We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - Excellent Hotel”
Review of Le Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Cairn Hotel
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked this hotel after finding an excellent deal on latebooking.com. and reading the reviews on tripadvisor.

We couldn't have been happier. We knew the location as we had been to Les Deux Alpes several times before. It's ideally located only a short walk from the main lifts, with an Intersport shop and supermarket across the road.

The rooms are clean and have plenty of storage. The staff can not do enough to help, nothing is to much trouble!

The hot tub and sauna are fantastic! A beer and rum & coke sat in the hot tub was the perfect end to each days skiing; even better when it snowed!!!

I would highly recommend this hotel and am already booking for next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TME2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from le deux alps (3rd Feb 2013) after staying in the hotel le cairn for one week. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax in the large hot tub or sauna after some great skiing on the many slopes the resort has to offer. Nothing is to much trouble for the owners and staff. Relaxing beer at the small but informal bar is a pleasure at après ski time. This hotel represents excellent value for money. Town centre location means just a 10 minute walk to various chair lifts.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would probably be quieter and just to mention there are no lifts which could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We felt comfortable that we had made a good choice from the offset. We were staying a full week and as we had picked a value for money hotel our expectations were not high but Le Cairn exceeded them in every way. The rooms were always warm enough, the beds comfortable. Room had plenty of storage and the shower was good over the bath. You can choose any day to have your room cleaned by leaving the key a reception. The food was fantastic value for money on half board. Breakfast plentiful with good choice of basic continental items and a hearty 3 course French dinner every night, one night we had raclette , another comfit duck, and nothing my picky daughter would not eat. The outdoor hot tub was welcome every evening and a good chance for a chat with your fellow guests. We sat either watching the sun go down and the stars come out, and one night it snowed while we were in the tub which was magical. The sauna was also a good way to relax. The hotel is a 5 minutes walk to 3 of the lift stations, and there is a supermarket close by for water, snacks etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. I emailed for a quiet room before I arrived and my request was granted without issue. There were no issues with noise of any kind while we were there. The wifi is available free, and mostly accessed in the bar or dining room area.

Room Tip: I requested a room at the rear of the hotel as the front faces the road , and my request was granted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiferrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have just returned from spending New Year with our friends in Les Deux Alpes, staying at Hotel le Cairn. The Hotel was small and intimate and although basic, very clean and comfortable. The owner, Janos and his family and staff went out of their way to try and do whatever they could to make our stay a success. Janos provided airport transfers for us and also took my elder son to Alpe D'Huez to meet up with his school group.
Our stay was a dinner, bed and breakfast package and whilst the food was not fancy and there was no choice in the evening, there was plenty of it and enough to suit everyone. Breakfast was the usual buffet style seen in most chalets.
The hot tub on the balcony was a big hit with the adults and kids and a real bonus. We would certainly consider revisiting both the resort and this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The breakfast was very nice and we received an exceptional evening meal on New Year's Eve including a different drink with all 5 courses. The outdoor hot tub and sauna was amazing at the end of each days skiing. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark30mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel located in the middle of the Alpine ski resort Les Deux Alps, close to everything there- the lifts, ski rentals, ski school, bus stop. But the real treasure of this hotel is its personnel. They were trying to make our experience in the resort the most pleasant. I ordeeed demi pension, and me and my daughter ate the most delicious food we ever had. The fact that everybody in this hotel spoke English helped too.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontonian_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Le Cairn when we visited Les Deux Alpes for four days this summer. I've never been to the Alps in the summer...usually always a winter, skier.
The hotel was a nice surprise to be honest. It's really central and very close to the major lifts and night life. We were efficiently received and shown to our room. It was the usual size for a ski-resort room with a small en-suite. Very clean with a small balcony. There was free wifi in reception which just reached our room - a bonus! The breakfast was ok...croissants and bread with a mix of fruit, ham and eggs.
It wasn't massively cheap but I'd be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_270870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#3 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adret
Hotel Adret
#17 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#15 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#6 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cairn Hotel

Address: 87 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range: $82 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Cairn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing