We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great hotel and great value for money”
Review of Brunerie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brunerie Hotel
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just returned from this trip and can honestly say I wasn't expecting much from this hotel initially, but went for it anyway because it was great value. After the first day, we were all so glad we booked it and couldn't understand the bad reviews. This is actually my first review on here - I just wanted to make sure people know that it is a good hotel. We were 4 young adults (around 27) so can't comment on child friendliness of the hotel.

Food: Yes, its not the height of French Haute Cuisine but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The lamb shank on the first night needed only a fork as it was so tender, and the tartiflette midway through the week was great, especially as it was served with a very tasty charcuterie selection. The soup was always vegetable, but was always slightly different every day but still very tasty and the salad, dessert and cheese selection was brilliant. Breakfast had a large continental selection and pastries as well as scrambled egg sausage and bacon. This is the first time I've been outside the UK and had proper English bacon, it was fantastic! Packed lunch was perfect and its quite unusual to have it provided so it was a real bonus. It consisted of a sandwich (or two if you smile nicely!) a variety of soft drinks including red bull, crisps, a few sweets and babybels etc and some fruit. Perfect for a picnic on the piste, and it meant you didn't have to sort your own sandwiches out or pay crazy prices on the piste. We had friends staying in a chalet down the road and the food we got here was so much better than theirs.

Facilities: Admittedly the gym was a bit basic with only a weights bench, exercise bike and cross trainer, but if you want to do exercise you should just ski more! We had a routine of sauna, swim and hot tub and it was a great way to spend an hour in the afternoon after a long days skiing. Again, its not a pool you can do lots of lengths in but combined with the sauna with the hot tub it really is a good way to unwind. There's no changing area but we just went back to the room with a towel round our waist.

Staff: Here is where the hotel excelled. Yes, the manager is quite eccentric but we thought he was great. He is obviously very passionate about his hotel and just wants people to have an enjoyable stay. He's there early morning until late at night and never has a day off. All the bar staff, waiting staff and receptionists are brilliant and are probably some of the best hotel staff I have come across. They are all very friendly, helpful, fun and really want to make sure you enjoy your holiday.

Rooms: We had room 104 on the front with a balcony. The room was cleaned every day, the bathroom was nice (with a decent shower) and the beds were very comfy. Having stayed in a lot of tiny ski apartments, this was certainly a change for the better. Lots of storage space as well. We weren't affected by the famous noisy rooms at the front, but we're all fairly heavy sleepers. However I don't think you can really blame a hotel for noise from snow ploughs and delivery vans. The balcony was a nice addition as well as the view onto the slopes was great.

Bar: The all inclusive bar was brilliant. The bar area is very stylish and modern and is like any other bar, except that the drinks are free! The beer is good quality and they have a selection of house spirits which are included such as vodka, gin, rum, tequila wine etc as well as teas, coffees, hot chocolates and usual soft drinks. Premium spirits such as JD and fine whiskeys you'll have to pay for. They were showing the 6 nations rugby the day we arrived and showed a few football matches as well on the big screen in the corner. Only bad side was on one night someone arrived with a guitar and murdered a few songs while people sang along with him. It was really pretty awful so we had to leave the bar!

Overall: For the price we paid I don't think you could stay anywhere better in 2 Alpes and you could probably pay an awful lot more and get a lot worse. With the all inclusive package you could quite easily not spend a single euro throughout the whole week if you wanted to stay on a budget and you would still have a good time. Its 2 minutes walk to the main Jandri lift, and about a 5 minute walk to some of the busier bars in the centre so fantastically located. All in all, if I was going back to 2 Alpes or any people I knew were going I would thoroughly recommend La Brunerie.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for that very detailed comment that you posted on Tripadvisor about Hotel La Brunerie.
There is no better reward for us than to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our Pproperty and that you were well taken care of by our team.
We hope to welcome you in your next trip en the french Alps.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 355 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. The family rooms were nice and big, clean and modern with plenty of hooks etc to hang up your ski gear. The food was fantastic, loads of choice at breakfast, packed lunch was real plus point, and the evening meal was lovely, they also did kids tea if requested. There were plenty of staff, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The manager deserves a particular mention, he did an excellent job and was always around to make sure his customers were all happy. The pool, sauna etc were lovely, and a real treat to come back to at the end of the day. Location for skiing also good, and the hotel had deal with the ski shop near the lift, which meant you could store you skis etc at the end of the day for free! We will be recommending this to our friends and will certainly try and come back.

We went with Crystal and the reps were rude and unhelpful - a few others seem to agree with me.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 815Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

The Hotel and I would like to say a big thank you for your very kind words recently posted on Trip Advisor. It has also been a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back to our Property.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you next year !

Very best wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We'd always stayed in Chalets in previous years, but saw this as a good value alternative. We were a bit worried that we wouldn't be as well looked after but couldn't have been more wrong!

All the staff were very friendly and attentive, they always went out of their way to make sure you had everything you needed. The Basil Fawltyesque (in a good way!) Hotel Manager was ever present to make sure you were having a good time, cracking jokes and helping out serving food and drinks and clearing up after you. One of our group has an alergy to anything dairy and the Manager was very helpful and made sure he had his own meals made up by the chef if any part the meal that day wasn't suitable! He was just fantastic.

The food was generally very good with lots of options in the buffet section, so no one was ever left with anything less than a stuffed belly.

The rooms are spacious and are kept very clean, I think the bathrooms must have been renovated faily recently and the finish of all the fittings were very nice.

The free bar was a big draw for us and didn't disappoint with almost everything you could imagine available on the all inclusive. We were worried that the beer might be slop but it was good quality lagers all round. We were initially a little peeved that they would only serve half pints at a time, but once we got to know the staff a bit they started to bring new drinks over when they saw we were getting close to the bottom of the glasses :D

The location of the hotel within the resort is fantastic, being just a short stroll to the main lift up to the best skiing area (Jandri Express), and you can ski back to within maybe 50m of the door. It is also close to the supermarket, not that you'll need it, and a number of ski hire outlets.

The next time any of us visit L2A then we'll definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you for that so kind comment ! We wiating for welcome you next winter !
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed here for a one week all inclusive ski holiday, March 2012 and it was excellent. The rooms were very good, always serviced well with good linen. The staff were always on hand, particularly the Mananger who I have to say was a very proffesional and attentive chap. The food was very good, with plenty of it and enough staff to keep things running along, and keep the tables tidy at meal times. I had heard this hotel had been slated before but my experience was great, keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: Heard the front rooms could get a little noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13u115h1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday experience at Hotel La Brunerie.
We are delighted to note that you had good time there and you enjoyed your stay, and would like to thank you for your positive comments on the staff and the manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next year !
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed for a week with family and friends , hotel clean , pool and sauna a bonus , food was ok , wine sealed to go downhill after the first night , kids food not great in the evening but breakfast was fab

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for this kind comment you have posted on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you this winter
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a great family break at la brunerie which was very clean, has a fantastic location is very well run and ticks all the boxes. In our view it offers great value overall.
Special mention to the manager who has come in for some unplaced criticism in our view- he is clearly doing a great job, is passionate, friendly and obviously cares about what he is doing! The food was plentiful and of good standard, the packed lunches a god send and the free bar in the evenings good fun, sociable and it offers most drinks you could ask for with NO catches-perfect after a day on the slopes.
On top of that the pool was lovely and warm with free towels and a hot, yes hot hot tub....how many times have you heard that about hotel leisure facilities??
Our party was 2 adults a 6 yr old daughter and an 8 yr old son and can thoroughly recommend! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Front rooms have perfect view of slopes but back rooms are quieter with bars opposite sometimes live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timnogal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear Customer,
We are pleased to reas that you spent a great kski break in our hotel La Brunerie.
We hope to see you again with the same pleasure.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Hotel – Location (5 stars)

The hotel itself is ideally located, centrally situated within the resort of Les Deux Alpes, has a shop right next door and is close to the Jandri Express lift, which is the main lift within the resort.


Hotel – Staff (5 stars)

The staff at the Brunerie Hotel were polite, friendly and very efficient. They were always very well turned out and provided great service no matter the time of day. All the staff spoke English but learning a little bit of French goes a long way and is greatly received.


Hotel – Facilities (3/4 stars)

The hotel had a gym, swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi which were a little less than expected as the pictures of the hotel seemed a little deceptive. The gym is near non-existent and sits in a walkthrough area for the swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. It consists of one weight bench and a cross trainer which is not ideal for a workout but one can be achieved if necessary. The sauna was up to date but small (max 5 people), the Jacuzzi was a small hot pool with seats, and no bubbles I’m afraid :(. The swimming pool was a decent temperature but yet again very small and due to its shape prohibits you from any real swimming. They also had a ping pong table situated in a dilapidated room which needs freshening up, it was dirty, and seemed to be a storage place for random broken chairs. There was also massage facilities, I however did not use this facility so would not like to comment.
All in all the facilities were very basic, but as I spent most of my days skiing, they were simply small added bonuses for resting my legs on my return.


Hotel – Cleanliness (4 stars)

The hotel itself is kept generally very clean, however it didn’t get full stars as there seemed to be areas which received great attention to detail (restaurant, reception and bar) and then others which were somewhat lacking (ping pong area, briefing room and pool area).


Hotel – Rooms (3 stars)

I am only able to comment on the room I had and this may not be an accurate reflection on other rooms. My room however was very small, had no facilities I would have liked such as a kettle (brew kit), small fridge or storage space. On a more positive note the room was cleaned daily and had decent bathroom facilities (decent shower), the room also separated the toilet from the bathroom making it easier for two people to get ready at the same time. The beds were comfy and I had no problems with any noise, from other rooms or outside.


Hotel – Food (5 stars)

Breakfast – a selection of breads, pastries, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal and hot food (scrambled egg, sausage and bacon). All food was fresh and well presented.

Lunch – This is a pack lunch which is available for collection in the morning to take with you on the ski resort. You were entitled to a sandwich, piece of fruit, drink, crisps and there is also a selection of small snacks, such as baby bells etc. All in all a very good idea, however the apparent value of your pack lunch advertised at €16 is highly unlikely.

Dinner – They had a buffet style area for your starters and deserts. The starter area was well presented and had a wide variety of choice. The desert area again had a good selection but I was a little disappointed that none were hot. The main was always well cooked and well presented, usually consisting of a meat (duck, fish, chicken and steak), carbs (potato, rice and chips) and veg.

I enjoyed every meal within the hotel and all was cooked exceptionally well however if you are a fussy eater you may be disappointed. The main was one meat, carb and veg with no choice of what it was that evening.


Resort (5 starts)

Le Deux Alpes has a wide selection of routes and runs for all types of skier and is very well maintained. There is a wide selection of bars and restaurants with good Après ski. If you have never been to the ski area it is worth a visit, although you can run out of new places to ski in the second half of the week.


Crystal reps (2 stars)

The Crystal reps turned up and that was about it, information was poor and a sense of service was lacking. An example being one of the trips we booked which was a day at Alpe D’Huze. The Crystal reps said to be ready for 8 am when they didn’t turn up till 8.30 am, even the hotel manager said they would be late and would not arrive until 8.30-8.45 am! There was a complete lack of communication of what was going on when the mini buses arrived, no maps were provided for the new resort and when we asked about them they said you can just go to the ticket office! Once dropped off if was a matter of I’ll meet you back here at 4 pm, no contact numbers until asked or any further information provided. Very poor! However the actual holiday with Crystal ran smoothly (transfers etc)

Overall – Good value for money and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 98webp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRANOVAPLAGNE, Responsable relations clients at Brunerie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for your very detailed comments. This is really important for us it helps us to improve our services and quality.
Thank you also for notes that are very clear!
We hope to welcome you on your next French Alps trip.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.6 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#5 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#4 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jam Session
Hotel Jam Session
#16 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunerie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunerie Hotel

Address: 59 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range: $166 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunerie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brunerie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunerie Hotel Les Deux Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing