We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brunerie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brunerie Hotel
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mostly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked the Hotel Bruneire through Crystal Ski for 4 friends snowboarding. Great transfers and information given by the reps can't fault them. The hotel was lovely and modern on arrival, quick to check us in. Rooms clean, spatious, very warm. Excellent bathroom/shower, clean towels provided daily. We had a family room, the bunk beds separated by a door as described feel a little like you are sleeping in the corridor directly outside the toilet/bathroom so it's a little cramped for adults but the main room has plenty of space, comfy beds, large balcony.
The hotel has a boot room with heated sticks to dry your boots after a day on the slopes and a secure room for the boards, the hotel also provided padlocks to ensure safety.
Free bar is great, but does stop at 10pm. Staff are extremely friendly and a lot of fun, they were kind enough to take us out one night and show us the resort which is lively if not expensive for drinks! Hotel manager has a charm to him and kept us all entertained with his lively persona.
Food was generally fine, lots of choice at breakfast and dinner, packed lunches are adequate to keep you going through the day.
Only issue we had was that all 4 of us picked up a stomach bug through the week. Admittedly I did not tell the reps or hotel as it was a little embarrassing, and I was not sure whether it was a virus or the food. However by the end of the week it was a common problem among a number of other guests that was spoken about in jest. None of our party missed a day on the slopes, however I would say this was due to perseverence through occasional stomach cramps and the wonder of immodium!!
Generally a lovely hotel and great staff, I feel bad having to mention the stomach bug but it did take the edge off an otherwise fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    138
    44
    17
    9
See reviews for
116
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Sorry to be a downer on this hotel, which has such great potential. It has a fabulous location near the main ski lift. The rooms are good, the bar bright and cheery and a lovely pool.
So why the downer?

Well 2 things and whether they are linked is a matter of debate.
2 out of 6 of our party became ill over the New Year week with tummy upsets and missed some skiing. Other parties had similar problems and our ski instructor said 'thats the brunerie every year'. I know its virus season and it may not be the food. But we noticed two food related concerns. Our sandwich packs provided for lunch had 'blown', which we assummed to be altitude but then noted that the use by dates had expired 3 days previously. Also buffet items containing shellfish including mussels and prawns appeared 2 nights running. The cooked food as other reviewers say is very good.

One member of our party doesnt ski. She was frustrated by the facilities available during the day. This is 100% a skiers hotel. The bar area with the lovely view of the mountains is locked through the day and there is no usuable lounge. i think this was for bar security as the bar had no grills but this could be fixed easily and customer experience improved.

This hotel is all inclusive between 4pm and 10pm. A broad range of drinks is provided but 'diet drinks' eg diet coke are excluded. A little odd but true. Could be fixed easily.

Also the hairdryer flex was taped up with insulation tape and crackled when used. My daughters elected to use their own.

Over new year we observed several groups complaining to Crystal reps about the Brunerie. Those reps rather concerningly said that the manager tended to dismiss any complaints made by them or customers. That's a shame. This could be a fabulous hotel with a little more customer focus and attention to food handling/ safety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gopherleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Séverine B, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Customer,
First, we would like to thank you for the comment you posted on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that you've been ill during your stay, but during this period, the virus peak of epidemic was running, in many ski resort. About the sandwich packs we do apologize for the incovenient but why did you not tell it to the hotel, they would have changed them. Even so wer hope to welcome you next time in Hotel La Brunerie.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very good value for money. We came as 2 families with 4 children and nobody was disappointed.

Hotel staff are very friendly and do an excellent job. The manager, Michelle, is very particular but has very high standards which he likes from the guests too, but this is shown in the care and standards he provides in the hotel and for meals.

We had a family room. Lovely and clean , plenty of room, nicely refurbed. The only negative was that the rooms are quite hot.

There is a pool, sauna, gym and jacuzzi. The pool is very cold and the jacuzzi was not running.

The food was fantastic quality. I have never been to an all inclusive hotel that produces such high standard food. Every night was fab. Michelle makes separate children's meals and this is why he doesn't like them having from the main adults bit as he obviously makes enough for each child that is booked in. Breakfast was good, lovely pastries fruit etc only a small hot breakfast but everyday we were still stuffed.

Lunch you choose your items from the fridge. Again this was very good.

No complaints and would definitely come back again.

Thank you to Michelle and his team for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Fantastic view at the front but bit noisy from the road. Ask for a room level 3 or higher if have ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eclfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Hotel is a real find for excellent food, friendly trained staff and a brilliant central location. The owner opened up for breakfast at 4.30am on our departure day! Fabulous service, he couldn't have been more accommodating. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel without a balcony but heard no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over new year, the owner Michele and his staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. I have not had better food at a mass catering hotel. Varied menu. It is obvious that a lot of effort is made. Rooms comfortable, smallish bit with plenty of storage space.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Algord123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a great week, over new year. However I have a very mixed view of this hotel. The adult food was simply the best I have had on a all inclusive holiday, there was plenty of verity, the service from all serving staff was fab. The children's food however was very poor indeed, not a bit of veg all week, very under cooked chicken( still very pink) was given to my 7 & 8 years one night, plan pasta on a diffrent night, i did ask if my children could have smaller porsions of the lovely adult food, the manager was very rude and simply said you will have to pay more they are only children. On news years eve we had a lovley meal which was spoilt by the manager who had a stand up row with a British family which looked like it might end up in a punch up not what I want my children to see. When the manager had finished his rant at the British guest he commented to our table that "you British are uneducated". He really is nown as basil in les deux alpes, and rightly so.
The rooms were basic but clean, the beds where rather hard, but the lovely view made up for it.
All in all a great hotel not far from the slopes just a shame about one eccentric man in need of a day or two off, and some customer service training.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel have a great view but rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1985-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic! Spent a week here on 15 December 2012. I really do not understand how people can give this place anything less than 5 stars! It's fantastic value with the (A.I) all inclusive deal, the staff are superb and really can't do enough for you, i wish people would stop the ' basil faulty' remarks about the owner as he was great and very welcoming. Rooms are clean and comfortable, ski boot warmers in the locker room were welcome in the morning! The food was great with plenty of variety and although its buffet style there's still great waiters to make sure everything is fine. The A.I bar was open between 4 and 10 and served french Stella and many spirts in a nice lounge area with open fire. If I had to critisise anything it would be that there was no diet coke on the A.I and that the jacuzzi was not activated until 4, but this really did not detract from the holiday.
The skiing was fantastic for all levels as you can can ski from the very top to almost the bottom on blue runs which is pretty rare for ski resorts and means you do not need to be experienced to see the best views! I would recommend planning your route very carefully if your a boarder as there are several flat sections on the main runs. we tended to avoid the chandry express bubble as it can be busy and you have the stand up for a quite a while. There's loads of restaurants on the mountain for a cheeky vin chaud. We had plenty of snow when I was there and as such the off piste was incredible and very easy to see and plan your routes from the lifts.
The night life in deux alpe is some of the best in France. Would recommend the polar bear pub which has fantastic log fire hanging from the ceiling and sells leffe by the pint! Smithys bar, smokey joes and the secret are also good.
Transfers were only 2hrs and all other travel was fine.
This hotel was a real find and I will definately be coming back when I return to deux alpe.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Oli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.6 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#4 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.1 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aalborg Hotel
Aalborg Hotel
#10 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#20 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunerie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunerie Hotel

Property: Brunerie Hotel
Address: 59 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunerie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brunerie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunerie Hotel Les Deux Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing