We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“22nd January 2013”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“22nd January 2013”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just spent a lovely week at the Hotel Christiania. Lovely homely atmoshpere. Excellent food. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Location excellent, skied into shed where skis kept! Very friendly hotel. Highly reccommend it. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Twin bedrooms are bigger than double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    71
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This is exactly what a ski chalet should be - intimate, friendly and cosy. The evening meals are delicious and the wine is fantastic and reasonable. Everything in Les Gets is within easy walking distance. The lifts are outside the door and the staff is very friendly. The other guests will make a difference since the chalet is so intimate. There were a lot if families so perfect for us.

We did ski lessons with ESF and Derric from the resort. Derric was much better. We also signed up our children with the ESF piou piou and ski lesson. The lessons were good but the child care was not great. I would enquire about child care at the chalet. We rented our equipment from Delavay on-line. They were great - first time I've had rentals that didn't kill my feet.

Overall, great trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kconnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for five nights and have to say that the staff were excellent from the moment we arrived. Always on hand and always very helpful.

The location of the hotel was perfect, we cols ski right back to the ski room, via the hot tub.

We were a group of three and this hotel is excellent for grops and families alike.

Will be revisiting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle - upon - tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel Christiania is the perfect 2 star hotel for a ski holiday. It knocks the socks off the higher rated hotels in the resort for atmosphere, really excellent food and great staff. Nothing is too much trouble for Derek and the team. The bar has a good atmosphere and their own brand of white wine is simply delicious. The fires and sofas are perfect to end the day,

It is ski in ski out and has a prime central position at the bottom of the slopes. Rooms are a tad small, but who wants to spend time in a room when there so much skiing eating and soicalising to be done?!

I recommend this to families, grops and solo

Room Tip: there are family rooms and the third floor has 2 rooms only if you want you own floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisa255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Its right at the bottom of the piste so after a day's skiing you will be enjoying your afternoon tea and cakes within minutes. Staff are very helpful and pleasant and nothing seems to be too much trouble. It is a very friendly place to stay. The small bar and lounge are very cozy with the log fire and comfy sofas. The icing on the cake is the 5* evening meal. Hard to find food like this in the big cities back home let alone a small hotel in a ski resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Another ski season - another visit to Hotel Christiana - the rooms maybe 2 stars, but that's where it stops - best location in the village over looking main slopes with ski in ski out - after a series of heavy snow falls in early December the snow conditions were excellent for a pre-season visit and the hotel had put in place a superb chef supported by excellent staff - the food was quite simply as good as gets in the Port Du Soleil area with fine wine to match - good food, fine wine, ski in /out, and perfect snow at an affordable price - what's not to like - this is as good as it gets without breaking the bank.

I return with the family in January and look forward to more of the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Could not fault this hotel . Very relaxed for adults and kids alike. Food was fantastic. Lifts outside the door. Ski in ski out.
Would be back in a flash !!
We were advised by the booking office to take a double with a next door room for the kids... worked ferfecty .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#5 of 18 in Les Gets
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#16 of 18 in Les Gets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Labrador
Hotel Le Labrador
#11 of 18 in Les Gets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing