We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position great hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Berangere
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

One of the better Mark Warner hotels. Well run, friendly staff and food mostly good. There was the odd mishap on attempts at vegetarian food! Room was great (3rd floor overlooking road/mountain) clean, spacious and modern. The staff were friendly, ski hosting was brilliant ( well done Oli) the position of the hotel is second to none. Had a great week over Christmas. Would return to this hotel again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellafionacoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 180 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my first skiing holiday with my children (now 7 and 9 years old) and to be honest, I was worried that the family-friendly chalet/hotel wouldn't be my cup of tea, but the Berangere was in many ways brilliant. Right next door to the nursery slopes and lifts up to a great choice of runs of Les Deux Alpes. The superior ski equipment was all new this season. ESF Ski School instructors were friendly and fun and soon had my children loving the slopes (what a relief!). Children's food was fresh and varied. Fabulous breakfasts and dinner (including a very passable Sauvignon Blanc and Merlot). Mark Warner have child-care completely covered. The ski guide was very easy to be with. It's Hannah, the manager's 3rd year here so she's really got her staff sorted - everyone was polite and helpful. Afternoon tea could have started a little earlier than 4.30pm as it got very busy with limited seating, but the savoury and sweet selection was lovely. The Berangere really needs modernising - much peeling paper, flaking paint, stains and holes! But honestly, I stopped caring as everyone was happy regardless.

Room Tip: The rooms vary enormously so enquire about size, view, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank che55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am fairly new to skiing (5 years) but having been away with Inghams, Crystal, Mark Warner and Skiworld I have to say that Mark Warner are my favourite. From the minute you arrive at the airport the experience is a good one - I don't know how they choose their staff but whatever they do, they do it right! The hotel is quite large but not too large. A few too many children for my personal liking however they generally aren't in the restaurant at dinner time which is good. I was with a group of 20 and everyone seemed satisfied. The food was good, the rooms large and airy. We had a bath and a great view of the slopes and everything we needed although the hairdryers were a bit low on the blow! I didn't get to use the leisure facilities myself preferring the open air pool in the village however those in the group that did really enjoyed it and those that availed themselves of the 'salon extras' such as facials, massages etc raved about them. A good location for ski in, ski out, great staff and well maintained slopes - overall a great thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you're looking for a chalet which is suitable for small children, then Berangere is great. If you're looking for a quiet, child-free hotel, then avoid this chalet. Berangere is quite a large chalet, the location, rooms, meals and staff are excellent, but the atmosphere at breakfast/ teatime was too noisy for me to chill-out before/after a day on the slopes. Dinner was more relaxed as the youngest children had an earlier tea and were mostly in bed by 8pm.
I believe that Mark Warner do offer adult only hotels, so I will choose my next trip more carefully.

Room Tip: A room with a bath is always a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willitfitinmycase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Following a disappointing trip with Mark Warner to Chalethotel Dahu in Courchevel last year I was a bit apprehensive about booking with them again. After much research and debate we decided on the Berangere mainly because of the 2-4-1 lift pass offer but also because we wanted to try a different resort other than VD/ 3 valleys.

Despite the weather chaos at Gatwick/Heathrow our flight took off with a short delay. We did have to wait an hour for the late Heathrow flight but we were in the resort by 5pm and just in time for afternoon tea.

Despite the negative reviews on Tripadvisor I thought the hotel was much better than I expected. It certainly wasn't modern but was clean, well organised and also had a pool, sauna, steamroom with jacuzzi (which wasn't working). The bedrooms were also a decent size and we were not disturbed on any night but then again we were on the third floor. The location was excellent- just a short walk to town (3 minutes) but literally on the slopes which made life very easy when coming back in the evening.

All the staff were very friendly and generally the food was good each day other than on the social night (too many dishes to choose from but none tasted that great). Each day you had to book your slot for dinner but even if you forgot, the latest you would eat was 8.30pm. Breakfast was first come first serve which meant it was busy with families early on but empty an hour later which was much better for us. That did mean that occasionally there was a shortage of food but for the most part it was fine.

Aside from skiing over the course of the week we spent most of our time in the hotel sitting around the fire, eating tea and drinking vin chaud. There were a couple of quizzes during the week which were good fun although we lost miserably.

The skiing was great as the conditions were perfect (snow for 2 days then clear blue skies) and there was a huge amount of off piste to tempt you. One point about the resort- to get back you either have a choice of a 4.5km narrow green run or a steep black. The black wasn't a problem for me but the green was always super busy and full of beginners struggling to get back. Avoid this at all costs and take the lift down!

On the subject of annoyances there were a couple- rubbish shower attachment and lack of veggie options in the morning (you had to order veg sausages but they didn't always have them). For the life of me I could not work out why our shower did not have a slider bar which would allow the shower to go up and down and actually point to where you want it. Please change for next season!

Overall we had a really good time in Deux Alps at the Berangere and would definitely go back. It certainly is very family orientated but not enough to put us off!

Tips:

Eating out:
On chalet night off we headed to a restaurant called Les Sagnes which was lovely (open fire, rustic etc). There were lots to choose from but they were all very meat orientated whereas this one had a good choice of non-meat dishes. We had starters, galettes, wine, dessert and the bill was pretty reasonable.

Drinking:
Check out the windsor pub for a cosy pub to enjoy beers of the world (Leffe, Hoegaarden). The Polar Bear was meant to be a good place as well.

Board shop:
So many to choose from but got some nice new bindings from La Fabrik as the guy was so helpful. Wax and edging was 20 Euros.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Within a few minutes of landing at Grenoble Airport we were directed to our transfer coach, with a Mark Warner rep who gave us details of the week ahead and individual advice about passes and ski hire. On arrival we were greeted by most of the staff and our luggage delivered to our room. The hotel is a "Silence hotel", and was very quiet throughout as all areas are carpeted. Our room was a good size, with a very large bed and lots of storage. The furniture was dark wood and had been cleaned vigorously resulting in a rather scruffy appearance, which could easily have been remedied by a rub down and a coat of varnish. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, complete with lovely soft feather pillows and a lightweight but very warm down duvet. The bathroom was newly fitted, strangely let down by a very poor quality plastic shower head .The room looked across to the opposite hillside, and didn't get sun until very late in the day, which wasn't a problem anyway as it was too cold to use the balcony. The meals were fairly good and plentiful but the food was never very hot, partly due to cold plates I think. The swimming pool ,steam room and sauna were superb,especially as we were often the only users. The location is excellent for access to the easy slopes, and not too far out of the centre of town, and is on the free bus route. All the staff were very friendly and always ready to talk to you and advise or help in any way. The families we talked to rated the childcare very highly and they all seemed very well looked after and happy. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies either look towards the slopes and are very sunny, or towards the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

You know - or need to know - what you get with Mark Warner : a potentially slightly tired but superbly located hotel just feet from the slopes, enthusiastic and well-marshalled young staff who do an excellent job given their youthfulness, and a strong social atmosphere. After that, it's what you decide to make of it and how you manage your own expectations. Just as in Courchevel last year, we loved it. The kids made good friends and the ski school and child care are great; the food is plentiful and the evening dinner menus and cooking were impressive in their ambition, given the numbers they cater for in a high season week. None of this is luxury; if you're a big cheese who flies internationally half your life and only stays in five star hotels on expenses then i'm sure you can find something to grumble about, like the permanently sour faced guest i heard complaining that there hadn't been any porridge for two days; but for the rest of us out for a good time this is just the ticket. The manager Hannah and deputy Tristan provide the leadership that delivers results. If Les Deux Alpes has one drawback its the slopes back into town: the green is narrow and can be crowded, whilst the black nearest the hotel is steep to begin with but soon flattens out. One option is to ski the top half of the green then join the black halfway down, by which time it is becoming red and then quickly blue. If you want to take the helicopter to Alpe d'Huez book through the hotel as soon as you get there; personally we found the lifts crowded, too much poling on flat bits and poorly signed, though others liked it.

Room Tip: Any room facing the slopes, on any floor - all the rooms seems to have good views one way or another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#5 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.9 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#6 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#15 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#3 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Berangere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Berangere

Address: 11 Route de Champame, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Hotel Berangere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Berangere Hotel Les Deux Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing