Chamois d'Or stand out from the other hotels we have stayed at is the exceptional team of people they have assembled to look after and cater for your every need. From reception to the restaurant and bar, kitchen to housekeeping the team all work so well together to make this one of the most exceptional holidays we have experienced. Normally there is a weak link in a team…..but we failed to notice it!

The rooms are great…we chose a 'classic' …. just because we didn't intend to spend too long in there! It was perfectly cleaned and presented, small …. but ideal for what we wanted, the bed was supremely comfortable. The restaurant has a fantastic atmosphere when busy…not too quiet and not too noisy…but the food is definitely fine dining! The chef is very creative …. classic dishes with a modern twist. The bar is the perfect place for some apres ski and/or a pre/post dinner drink….and you know what? … you can actually chat and hold a conversation with fellow skiers, guests, your partner and the bar staff.

The welcome at reception was perfect …. a welcoming and inviting smile with personal attention to detail make you feel instantly at home, introducing you to everything the hotel and the area has to offer, if you need more info just ask!

Couple of minor gripes are the lack of a roomy ski locker area (its currently a very small cupboard to the right of reception) … and … the website says its a 'Spa'…currently its not! But neither these items detract from the quality of the Chamois d'Or and the fantastic team!

We loved our stay and recommend the Chamois d'Or to travellers who want a first-class relaxing stay in Les Gets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your very lovely review, we're delighted that we've inspired a Mary Poppins moment! Feedback that praises our team and their attention to detail is music to our ears as everyone has been trained to an exceptionally high standard. It's great to hear that everyone worked hard to make sure your stay was supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (sorry, I couldn't help myself!).

As for your gripes, please be assured that they are ours too! Our on-site spa didn't open on time as planned due to rather huge unforeseen building problems but everything is being done to open the spa as quickly as possible. The new facilities will also include a larger boot storage area. We really hope we can welcome you back again to see both areas in all their glory.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed staying at the hotel, it's quite a good spec (refurbished 2 years ago), comfy(firm) bed, nespresso in room, good shower, lovely restaurant with fantastic food (set menu, limited choices but all good - not too far short of Michelin star quality IMO), staff all friendly( mostly British seasonaires). Not too far from the ski lifts, maybe 5 mins at a decent pace. Would stay again (-:

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staycationer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Chamois d'Or. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We (couple and teenaged daughter) enjoyed a fabulous one week long ski holiday based in Chamois d'Or in February 2014. The hotel surpassed all our expectations with its high quality friendly service and amazing dining experience. We would have no hesitation in recommending it during the ski season and it would undoubtedly make a great place to stay at any time of the year - there is lots to do around Les Gets even when the snow disappears.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
That's a really lovely review, thanks so much for your feedback! it was a real pleasure to look after you and your family during your stay with us and we're delighted to hear that you'll recommend the hotel. Les Gets does indeed have some excellent summer facilities and activities on offer, it's our favorite time of year! We'd love to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Thankyou to all the fabulous staff for making it a most enjoyable stay. Delicious food, great wine, fabulous cocktails, perfect location, very good shower...a great hotel & yes I can't wait for the spa facilities & ill be back 100%.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelsCabaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay with us and also for the delightful pictures you took of your meals! Hopefully they'll give other travellers a really good idea of our high standards. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I and another couple spent 3 fantastic nights at this great hotel. Extremely hospitable and welcoming staff, great location, delicious food and far too much sambucca in the bar! From the moment we walked through the door to the second we left we were treated unbelievably well. I would recommend this place now and when the spa is completed it will be a gold mine. One to put on anyone's list for a great holiday. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amie P, Guest Relations Manager at Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review Jonathan, needless to say we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. All members of our team have been trained in very high standards, but at the same time they've got the kind of personalities and characters that want to engage and look after people. They'll even take responsibility for your Sambucca consumption if you ask nicely! We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
Chalet-Hotel Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa

Property: Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Address: 826 rue du Centre, 74260 Les Gets, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Les Gets
#2 Family Hotel in Les Gets
#3 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamois d’Or Hotel is an extensively refurbished luxury boutique hotel ideally situated in the heart of Les Gets in the French Alps, only a short distance from the slopes. You will find elegant contemporary interiors, excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere, making it the ideal destination for a perfect ski holiday in Les Gets, ensuring you feel at home whether by yourself, on a family ski holiday, with friends or on a short romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamois Hotel Les Gets
Chamois Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing