We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, fantastic hosts”
Review of Chalet la Rocade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet la Rocade
Certificate of Excellence
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, fantastic hosts”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our family of five plus a crazy brother stayed for a week in March. Shaz and Chris were fantastic hosts and were really helpful at all times. They worked incredibly hard to ensure that we had everything we needed and they were never phased by the noisy children and loud parents. The food was SO good. A definite level above any chalet food that we have experienced. The location was ideal for us early risers as the Perrieres lift has no queues and gives easy access into the rest of the resort. Jana was a great help in the lead up to the holiday arranging transfers, ski hire and everything else. Raff's culinary skills were seriously appreciated. We are already checking diaries for next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owenlille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had a wonderful week at Chalet La Rocade. Were looked after much too well by Chris & Shaz, Jana and Raph. Gorgeous ( and copious) food and cake, a well stocked fridge, lift passes on arrival (so no queuing), ski kit delivered to the door not to mention the easy transfers to and from Geneva all contributed to making our holiday enjoyable and memorable. The hot tub was also welcome after a hard day on the slopes. The snow was great and there is a very quiet ski lift only a few minutes from the Chalet which made getting to the slopes very easy. Hopefully we will be back for some of that Pear & Almond Tart - as well as to ski.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Staying in Chalet La Rocade with Mountain & Tradition made for a great snow boarding holiday 2014. Jana, Raph and the team have a very well run business which started for us with our transfer from Geneva airport. Our lift passes were ready for us and the ski/board hire is done in-chalet on the first day which saved us lots of queuing vs pervious stays in les gets!
The Chalet is only a very short walk from an express chair lift which is nice and quiet - we were the first on some of the runs after some good snow fell. The town centre is only a short walk away which was perfect for stretching the legs after a full day.
Every day we were welcomed back to the chalet with fresh cake followed by a soak in the hot tub. The food was exceptional, from a hearty breakfast fixed by our chalet host Chris to a superb 3 course meal. Chris did a wonderful job with our meals - his recipes are very original and cooked to perfection (especially the exotic cake!).
My only complaint is that I had to go home at the end of the week. 10/10 and we'll be back next season!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxcomish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Wonderful stay in Les Gets, Raph, Jana Chris & Shaz looked after us so well.
Chalet perfect for the 3 of us, Chris & Shaz cooked us some amazing food and the snow was good.
Bob, Anne & Sue 18th Jan 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Anne1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Simply cannot speak highly enough of Jana, Raph and their amazing team (shout outs to Shaz and Chris, and the fabulous Dave). Our stay was just plain wonderful and I wish I could take a snapshot of our memories and post those, rather than trying to put it into words.
It started with being met at Geneva airport (which is a crazy house and filled with a million sets of stairs which is maddening when travelling with children), provided with all the assistance once could wish for when travelling with small children and a bucketload of luggage, and bundled into the car which was happily parked very close and handily equipped with plenty of room. Our driver, Dave (who doubles as a super chef) was lovely and happy to play tour guide. A beautiful drive (once away from the airport surrounds) and an easy one up to Les Gets.
The chalet was absolutely beautiful. I’m not sure what I was expecting but it was truly lovely. Impeccably clean, simply but elegantly furnished with everything we could possibly need, including plenty of storage. Plenty of room in the living room for us to spread out. Kids' bedroom far enough away to allow them some quiet to sleep. Comfortable bed - tick. Excellent shower (I'm sorry, but it's a deal breaker) - tick. The food was astonishingly good and the well stocked bar fridge was an absolute favourite. The bus stop into the village was right outside the front door and there was a mini supermarket about 100 metres up the road. It was about 10 minutes into the village by bus but this never felt like a hardship because the buses run regularly and they’re free.
The village is absolutely gorgeous. Small enough to feel cosy but big enough to keep your interest. Plenty of lovely little stores selling locally made wares and groaning with cheese and chocolate and salami and all that other French goodness. Some great restaurants which we didn’t really get to try because we were spoiled for food in the chalet. The skiing was great, everything is really accessible with lots of variety. Our hosts organised all the ski hire for us, as well as lift tickets which sounds like a small thing but it's truly those small things that make a major difference. We were driven into the village on our first day and helped to get sorted and settled - again a gesture truly appreciated that made a huge difference to the day. Ski school was wonderful and the standard of the child care facilities and carers was excellent.
A little bit of French is helpful and appreciated by the locals, but not mandatory. The village really is aimed towards families so there was none of the drunken loutish behaviour one generally associates with the skiing crowd (or more particularly the après-ski crowd). It was simply wonderful and I am incredibly cross that we live so far away because I would visit every weekend.
Highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#16 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet la Rocade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet la Rocade

Property: Chalet la Rocade
Address: 130 route des Perrieres, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet La Rocade is a wonderfully flexible chalet offering catered chalet accommodation for those needing 2 bedrooms, 3 bedrooms or 5 bedrooms. It's in the Perrieres region of Les Gets, about 200m from the high speed 6 man Perrieres chairlift. It boasts a brand new hot tub, it's fully ensuite, balconies, free wifi and much more along with many other new improvements for the 2013/2014 ski season! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing