We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff...overwhelming and unreliable owners”
Review of Ferme De Montagne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Gets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferme De Montagne
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It’s with mixed emotions that my wife and I offer this review. We have many positive comments to offer about the staff who attended to all of our needs; however, we were disappointed in the failure of the owners to stand behind an event they planned on our behalf that did not come close to living up to the expectations they created.

Furthermore, we found the interactions with the owners to be a bit forced, contrived, and occasionally overwhelming. When you pay the rates that are charged by this property, you expect a bit more discretion and privacy – we certainly didn’t need or want the daily “chat” at breakfast and dinner that was thrust upon us.

Speaking of dinner, the chefs are phenomenal, bit the flexibility is minimal. If you come with children – and actually enjoy spending your meals with your children – you may want to think twice about staying here. You’re encouraged to have them eat at an earlier hour than you with any other children on the property, and they are not given a choice of meals at all, but rather presented with the chef’s kids' meal of the day. Again, not what I would expect given the premium price.

In the interest of balance, I want to once again acknowledge the staff. They are comprised mostly of 21-25 year old men and women who seem to be on break from University, in-between school and life, or more generally adventuring a bit before settling into the workforce. Almost without exception, they are earnest, enjoyable, and professional. It is they who earned the 3 stars in this review.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

3rd or 4th visit. We love this place and choose it as the venue for our 40th birthday celebrations. Everything was perfect. Fireworks, champagne all laid on as a surprise. Suzanne, Henry and their fantastic team saw to our every whim. The chef is amazing and all other 8 couples where stunned with the menu. Very inventive and exciting. The Ferme is a beautiful venue for a ski weekend with the perfect position and ski guides to allow you to make the most of every minute on the slopes. Ski shop 2 minute walk, cars on standby to ferry you about. Yes the rooms arent huge but this is typical of all ski chalets. Beds are really comfy!! The common areas are more than adequate and its really all about whats outside! We really did feel like it was a home from home for the weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to be invited by friends who hired out this hotel for a long weekend to celebrate their joint 40th birthdays and invited 8 couples to share it with them.

FdM is a terrific place and we'd go back in a heartbeat. The food was amazing; the staff couldn't be more helpful; and even the sun and snow were perfect. Location-wise, it's an hour transfer from Geneva, and under a minute from the ski slopes. We left London at 8am and skiied for 2 hours after lunch that day.

The owners were on hand most of the time to make sure that everything ran smoothly, although they have picked a great young team who anticipated all our needs and were superb. The team runs like a well-oiled machine and the place is relatively small so you are quickly on first name terms with them and they get to know what you want. Nothing is too much trouble, from catering needs to arranging ski passes and equipment to returning your gear to the rental shop for you.

Some of our party had a horrific journey because of the snow in the UK and were hugely delayed, but the FdM team adjusted smoothly, kept the kitchen open until midnight so they would have food when they arrived, and made sure that everyone finally arrived safe.

Rooms are on the small side but no one seemed to mind.

They had just won a Travelers Choice award a few days before we stayed there and it absolutely doesn't surprise me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radlett03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just back from a weekend at 'the Farm'. It would be difficult to improve the experience. Why?Maybe it was being there with a group of great friends - maybe it was the helpful, friendly staff - maybe if was the incredible food - maybe it was the beautiful chalet. The combination was unbeatable.

The tasting menu was brilliant - popcorn soup - crispy egg yolk - incredible.

Thanks to Billy, Andy, Mel, Alex and the rest of the crew for looking after us and making sure everything was perfect.

Great weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gros-Cochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Magic and luxury are hard to define. Ferme de Montagne manages to conjure up both.

Choosing skiing accommodation is tricky. The prize of getting it right is the perfect alpine chocolate box picture postcard experience; a winter wonderland with great skiing. Get the village or accommodation wrong and you find yourself miles from the lifts in a concrete jungle with no easy runs for the beginners in your group.

Les Gets is a hidden gem, close to Geneva, with pretty architecture and great skiing for every ability. Beginners will love it and experts have plenty to challenge them; people who go to Les Gets tend to go back, year after year. So you can choose Les Gets with confidence.

And if you want the best accommodation in Les Gets then you need to stay at Ferme de Montagne (known as ‘The Farm’ to its friends). A hotel with just 8 bedrooms that feels like a private chalet - owners Suzanne and Henry have created an experience unmatched elsewhere that is, in our view, quite wonderful.

The Farm lies just outside Les Gets. This is a good thing for a number of reasons. Firstly you walk 20 yards to find yourself, somewhat surprisingly, at the bottom of two lifts that connect with the main ski area. Secondly, there is a great ski shop a few doors away (called Philippe and run by three generations of the same family). Thirdly, the team will take you by 4x4 wherever you want to go, whenever you want to go there. Suzanne and Henry recruit a simply brilliant crew who cannot do enough for you. Many of them act as ski guides during the day - everyone staying at The Farm has one (if you would like it) - and what is not to love about skiing with someone who is charming company, knows the pistes well, organises your lift passes and makes lunch reservations?

The food, cocktails and wine are a real highlight. We are fortunate to eat in some of the best restaurants around the world and rate the food at The Farm very highly. Modern European in style, served with great care and attentiveness, it is perhaps best described as one Michelin star food that you can eat every day. The cocktail of the day is hard to resist and the wine list is well judged, offering variety of grape, style and region to suit every dish.

Unsurprisingly, many return - this was our second stay and fellow guests during our holiday had lost count. New guests are made to feel incredibly welcome and the clientele are friendly, interesting and refreshingly unpretentious. I believe children are welcome during certain weeks - those that were there during our visit were charming and impeccably behaved.

I rate Ferme de Montagne very highly, and recommend it without hesitation.

On the assumption that the team read these reviews from time to time, Beth and Mel were delightful skiing company, Scott, Ben and John are inventive and accomplished chefs, Nicky's passion for wine and cocktails was just what the doctor ordered, the beauty therapist was wonderful and Chia, Laura, Tom, Billly, Michael, Alex, Andy, Sam, Kate and Pauline all took fantastic care of us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrFredBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful week in Let Gets. Suzanne and her team in chalet did fantastic job and made us feel like at home. Tom, who is our ski guide, help me take very good care of my eight years old son, all in all, we enjoyed a lot our skiing.
And on top of that, the delicious food prepared by gorgeous chef Scott, Cleo and crew.... Every morning, we enjoy the full English breakfast, trying new plate of the day. And afternoon when we back to the log fire, relaxed with a cup of nice tea, home-made scone and cake, it is perfect! We also impressed by the Christmas celebration arranged the Chalet staff.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skifamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

First and foremost, one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in this year, supremely important for people who travel as much as we do. Of course the lamb's fleece underblanket, fine cotton sheets and down pillows helped. Nicely outfitted bathroom with big showerhead and top quality bathroom products like Jo Malone.

The food was a highlight - huge choice of dishes every night, absolutely perfectly prepared - the chefs are clearly very talented. The food has always been top class here, but the cooking is now very contemporary. The atmosphere throughout, but especially in the dining room, is totally wonderful. Warm, cosy, friendly, you feel as though you are in a very refined private home. The staff are outstanding, doing their utmost to please. One of the best places we have ever stayed at, and we have stayed at many renowned hotels.

Oh, and the snow conditions were incredible, we were taken out for the best skiing ever!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.6 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#14 of 18 in Les Gets
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chalet la Croix Blanche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferme De Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferme De Montagne

Address: 1020 route de la Turche, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Les Gets
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Gets
#6 Spa Hotel in Les Gets
#7 Family Hotel in Les Gets
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferme de Montagne is a luxurious and lovingly restored old Savoyard farmhouse nestled in the tranquil hamlet of La Turche in Les Gets with stunning views of the mountains, valley and pine forests. Conveniently located, just 1 hour from Geneva, with ski-in ski-out access to over 650km of pistes in the Portes du Soleil ski domain. Ferme de Montagne has established a reputation for outstanding food and excellent service over the last 10 years. We offer a package experience for long and short break stays within a boutique hotel setting in elegant, luxurious and beautifully-fitted, comfortable rooms with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferme De Montagne Hotel Les Gets
Ferme De Montagne Les Gets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing