We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for five nights and have to say that the staff were excellent from the moment we arrived. Always on hand and always very helpful.

The location of the hotel was perfect, we cols ski right back to the ski room, via the hot tub.

We were a group of three and this hotel is excellent for grops and families alike.

Will be revisiting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 309 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel Christiania is the perfect 2 star hotel for a ski holiday. It knocks the socks off the higher rated hotels in the resort for atmosphere, really excellent food and great staff. Nothing is too much trouble for Derek and the team. The bar has a good atmosphere and their own brand of white wine is simply delicious. The fires and sofas are perfect to end the day,

It is ski in ski out and has a prime central position at the bottom of the slopes. Rooms are a tad small, but who wants to spend time in a room when there so much skiing eating and soicalising to be done?!

I recommend this to families, grops and solo

Room Tip: there are family rooms and the third floor has 2 rooms only if you want you own floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisa255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Its right at the bottom of the piste so after a day's skiing you will be enjoying your afternoon tea and cakes within minutes. Staff are very helpful and pleasant and nothing seems to be too much trouble. It is a very friendly place to stay. The small bar and lounge are very cozy with the log fire and comfy sofas. The icing on the cake is the 5* evening meal. Hard to find food like this in the big cities back home let alone a small hotel in a ski resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottyHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Another ski season - another visit to Hotel Christiana - the rooms maybe 2 stars, but that's where it stops - best location in the village over looking main slopes with ski in ski out - after a series of heavy snow falls in early December the snow conditions were excellent for a pre-season visit and the hotel had put in place a superb chef supported by excellent staff - the food was quite simply as good as gets in the Port Du Soleil area with fine wine to match - good food, fine wine, ski in /out, and perfect snow at an affordable price - what's not to like - this is as good as it gets without breaking the bank.

I return with the family in January and look forward to more of the same.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Could not fault this hotel . Very relaxed for adults and kids alike. Food was fantastic. Lifts outside the door. Ski in ski out.
Would be back in a flash !!
We were advised by the booking office to take a double with a next door room for the kids... worked ferfecty .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A really good weeks holiday, It has to be said that it was the area that made it and the facilities in the area but the Hotel was good Staff were very good (lacking a bit of direction at times) very obliging, food was good and plentiful.
The hotel itself a little jaded perhaps and could have done with a little better housekeeping.
BUT, the Holiday,Hotel & Staff did what it said on the tin! any complaits would be little niggles.
We would not hessitate to go again.

Ian and Ann

Room Tip: Ours was fine 1st floor rear, can't comment on the others, I think I would avoid the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Christiania for our week's mountain biking and hiking holiday with Alpine Elements. (This review will deal with the hotel accommodation and catering only - and not the Alpine Elements package).

All we wanted from this holiday was a good, convenient base from which to go mountain biking and hiking in Les Portes Du Soleil, with clean, comfortable accommodation and good food, and this hotel pretty much ticked the bill.

The hotel is more like a large chalet and the catering was the same as a skiing chalet holiday. The decor is a little tired and in need of a freshening up, and, well, certainly our bedroom (no 24) was very small, although we did have a balcony. The ensuite looked like it had been updated more recently than the bedroom but, again, was very small and the shower, in particular, was tiny. However, there was more than enough storage space for all of our kit and the balcony proved very useful for getting muddy kit dry on. We also had a TV on which we could watch French coverage of the Tour De France! We slept very well so it must have been comfortable and quiet enough - despite our room facing the street.

The communal areas, again, are a little tired, in the bar/lounge there is not enough seating for all the guests and the sofas/chairs are not particularly comfortable. The swimming pool was nice, but there are only half a dozen or so sunloungers and the one day I wanted to sunbathe, they were all already in use. The hot tubs were great and used every day - even in the rain.

We thought the food was very good, varied and decent sized enough portions. Meal times were consistent and the service was very good. The staff in general were all very helpful and friendly.

The hotel location was fantastic though. Right next to the main Chavanne lift up Les Gets, and just on the edge of the town centre, so everything was in walking/biking distance. The large garage underneath the hotel, where the bikes were kept, was a little chaotic and could have been bettered ordered.

Overall, though, we had a great time and, if you are looking for this kind of holiday and are not too fussy about the hotel being a little tired and the rooms small, then we would recommend it. We have rated it as 'very good' on the strength of the catering, staff and location.

Room Tip: Our room 24 was a double, on the second floor, on the front of the hotel, overlooking the street. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtaFitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#16 of 18 in Les Gets
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
Loc'hotel Alpen'Sports
#6 of 18 in Les Gets
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#12 of 18 in Les Gets
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: $176 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing