We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday”
Review of Chalet Virolet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Virolet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We came back from Les Gets 3 weeks ago and stayed in Chalet Virolet. We had absolutely fantastic time. Craig and Jen are the most wonderful hosts we ever meet. And Jen's cooking is second to none. Very pleased with our stay and will definitely go back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vic2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in Chalet Virolet last year with our family and two sets of grandparents and we are due to go back this month because we loved it so much! We were treated so well. It's a beautiful chalet, very luxurious and Jen and Craig were fantastic hosts who made us feel very welcome. They were particularly accommodating with our two kids- 5 months and 2 years.

The food was delicious & also Craig and Jen ate with us each night. I have not felt so relaxed after a holiday since having my kids - they thought of everything. Id recommend it to any family, particularly for parents looking for a true break!

Its a 10 minute walk to the slopes and town and the resort is perfect for families.

All in all a 5 star family break!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkiktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Virolet three times now and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The hosts Jen and Craig are excellent and are great fun. Particular mention must go to Jen, who is a wonderful cook, and the food (and wine) is always first class and there's loads of it (which is great for me as, putting it politely, I have a "healthy appetite".

The chalet itself is great, the rooms tidy, and it has great facilities.

The only downsides to it, it's possibly a little bit far from the lifts, though it's quite a nice bracing walk, and I'd prefer a bit more choice of cooked breakfast in the morning. But all in all it's great, I'd thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at Chalet Virolet in August 2011, with my family and two other families. We hired the chalet on a self catering basis but Jen and Craig laid on fantastic breakfasts every morning with a different special each day - the pancakes being my favourite! We also had them cook us an evening meal on a couple of the nights and this was a real treat. Jen and Craig are fantastic hosts, cooking a meal that the kids loved and then cooking for all the adults once we'd put the kids to bed. They made us feel extremely relaxed throughout our stay and weren't phased by having a bunch of toddlers in the chalet! The accommodation is truly luxurious, with the double room and adjoining bunk room being perfect for a family like ours with young children. The hot tub was a great way to relax after a busy day exploring the delights of Les Gets! The resort was beautiful in summer and we had fun swimming in the nearby Lakes and riding on the little train which takes you from the town to one of the Lakes. Jen and Craig were very knowledgeable about the local area and shared lots of ideas about places we should visit. We can't wait to return to Chalet Virolet in winter, as soon as our children are old enough to hang on to a button lift. Jen and Craig were the perfect hosts and we'll certainly be back for their warm welcome and mouth watering food.

Room Tip: The double room with adjoining bunk room is perfect for a family with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed with Craig and Jen twice now and both times have been treated like royalty! The first time we stayed was in the Summer 2012 and it was such a fantastic experience for us and our little boys. Les Gets is an amazing place to take the kids and Jen's cooking went down a treat with them! Talking about Jen's cooking - we were honestly looked after like we were dining in a Michelin star restaurant every night! We definitely needed to hit the gym afterwards! Les Gets in the summer is beautiful - try it!
Jen and Craig as hosts are perfect too and helped us arrange lots of memorable days.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are furnished to a very high standard and the Molton Brown products give it that ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigailhemmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Chalet Virolet three times and am booked for another week at the end of the year with my family. Craig and Jen are excellent hosts and work incredibly hard to ensure a great holiday for all their guests. This is a really beautifully appointed luxury chalet with everything you need for a relaxing holiday - hot tub, steam room,DVD's and games, high quality ensuite facilities ,as well as a very warm welcome when you get back from the slopes. As others have mentioned, Jen's food is both very high quality and plentiful, and Craig serves unlimited supplies of decent local wine, ensuring many an amusing evening by the stunning central fireplace.
The chalet itself is around a ten minute walk into the centre of the action in Les Gets - Most leave their skis and boots at the hire shop right by the main lifts, which means an easy walk back in the evening . Les Gets itself is a brilliant resort, with a really attractive village and a broad range of bars and restaurants - the sking is fantastic, with miles of pistes for all standards, including easy beginners slopes for those of a nervous disposition.
I have stayed at many different European ski resorts over the years, but now can't keep away from Les Gets, and Chalet Virolet in particular - Oh, and my daughters love Spice the dog too !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rg3831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stayed at Chalet Virolet three times now, twice with my family and once with friends. All stays have been wonderful and the experience is characterised by warm hospitality, luxurious settings and delicious home cooking. Nothing is too much trouble for Jen and Craig, who are the perfect hosts, who achieve the perfect balance between comfort and luxury, making you. The place is warm and welcoming in Winter, and cool and relaxing in Summer. Jen caters around the clock, serving breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner with a smile, while Craig keeps the vino flowing. The place is perfect for families, or for groups and features a steam room, beautiful individually styled bedrooms with TVs and ipod docks, gorgeous bathrooms and loads of stuff to do, including games consoles, kids tv area, as well as perhaps the best-stocked dvd collection in the northern hemisphere! The stunning log fire in the main sitting area is especially welcome when returning from the slopes after a hard day's ski-ing, and the home made cakes and tea top it off. I would definitely recommend coming in Summer as well as Winter. We had a fantastic week there in Summer 2011, and spent our days swimming in the local lake, as well as breathtaking lakes further afield, pony trekking, walking in the mountains and generally relaxing in the pretty village. Once you stay, you will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#16 of 18 in Les Gets
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Les Chalets d'Adelphine
Les Chalets d'Adelphine
#13 of 36 in Les Gets
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Virolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Virolet

Property: Chalet Virolet
Address: 1600 route des Grandes Alpes, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an owner run, luxury catered ski chalet in the picturesque family ski resort of Les Gets at the heart of the Portes Du Soleil. Our aim is for you to have the most comfortable and enjoyable ski holiday possible and the luxurious chalet (with hot tub and steam room)and plentiful home cooked food will no doubt help us to achieve this aim! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing