We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an alpine Shangri-La”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was our second trip to Hotel Christiania, and if the last two have been anything to go on, it was the second of many. We love it here. The skiing is wonderful, but the hotel makes the holiday. Its right on the slopes and in the centre of Les Gets, so its really handy for everything in the resort. The atmosphere at the hotel is what makes it so special though and that is down to the work of Derek and his staff. They never stop but are always smiling, which is something that rubs off on us guests. Great to have a choice of a cooked breakfast in the morning, really sets you up for the day, and tea and homemade cake when you get in after a days skiing is really appreciated. The hotel really comes alive in the evening, with everybody in the lounge beforehand having a drink and reminiscing on the days skiing. Its such a relaxed, friendly atmosphere here, that you don't think of yourself as a guest, its more like being a member of an exclusive club. The dinners are excellent, with a great wine list to accompany the five courses. Best experience of this trip - Sitting on the sun terrace in our shorts at the end of a days skiing, with a bottle of wine chilling in the snow beside us. Looking forward to my next trip already!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shintysticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Christiania
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 309 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was our second visit to Hotel Christiania and we can't thank Derek and the staff enough. We had a fabulous 4 days skiing, the service and food was faultless, and we came away feeling relaxed and recharged. Please don't change anything, we love the availability of rooms for short breaks, the relaxed, put your feet up atmosphere and the great value that you offer. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 23 twice and although small it is comfortable, quiet and great value
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gileshampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent two trips here this year. One with my teenage son and the other with a friend. Really relaxed and friendly atmosphere and twith the snow this year was truly ski in and ski out. Great fill you up breakfasts, tea and cake around 4pm blazing log fire and comfy tartan-rugged sofas in the bar area. Evening meal really good and fantastic cheese board each might and great, good value wine list. Rooms are tight on space but adequate given all you do is sleep there and reflect the star rating but the food is more four star than two star. If you want four or five star luxury do not stay here but if you want a great friendly hotel with great background music in the bar - I did not hear the same track in the 6 days I stayed there in total and everyone was great. You feeel really at home here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonChristopher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have been going to Hotel Christiania for the last 8 years and cannot recommend it highly enough. A family owned hotel it offers 4 star food and service at 2 star prices located in an authentic French village. It is located on the piste at Les Gets meaning ski in and ski out. Breakfast offers a choice of hot and cold food every day with lots of delicious pastries and bread. Afternoon tea is also provided when you get back from the slopes and dinner is a 4 course delight with a fantastic selection on the wine list to accompany the great cheese board. More than that, the staff are friendly and welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. A cosy bar and lounge area add to the home from home feel of the place. It is definitely a family oriented hotel with a play room for children and occasionally it can be a wee bit noisy but that is not something that has ever put me off. I would recommend anyone to stay at the hotel whether it be for a weekend or a week. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful time at Hotel Christiania. There were two adults and two children in our party and we all thoroughly enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful and provided a warm and relaxing atmosphere where you felt you could ask for anything. The food was excellent; lovely choice, home cooked and locally produced which was of a quality which exceeded the star rating of the hotel. Having tried other resorts in Austria and Italy, it was so much easier to reach the slopes from Christiania as it is perfectly located too for shops, ski hire etc. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowSkifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend over Easter and loved it.

We were worried that the snow would be quite melted but we were nicely suprirsed. You can ski straight to door at this hotel which is fantastic. We arried at 6am after driving overnight from the UK and were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff who were able to check us into our room straight away and offer us tea, coffee and breakfast. Our lift passes that we'd ordered were also waiting for us at reception so we were on the slopes by half 9.

The hotel rooms are quite tired but they had everything you needed and the service and food was just excellent. We loved it. The hotel bar and restaurant were very welcoming and we used the outdoor hot tubs a lot too after a long days skiing.

We will definately return to this hotel, the location, staff and food are what make it excellent. We didn't want to leave and wished we'd booked longer. We were in Room 21 which was a small double which had a great view of the slopes and was on the 2nd floor away from the bar/restaurant which we liked (there were lots of families staying with little kids that were up VERY early each morning and running around!).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich_cra_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here in march for a 3 day mid week break. Location excellent, food and service great. The room we had could do with a bit of tender loving care but as we were there to ski didn't spend much time in it. Will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Gets hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
Chalet hotel La Marmotte
#3 of 18 in Les Gets
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chamois D’Or Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Regina
Chalet Hotel Regina
#15 of 18 in Les Gets
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Crychar
Hotel Spa Crychar
#2 of 18 in Les Gets
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
Chalet-Hotel Alpina
#4 of 18 in Les Gets
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#7 of 18 in Les Gets
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Route du Front de Neige | Haute Savoie, 74260 Les Gets, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Gets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Les Gets
Price Range: $268 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Christiania 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing