We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff incompetence ends in theft from room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Muzelle
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff incompetence ends in theft from room!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I highly recommend Les Deux-Alps as your next winter holiday destination, it is an excellent ski restort. The same cannot be sayd for "Residence La Muzelle" by the Maeva hotel group.
I woke up a saturday morning to 30cm of fresh power, my friends and I headed out to the mountain 15min before the first lift opened to be the fist to draw lines down the mountain. That amazing day ended with the worst of findings. When we returned to the room we found that 2 iphones, an ipod, a camera, a wrist watch and some euros had been stolen from our room. When we came back the door was locked. Only the small objects that where lying around where stolen not the computers and large cameras, which are much more valuable. Who could have been in our room?
To make matters worse the day after our things where stolen, one of the staff members (Boris) was drunk on duty. He was told to go home but refused. This drunk staff member followed some of the girls that came with our group. Boris told the group that he was in charge of security in the hotel and that he had the key to all the rooms. When we found out that there was a staff member with a key to all the rooms behaving in such an unprofessional manner one of the guy that was staying in my room went to talk to him. This went very well, Boris offered him drugs...
We told the hotel manager about the theft and the situation with Boris, she was very willing to help. We also involved the police, they searched Boris' apartment but nothing was found.
You would expect that after such a terrible experience in the Hotel a large chain like Maeva would give us some compensation... NOTHING!, and that is why I write this review.
So, my advice: If you do not want to get your belongings stolen from one of the hotels staff members pay a little extra and stay at a respectable hotel and not at "Maeva Residence La Muzelle". In fact do not stay in any Maeva hotel; apparently they do not have any standard procedures for customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maevaisnogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    29
    33
    31
    43
See reviews for
53
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed in the Maeva Residence La Muzelle in the second week of January 2012. Our apartment was clean and had all the necessary cooking utensils but you will need to bring your own washing up liquid/bleach/handwash but one toilet roll was provided. It is situated in a great location, only 25 metres to the nearest spar shop, there are several pubs and restaurants very close by and it only took about 2 minutes to get onto the nursery slopes. The reception staff provided us with two locker keys for our snowboards and ski's which was really useful. The resort itself is fantastic, there is a snow-board park, high altitude clubbing bar which is a lovely place to take a break on a sun lounger and enjoy a mulled wine at happy hour cost only 2 euros. There are also glacier ice caves at 3600m high which contain amazing sculptures and its definitely worth the 4 euros they charge you to go in. There was a lot of noise at night, with people coming back to their apartments drunk and mistaking the doorbells for light switches! also lots of dogs barking. However, if you can manage a few interruptions and a broken nights sleep then I strongly recommend this accommodation. I don't feel it is really appropriate for family's due to the fact it is predominately full of younger people (i.e university students just out for a good time) there is a great night life and we found it was better to go out and join in than stay in getting grumpy about the noise! also some family's may have found the language used offensive. In the room there was a flat screen tv with music channels, a good size fridge, dishwasher, a nice shower but no bath mat so the floor got quite wet! The room also had a balcony which was good to get some fresh air and also to admire the fantastic mountain view. You are expected to clean the apartment to the standard you found it. You bring the bed sheets to reception on your check out day and fold the blankets back up and into the wardrobe this made me wonder how often they are washed although they appeared clean. Overall I think we had great value for money and a truly awesome holiday :)

Room Tip: We booked a studio apartment, it had a sofa bed (double) and bunk beds. There was 3 of us in the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Further to travelling with a group of friends 11 (Skiing and Snowboarding) - We viewed this as a cheap holiday and wasn't expecting luxury for the price paid.

Although we were expecting a few essentials - like a shower curtain (if you have a spare - take one as the bathroom just gets soaked), bathroom soap on arrival / bin bags on arrival / toilet roll on arrival / and to be clean???

The hotel / youth hostel (better put) charges a 200 Euro deposit for the rooms (each room), which is understandable considering some of the guests that were located there. To which we did not have an issue with, but the checking out / cleaning / charges were astronomical compared to the standard of cleanliness received upon arrival. My other half cleaning all surfaces before opening her suitcase due to dust / grime.

The bathroom was very basic, crampt, but warm and had a nice hot shower....everything else was annoying - don't have the radiator on for half an hour before you need the loo - otherwise you might burn your arms getting the toilet roll.
Bring your own shower curtain - as everything gets wet otherwise (terrible design + no curtain)

Bedroom 1 (Bunkbeds) - is also the entrance to the apartment & to the toilet - so do not expect any sort of privacy.
Bedroom 2 (Pull out double sofa bed) - not clean, very loud (due to local nightclub / bar) & the double glazing is as useful as a waterproof sponge.

Also just a note - the walls are pretty thin - so be aware that you might get told to keep the noise down - even if you are "having fun with your partner" - or coughing loudly after 23:00hrs.
On this note - we were made aware by other guests - that you could be fined for "Excessive Noise" - Although this did not include the nightclub opposite which meant you had to talk louder than a whisper in your own room.

Also make sure you check for covers & request more from the reception - we had 2 between 4 people and the reception had none left when we requested more. (temperature were below minus 20 for some parts of the week so were sleeping under everything we found in our suitcases).

Kitchen - well kitted out - but again not clean. Dishwasher present (to save on wasted time cleaning) & had a filter coffee machine which was a nice surprise.
Make sure you clean this prior to leaving - otherwise a heafty bill can be added when you leave.

Ski / Snowboard Locker - Considering our room was for 4 people - the ski locker was pretty pointless - it could not hold more than 3 sets of skis & poles - and considering all four of us ski & snowboard (things had to be transported up and down the stairs - 3 flights) - 10 minute walk.

Lift - Do not bother waiting for it - slow and kept breaking down.

Television - All in French... but keep hold of the remote as they will charge if you lose it (I'm assuming as this did not happen)

Apart from the state of the premises - location was great for the Diable bubble lift and the supermarket (underneath) & bowling alley (underneath).
Although a walk to the main lifts was a good 10 minute walk, and to any beginners - try renting a locker there for your gear!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing away from the main slopes - as this will help reduce the disturbance of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Les Deux-Alpes hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The family just returned from a 7 night stay at the La Muzelle apartments.
To sum up the accomodation i would say "bargain basement" or "functional"

We read some poor reviews before we booked but figured that so long as it was clean and warm we would ignore anything else to focus on the skiing.

Well thats exactly what we did because i recognised the basis of most of the comments that we had read.

The apartments are resonably well located about 2 minutes walk from one of the lowest of the small gondola lifts and a further minute from the nursery slopes.

The cause of most issues is that the apartments are largely occupied by a youthful generation looking for cheap and functional accomodation. This combined with only minimal reception opening hours meant that pretty much no policing of behaviour occured.

Given we were tired enough to sleep through most things we could close our door on it.

The room itself was small and basic for 4:- sink, hob, microwave, table, fold out bed, bunks for the kids, v small bathroom, 2 heaters (it was -20 outside when we were there), and a very small ski locker downstairs (only big enough for ski's / sticks).

If like us you are there to focus soley on the excellent skiing...carry on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomElB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

When i was younger i tried to save money by living in my parents "summer house" - basically a shed with windows. It was drafty, cold and I was woken up by every animal that decided to fornicate nearby.

This place was worse. Interestingly it came with its own set of fornicating animals. While both sets seemed equally intent on emptying all refuse sacks and scattering them over the surrounding area, at least the fornicating animals outside my shed would clear off after a few minutes. These booted doors through, rang doorbells and rioted until first lift.

The sound dampening through the walls in the old shed was similar. I had clear conversations with my neighbours through both.

It was a lot less drafty in the old shed too. Both places had single glazed windows, however one set was trying to insulate against the odd shower, the other against an angry alpine -25c winter.

This cold combined with the Muzelle's lack of a shower curtain and non functioning extractors meant all walls surrounding the bathroom and adjacent bedroom were damp and covered in mould. We all got sick.

On the plus side, L2A is one of the best resorts I have visited and this place is in a great location. Right next to the lift, supermarkets and lots of quirky bars and restaurants. If you are planning a stay at the Muzelle, I would recommend spending as much time in these as possible.

The beanbags in Secret are a good place to catch some sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerRick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Had a week at Ski Horizons Muzelle from 14th - 21st January 2012,

Pros;

Very Cheap, Close to the Red Eggs ski lift, Supermarket & bakery very close by, Nice friendly restaurant just across the road.

Cons;

Very Basic, not particularly clean when we arrived, only one key all week despite the promise that another key would be found, No tea or coffee cups/mugs all week despite the promise that some would arrive, small ski locker which would no way fit 4 sets of ski's or boards, Room fine for 3 adults but reckon there'd be problems with 4 trying to share for a week, also couldn't check in until 5pm when we arrived in town at 11 am.

Saving the biggest whinge till last, the noice from the Yeti bar below and the local French youth hostel was horrendous managed to sleep most nights until approx 1.30 am then awake from then till approx 3.30 when the noise died down. Not the Muzelle's fault but would put me off staying here again.

Les Duex Alpes itself was fine however had a day at Alpe D'huez on the lift pass and that seemed ace so I know where I'm off next year!

Room Tip: If you like it quiet. Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidsa2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just got back from a week in these appartment and a great week on the pistes. Les Deux Alpes is great as anyone who has been will tell you. Loads of snow and a great park as well. This apartments is 50m from the 'red eggs' that get you started up the big side of the mountain so no distance at all to walk. There is a supermarket basically underneath the apartments that stays open till 8 every night, and as pretty much everything you need. There is also a patiserrie very close for morning pastries/bread and an excellent restaurant just out the back too. There are two or three bars within spitting distance too, unfortunately our room looked out over the very pretty square in the middle of the apartments that contained one of these bars. The noise was ridiculous!! It stayed open till 2, and people would hang around for a while after that being generally noisy. If your room was round the back you'd probably not even notice but where we were, a pair of earplugs would have been very handy!! There was a bit of noise from the neighbours too (a group of young lads) when they came in from a night out but that is to be expected in a place like this. The bed was a pull out sofa too, and this squeeked like I've never known!! Loud enough to wake you up! It was also a bit short (I am 6 foot 3 though) so tall folk beware!

As described in other reviews there is a coffee machine, microwave with weird grill thing in it (you have to have the microwave on to activate the grill I think) and a 4 ring electric hob and a dishwasher. There were 3 large frying pans and 2 large saucepans perfect for pasta. The utensils were knives/forks/spoons, one bread knife, one (very blunt) slicing knife and two ladels which was a bit bizarre. It was also a bit odd cooking for two people with big pans etc. but not a hassle. You'll need to buy everything unless you want to cart it over though (i.e. salt/pepper/oil/herbs etc.) so perhaps take a few little packets with you? Might be me being tight but I always resent buying all that stuff and leaving it behind!!!

I thought the room was fine for 2 people, but I think with 4 it would be a bit crowded and a pain to have to fold up the sofa bed every day so you could sit round. The telly was good and if you took a laptop and a lead (the telly had all connectors, even VGA) you could easily watch movies or whatever on there. The internet is fairly cheap too with two options (basic and unlimited) and we got a fairly decent download speed. Probably not enough for streaming but if you leave it on while you go riding you can download films in plenty of time if you wanted to.

We went with crystal, and as a few people have said already, you can't check in until 5 in this place. We arrived in resort about 1, and were dropped at a bar called smokey joes where we left all our bags and went for a wander around. We checked in at 5 and then crystal brought our bags over for us at about 8. I'd suggest taking the bags with you when you check in unless you want to wait around for ages without any of your stuff but it is a fair old trek (10 -15 mis with bags) from the bar, in the snow of course. I was a bit gutted that crystal didn't tell us about that before hand but that's what this site is for I guess!!!

So all in all, a great little place but let down by the noise late at night. Not the fault of the hotel though, and if you read these reviews on here and decide to go then definitely take some earplugs and some WD40 (for the bed!!). You might get lucky and get a room out the back (or perhaps ask for one when you book?) but if not then you have been warned!!!

Room Tip: Request one that doesn't look over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s24da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence L'Edelweiss
Residence L'Edelweiss
#29 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Cortina
Residence Le Cortina
#22 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Neiges
Hotel Des Neiges
#28 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#20 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Pied Moutet
Le Pied Moutet
#25 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#4 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Muzelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Muzelle

Property: Residence La Muzelle
Address: 3 Place de Venosc, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence La Muzelle 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An invigorating, sunny resort at the foot of the largest glacier in Europe. A residence in the pedestrian place of Venosc. Very close to the shops (20m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence La Muzelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence La Muzelle Hotel Les Deux-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing