We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great team - but insincere owners!”
Review of Ferme De Montagne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferme De Montagne
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great team - but insincere owners!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our first time skiing anywhere, and wow we have been spoilt...

The very, very good!

- Every member of the team that you interact with. They really are super friendly, and although probably heard the same questions a million times - they still show interest! We chatted mostly to Beth because she was our guide, abut everyone was good fun!

- I am fussy eater, the menu pushes your boundaries and is fantastic. Also I don't eat fish so the substituted.

- Access to the ski resorts, super easy and if you want you can walk back or ski back (or guide will pick you up!)

- Other guests, met some lovely people - all encouraging us due to our lack of Skiing knowledge. The team + other couples make the place somewhere you want to come back to.

Good:

- Location, easy to get to and obviously transfers mean there really is no hassle for you.
- Rooms are good (not spectacular) and a bit noisy but after all it is a wooden chalet!

The not so good:

- The owners. If you are going to ask a question then at least listen to the answer? It really is rude to ask a question then be scanning the room for your "repeat guests" who are obviously more important (and perhaps rightly so).

It would have actually been better if you just left it to your team to do the chatting, that way all our interactions would have been 5 star. But because you are visible, and greeting some guests like long lost relatives and giving the others fake hellos - it becomes annoying. We are obviously not a repeat customer and not important to you.

And to be fair - it is your choice!

I would like to note, we didn't really talk to Henry but he did check us out, and that was all good.

Darren & Fliccy

P.S thanks again to the team and enjoy the rest of your season out there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I were lucky to stay just a couple of nights at this wonderful chalet in Les Gets. It is perfectly located for ski in and ski out.

The owners at the Ferme have got it so right! Everything from the food, drinks, atmosphere, attention to detail and friendly efficient service was amazing. The complimentary ski guiding is just fabulous and gave me confidence on the slopes. I didn't even have to look at the piste map once!

We really enjoyed the food especially the tasting menu which was modern, experimental but without being pretentious. The dining room is a beautiful space with a well stocked bar. The staff were happy to let us try drinks and create cocktails to our exact requests.

There is a spa downstairs where you can enjoy a lovely massage after a hard day on the slopes and it was great that a 30 minute massage was included in our package. We didn't get to try the jacuzzi.

I would say that the bedrooms are on the small side, however they are full of charm and character. We were childfree for these couple of days so this didn't bother us. The lounge area was also on the small side but lovely and cosy. We feel it would not be appropriate to bring our children as our youngest is still a toddler but we are happy to have discovered a real gem of a place for us grown ups to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It’s with mixed emotions that my wife and I offer this review. We have many positive comments to offer about the staff who attended to all of our needs; however, we were disappointed in the failure of the owners to stand behind an event they planned on our behalf that did not come close to living up to the expectations they created.

Furthermore, we found the interactions with the owners to be a bit forced, contrived, and occasionally overwhelming. When you pay the rates that are charged by this property, you expect a bit more discretion and privacy – we certainly didn’t need or want the daily “chat” at breakfast and dinner that was thrust upon us.

Speaking of dinner, the chefs are phenomenal, bit the flexibility is minimal. If you come with children – and actually enjoy spending your meals with your children – you may want to think twice about staying here. You’re encouraged to have them eat at an earlier hour than you with any other children on the property, and they are not given a choice of meals at all, but rather presented with the chef’s kids' meal of the day. Again, not what I would expect given the premium price.

In the interest of balance, I want to once again acknowledge the staff. They are comprised mostly of 21-25 year old men and women who seem to be on break from University, in-between school and life, or more generally adventuring a bit before settling into the workforce. Almost without exception, they are earnest, enjoyable, and professional. It is they who earned the 3 stars in this review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

3rd or 4th visit. We love this place and choose it as the venue for our 40th birthday celebrations. Everything was perfect. Fireworks, champagne all laid on as a surprise. Suzanne, Henry and their fantastic team saw to our every whim. The chef is amazing and all other 8 couples where stunned with the menu. Very inventive and exciting. The Ferme is a beautiful venue for a ski weekend with the perfect position and ski guides to allow you to make the most of every minute on the slopes. Ski shop 2 minute walk, cars on standby to ferry you about. Yes the rooms arent huge but this is typical of all ski chalets. Beds are really comfy!! The common areas are more than adequate and its really all about whats outside! We really did feel like it was a home from home for the weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to be invited by friends who hired out this hotel for a long weekend to celebrate their joint 40th birthdays and invited 8 couples to share it with them.

FdM is a terrific place and we'd go back in a heartbeat. The food was amazing; the staff couldn't be more helpful; and even the sun and snow were perfect. Location-wise, it's an hour transfer from Geneva, and under a minute from the ski slopes. We left London at 8am and skiied for 2 hours after lunch that day.

The owners were on hand most of the time to make sure that everything ran smoothly, although they have picked a great young team who anticipated all our needs and were superb. The team runs like a well-oiled machine and the place is relatively small so you are quickly on first name terms with them and they get to know what you want. Nothing is too much trouble, from catering needs to arranging ski passes and equipment to returning your gear to the rental shop for you.

Some of our party had a horrific journey because of the snow in the UK and were hugely delayed, but the FdM team adjusted smoothly, kept the kitchen open until midnight so they would have food when they arrived, and made sure that everyone finally arrived safe.

Rooms are on the small side but no one seemed to mind.

They had just won a Travelers Choice award a few days before we stayed there and it absolutely doesn't surprise me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radlett03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just back from a weekend at 'the Farm'. It would be difficult to improve the experience. Why?Maybe it was being there with a group of great friends - maybe it was the helpful, friendly staff - maybe if was the incredible food - maybe it was the beautiful chalet. The combination was unbeatable.

The tasting menu was brilliant - popcorn soup - crispy egg yolk - incredible.

Thanks to Billy, Andy, Mel, Alex and the rest of the crew for looking after us and making sure everything was perfect.

Great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gros-Cochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Magic and luxury are hard to define. Ferme de Montagne manages to conjure up both.

Choosing skiing accommodation is tricky. The prize of getting it right is the perfect alpine chocolate box picture postcard experience; a winter wonderland with great skiing. Get the village or accommodation wrong and you find yourself miles from the lifts in a concrete jungle with no easy runs for the beginners in your group.

Les Gets is a hidden gem, close to Geneva, with pretty architecture and great skiing for every ability. Beginners will love it and experts have plenty to challenge them; people who go to Les Gets tend to go back, year after year. So you can choose Les Gets with confidence.

And if you want the best accommodation in Les Gets then you need to stay at Ferme de Montagne (known as ‘The Farm’ to its friends). A hotel with just 8 bedrooms that feels like a private chalet - owners Suzanne and Henry have created an experience unmatched elsewhere that is, in our view, quite wonderful.

The Farm lies just outside Les Gets. This is a good thing for a number of reasons. Firstly you walk 20 yards to find yourself, somewhat surprisingly, at the bottom of two lifts that connect with the main ski area. Secondly, there is a great ski shop a few doors away (called Philippe and run by three generations of the same family). Thirdly, the team will take you by 4x4 wherever you want to go, whenever you want to go there. Suzanne and Henry recruit a simply brilliant crew who cannot do enough for you. Many of them act as ski guides during the day - everyone staying at The Farm has one (if you would like it) - and what is not to love about skiing with someone who is charming company, knows the pistes well, organises your lift passes and makes lunch reservations?

The food, cocktails and wine are a real highlight. We are fortunate to eat in some of the best restaurants around the world and rate the food at The Farm very highly. Modern European in style, served with great care and attentiveness, it is perhaps best described as one Michelin star food that you can eat every day. The cocktail of the day is hard to resist and the wine list is well judged, offering variety of grape, style and region to suit every dish.

Unsurprisingly, many return - this was our second stay and fellow guests during our holiday had lost count. New guests are made to feel incredibly welcome and the clientele are friendly, interesting and refreshingly unpretentious. I believe children are welcome during certain weeks - those that were there during our visit were charming and impeccably behaved.

I rate Ferme de Montagne very highly, and recommend it without hesitation.

On the assumption that the team read these reviews from time to time, Beth and Mel were delightful skiing company, Scott, Ben and John are inventive and accomplished chefs, Nicky's passion for wine and cocktails was just what the doctor ordered, the beauty therapist was wonderful and Chia, Laura, Tom, Billly, Michael, Alex, Andy, Sam, Kate and Pauline all took fantastic care of us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrFredBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.6 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#16 of 18 in Les Gets
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferme De Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme De Montagne

Property: Ferme De Montagne
Address: 1020 route de la Turche, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Gets
#6 Spa Hotel in Les Gets
#7 Family Hotel in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferme de Montagne is a luxurious and lovingly restored old Savoyard farmhouse nestled in the tranquil hamlet of La Turche in Les Gets with stunning views of the mountains, valley and pine forests. Conveniently located, just 1 hour from Geneva, with ski-in ski-out access to over 650km of pistes in the Portes du Soleil ski domain. Ferme de Montagne has established a reputation for outstanding food and excellent service over the last 10 years. We offer a package experience for long and short break stays within a boutique hotel setting in elegant, luxurious and beautifully-fitted, comfortable rooms with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferme De Montagne Hotel Les Gets
Ferme De Montagne Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing