We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great food and a fantastic location in Les Gets”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stay in this Hotel this March during a six night stay in Les Gets. The Hotel is in a great location as you just click on your ski's in the morning and your off.
The food was out of this world with the only problem being that some nights I wanted to eat both starters and mains!
The bar staff were very friendly and certainly managed to get our group and the others in the Hotel to try a few additional drinks each night. Sam's measures are certainly not on the small side! It was also nice to relax in front of the open fire after a days skiing
Our room was small but functional with enough storage space, The shower was powerful and always warm and despite what has been said in the other posts our room was cleaned every day
I certainly plan to return next ski season

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gannochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Christiania
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 309 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

Can't beat the location as it's right next to the piste. The staff were young but very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and we really enjoyed all meals. There's a cosy lounge area with an open fire to relax in after dinner with cheese and coffee. 2 hot tubs outside were a great way to relax after a day skiing. Delicious home made cakes and tea and coffee were provided every day to welcome you back from the slopes! Only thing letting the hotel down is that the rooms were small and looked tired and really need a refurbishment. The rooms were not serviced atall during the stay, which was a bit of a surprise! Also- no hairdryer, so remember to take your own! Overall however, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Just got back from a 5 day break here, hotel location cannot be bettered, evening meal of an excellent standard, let down by poor service - which was very haphazard and disorganised all round. The lovely nature of majority of the staff did make up for this somewhat. Bedroom was small, small bath, all a bit dusty, good storage space, not serviced during our stay though. Pleasant lounge area with open fire and plenty of magazines and books to read- nice touch. But not big enough to accomodate all hotel guests so did get crowded on occasions.

Overall excellent place for a short break for lazy skiers. The chaotic nature of the management of this hotel was generally amusing but would have been very irritating for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2ski52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We had such a lovely time here, we went at the last minute and found the hotel to be excellent. We were met at the airport and very swiftly taken to the hotel (55 mins transfer) despite lots of snow on the roads. The hotel is lovely, with a great restaurant, bar, superb staff and a fab location. The skiing here is excellent and this hotel is right next to the piste, you can fall out of bed and onto the slopes! There were a couple of things I didn't like, the hire shop they recommended us to wasn't very good (Delaware - or something like that) and my daughter's boots hurt her terribly, we went to a different shop the next day, Berthet and although we paid slightly more, they were so much better. They also have a guide (Domonic) that offers ski walking tours and it was such fun, we tried that for a day and everyone loved it. The only other thing was one night it was quite noisy with the snow machine, but I didn't notice it on other nights. I am surprised at the other reviewers as I loved it here, the staff couldn't have been nicer and their chef is excellent! It also had a separate room in the evenings for children to watch TV/DVD's (or for people to get away from the bar and read in). It also has internet connection (free - I think it was anyway). Great hotel, couldn't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplyticketyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

The owner sells a combination of apartments across the road with half board at the hotel. The Ranfolly apartments are not fit for a family unless you wish to stay in the equivalent of a dirty hostel room. The same size as a EU20/night motorway hotel room but with no decent shower and DIRTY. Tiny bunk beds and camp beds in the adjoining area; no separate room except the bathroom. A DISGRACE

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
Thank Ianh1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Titi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#7 of 18 in Les Gets
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: $268 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing