We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in a great location at the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Belle Etoile Hotel
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and 4 friends stayed here last week, a lads holiday (over 30's!) We've been away every year for the past 7 years to different resorts in France, Italy, Andorra and Austria so we have a fairly good idea of what to expect on these holidays. We we're all impressed by this hotel and were very well looked after by the Italian staff.

Location - The hotel is in a great location, the Super Venosc chair lift is right behind the hotel, and just a 5 minute walk to the Diable chair lift. The better bars and shops in the resort are pretty much on the doorstep, but not close enough to cause a problem.

Rooms - It's a small hotel with only 29 rooms, I managed to take a look at 4 of them all of which were very different sizes and décor, they we're all en-suite rooms, which were all clean and good sizes with plenty of room to hang up wet ski gear. Rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed. Each aspect of the hotel faces a mountain so views from the rooms are all good.

Meals - We stayed half-board. The hotel is run by Italians and so food can be a mix of Italian and French.
Breakfast was a continental style buffet with plenty of choice of Fruit, Yogurt, Cereal, Cold meats, Cheese, bread, eggs, croissants, juices, tea, coffee etc. There's no cooked breakfast, but this is France! All in all though a good breakfast for a day on the slopes.
The Evening Meals were all good with plenty of choice, we had a vegetarian with us and although there wasn't a vegetarian option on the menu he was always well catered for. First you have a choice of salad buffet and bread, followed by a choice of 3 starters, then a choice of 3 main meals and a desert, fruit is also always available. One of the evenings was French night so we got to try snails and frogs legs - this was optional! Not the best meals I've ever had, but no complaints from any of us and we we're all stuffed afterwards.

Facilities - The hotel has a heated boot room in the basement, so nice dry warm boots everyday. In reception there's small bar with a pool table. Downstairs a small gym with table tennis . The Sauna and Jacuzzi room has to be pre-booked for 30/60 minute slots which at first I thought was a negative, but actually is excellent as you have the place to yourselves (up to 6 people) so you can really relax with a few beers in the Jacuzzi!

I think we'd all happily return to the hotel our only problem is that the mountain just doesn't have enough Piste area for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silveter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We Stayed for a week 12th-19th Jan 2013 for a Snowboarding holiday as a group of five, we were met on arrival by the owners of the hotel (always a nice touch).
When booking we made a slight error with the room arrangements (our fault) which was picked up very quickly by the manager of the hotel and rectified, which ultimately resulted in us getting a extra room at no additional cost.
The Belle is well positioned for lift access for both mountains, a couple minutes walk and you will be on the lifts aswell as shops and restaurants nearby. The three rooms we had were all fine no complaints, clean and serviced daily. Each room was allocated a ski locker downstairs in a heated room which enables you to exit the hotel easily once booting up.
We were on a half board basis which we all thorughly enjoyed, breakfast was simple yet plentyful and the evening meals lovley, starting with a buffet starter and followed by some impressive mains and desserts, one of the party was vegitarian who staff went out of the way to cater for. Service was great i dont think we ever ran out out bread or drink and portions were more than adquate.
Everyday after returning from the slopes we booked the hotels spa facilities wich consist of a Jacuzzi and sauna for a 1hr slot which really helps with those aches and pains you have accumilated throughout the day, always very clean and five fresh towels waiting for us.
Overall we had a great stay, staff were great Wifi worked well enough to stream movies, we were served breakfast at 5am prior to transfer home I really dont think you can go wrong with the Belle Etoile.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here over the Xmas period for a bit of early skiing in the season.
The hotel is what you would come to expect of a 3 star in an alpine resort.
The room had 2 beds, a double and a single that is separated by a good partition. There was a bath/shower room with a separate toilet. Bidet was in the shower room if you use those. There is a hair dryer provided but no shaver socket so don't forget your adapters. Towels are supplied and changed on a daily basis when your room is made up.
The room also comes with a safe which is free to use, there is a telly provided but we never used it so I couldn't tell you what the reception is like. We utilised the free wi-fi to the max for our room entertainment fix.
The hotel has a small spa area that you book out in half hour slots which you have all to yourselves which is great after a long days skiing. There are seperate towels for this that you get from reception when you book the spa slot. Spa has a sauna, jacuzzi and shower. There were other rooms here but they were not working at the time of our visit. There is also a gym but we didn't use it while we were there so can't comment on it.
Ski and boot room is in the basement with the spa and gym. This is a heated room to keep your boots nice and toastie for when you put them on in the morning. There is a back door which leads to a 3 min walk to the chair lift for the small slope or a 7 min walk to the red lift pods to the high side of the mountain. Not bad for a non doorstep skiing hotel. The Aalborg hotel is also only a 5 min walk away where all the Neilsen entertainment happens and probably where you'll end up skiing back to after a day on the slopes. Also the nursery slopes are here so if you are having lessons this is where you'll start off.
All the staff are friendly and helpful. Luca is the star of the dining room keeping everyone entertained with his antics. We were half board so that consisted of a fairly standard continental breakfast and as it is an Italian hotel, a 4 course dinner. This was my only major gripe with the hotel. Dinner starts off with a cold buffet of salads and breads/mini pizzas, then a small pasta dish, then a small meat dish and finishing off with a dessert. All the food was very good except for the fact that more often than not it arrived on the table tepid and not hot. The plates the food were served on were never heated which would probably have solved this. It didn't happen all the time but quite often. There was also a fair bit of recycling parts of the meal from the night before which is slightly understandable. There are also no drinks, not even water, included with the meal which feels a bit cheeky as you have to order a bottle of water every night rather than good old tap which is fine for me. You are in the alps after all.
Overall impressions, a great little hotel to experience the resort of les deux alps. Staff friendly and very helpful. I would definitely come back here if I skied deux alps again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We steyed here for a week in March and were a little apprehensive considering some of the reviews on here, however we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right on the main strip, close to the diable lift. Staff were very friendly on arrival, and although our room wasn't available, were able to store our luggage, although not sure how securley!
Once in our room, although small and with only a shower and no bath, was very cosy and comfortable bed was big!!

Now we were warned by the manger they eat a lot, I did not realise how much they meant, although you have to order your food the night before for dinner the next day but that's ok, varying meal each night. Appatizer is a huge slad bar, followed by a starter either a soup or a massive pasta dish, followed by your choice of main then a dessert!! Breakfast is good with a big continental selection. One night we were shipped off to a restaurant accross the road, food included in holiday price (assume this was Chefs night off) which was nice for a change or scenery.

There are secure lockers available at no charge for boots and boards etc. Also free WiFi, which is great. NO english TV though, everything in German or Italian.

They have a lovely sauna and jacuzzi (although this was a liitle cool). We only used this towrads the end of our stay and wished we'd used it sooner. You can book this out for 30mins exclusively for yourselves at reception, a lovely way to relax after a tough day on the slopes!

Overall really enjoyed this hotel, and if we are to retun to L2D would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLLChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Great location adjacent to both the Diable lift as well the other side of the valley (where you can ski in the morning sun); both lifts were a very short walk.

Staff very friendly as well.

Food - italian. Which means lots of it and very tasty. Glad that we were skiing to exercise it all off.

Internet access - we were given passcodes that lasted for the duration of our visit - hurrah! Wouldn't it be great if all hotels gave free wifi access?

Only negative - small bath, however I am 1.91m tall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjameswindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I am quite astounded reading the reviews of this hotel. the 3 stars really are a joke. The rooms are tiny, the bathroom equally tiny but the food was absolutely disgusting. Being italian run we were expecting a reasonable level of food but it really was poor. We normally stay in 2star hotels in Les 2 Alpes and have half board which is normally very good. We return every year but nothing would entice me back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Stayed at Belle Etoile with a friend for a weeks ski holiday. Our delayed flight meant we arrived at the hotel 11pm, we had missed dinner but the hotel manager made sure there was food & drinks in our room. The hotel was clean & comfortable. All hotel staff were very polite & friendly. The waiting staff in the restaurant made dining a pleasure; they were extremely helpful. The evening meals were all very good with a variety of foods to cater for most tastes. The jaccuzi & sauna was an added bonus. I was a bit concerned initially of staying in a 3 star hotel however the Belle Etoile was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LOWBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.2 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#4 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#5 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
134 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Des Neiges
Hotel Des Neiges
#30 of 42 in Les Deux-Alpes
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Etoile Hotel

Address: 111 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range: $135 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Belle Etoile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Belle Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing