We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Puebla, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great value!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mercure Les Deux Alpes in Alpe dHuez for 5 nights over the New Year's Eve holiday, and we were absolutely positively surprised.
Check-in was effortless and very efficient. The rooms are spacious and has 4 beds, flat screen tv, a nice and clean bathroom, and a balcony with a nice view of the mountain and two very comfortable lounge chairs to chill in after returning from the slopes.
The hotel is ski-in, ski-out with several ski rental shops right next to the hotel and the main lift.
The hotel has a bar/lounge with live entertainment almost every night. They also prepare french crepes there during after-ski hours. There are also a couple of pool tables and some other games for the kids.
I definitely recommend the breakfast and dinner option, because the food was great. We traveled with a large group and it was very comfortable not to have look for a restaurant that pleases "everyone" and having to split checks etc. For New Years Eve they prepared a special menu and a nice party in the lounge.
The main chair lift is just next to the hotel and the lift ticket is just some $40 a day. We had excellent weather for the first three days and my recommendation is to take the gondolas to the top of the mountain, there you'll find the best slopes. From the top to bottom you have half an hour of continuous incredible skiing.
There is free shuttle bus that takes you down the valley to the town where you'll find ice skating, shops and some great restaurants.

A few other points are;
We flew into Geneva airport, and we stayed one night at the Kempinski to be able to do some sightseeing. There is a trolley sightseeing train on the other side of the lake that will show you old Geneva. I also recommend Leman Transfer Intelligence shuttle service http://alpedhueznet.com/, they were very professional and punctual. A relative dropped her wallet in the van. We alerted the company and the chauffeur found it and returned it a couple of days later during another drop off.
We usually travel to Colorado or Canada to ski, but I have to say that Alpe dHuez is a great value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear traveller, Good morning,

We would like to thank you for your comment, and the time spent to publish it on the Trip Advisor Web site, regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Les Deux Alpes.

We are very pleased to read that you spent a nice stay in this hotel, in particular the restaurant, the area, and the atmosphere of the hotel. Please be assured that it will be transfer to our manager and his staff.

For your information, the Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 is located in Les Deux Alpes and not in Alpe D’huez, which is the village the next village.

We are looking forward to see you for the next winter holidays!

Kind regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    192
    79
    38
    14
See reviews for
215
112
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton keynes
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an ill fated ski holiday.

The hotel is nothing special, way out of town, hard to get to, but the staff are exceptional.

They were understanding of change and helped arrange a long distance at a fair price. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Traveller, good morning,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share a review on your stay at the Mercure Hotel Les Deux Alpes 1800.

We were pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure to share your kind words with our staff!

We are looking forward to welcoming you for a next stay in the mountain.

Best Regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at Le Mercure Les 2 Alpes 1800 in Feb 2013 for a skking holiday and would recommend to anyone. We had a superior room for 4 (2 adults & 2 children), room was a bit small for 4 people but the view was great and the staff very accomodating and generally went out of their way to make your stay as pleasant a possible. We stayed 1/2 board and the food was absolutely increadible. An amazing choice of different foods every day in abondance, a separate kids station, a salad station, a cheese station and a dessert station which was out of this world! Although all the waiters were really pleasant, we took a liking to one in particular - Boris Becker (yes it's his real name!). He went out of his way every day to ensure we had as pleasant a meal as possible, chatty, open, polite and just increadibly nice. He deserves a gold medal for best waiter (or commis de salle as they call it in French) of the year!

The room: As mentioned, room for 4 people was a bit on the small side. We were given a room for disabled so bathroom had a walk in Italian shower (absolutely beautiful!). So beautiful we couldn't understand why the small details weren't there. Small things such as more towel hooks (we had 1 to share between the 4 of us), no shower caps, not much soap and a very iffy wall hair dryer, which bearly blew hot hair and was half broken, although a quick chat with reception and we were given a proper hair dryer for the week. Other than that, room was comfortable and clean.

Hotel was out of the centre of Les 2 Alpes but for a family holiday it was perfect. Accessible to the slopes which were pretty much on the doorstep.

Overall experience was great and would defenitely recommend to anyone looking or a pleasant family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroniqueSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear traveller, Good morning,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments, and the time spent to publish this comment on the Trip Advisor Web site, regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Les Deux Alpes.

We are very pleased to read that you spend a nice stay in this hotel, in particular regarding our buffet, the evening.


Could you please, just accept our apologies for the hair dryer broken and the lack of bathroom products. This kind of comment allowed us to improve the service quality, for the next guest’s stay.


Please be assured that it will be transfer to our manager and his staff.

We are looking forward to see you for the next winter holidays!

Kind regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We drove from Lyon airport and spent 6 nights here in Feb 2013 in a (spacious) Superior room with a fab view.

Location - Really good as only a 3 min walk to the nearest ski lift. Definitely ski in but not ski out.

Reception - Very helpful and polite and all spoke very good english. They were keen to resolve issues (and we had a couple) ...

Our room - We were initially put in a room on a low floor (not a great view) but after a quick visit to reception we were moved to a room on a higher floor.

The room itself is massive with 4 single beds, a large bathroom (big fluffy bath towels) with a shower over the bath although the water pressure isnt that good.

We had a couple of issues with this room the first being that the shower didn't work properly which was eventually fixed after speaking with reception 3 times and the second was that there was a horrible smell in the bathroom that in spite of many requests for service was still not resolved by the time we left the hotel.

As a result of these issues, they sent us a bottle of wine to our room to apologise - an unexpected but appreciated gesture.

Bar - Loads of comfortable seating space with extensive range of drinks and great staff to serve them. The drinks prices are not cheap though.

Food - Dinner is served as an extensive buffet and includes a kids meal section, a soup station, a salad, seafood and dried meats bar, raclette, about 3/4 entrees plus 2/3 vegetable dishes and then if thats not enough there is a massive dessert bar plus a cheese board and fresh fruits to finish. The breakfast buffet is no less an amazing fare with an extensive array of hot and cold goodies.

Possibly whats sets this hotel sets itself apart is its very accommodating and friendly head chef, Marius. As vegetarians, Marius went out of his way to suggest and make us the most amazing food. One word of caution is that Marius doesn't 'do' small portions but does make an amazing fondue and gnocchi !

Facilities - Free wifi with great all over hotel coverage as well as a free covered car park.

Would I stay here again & recommend this hotel - YES.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor for a better view of the mountain and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnleftisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest, Good Morning,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in the Mercure hotel Les Deux Alpes 1800.

Be ensured that your comments will be pass on all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better. In fact, we try to ensure about the guest satisfaction.

We would like to thank you for the congratulations regarding the buffet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!

Kind regards,

Customers Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked this hotel on the internet and entered that I wanted accomodation for 2 adults and 3 children and was given a price for the superior suite which sleeps 5. I booked and paid for this but was sent an e-mail 2 days later to say that the children would be additional charge of approx £300 as they were not included on the original quote (despite it being a room for 5 and I had originally stated it was for 3 children as well). We had no choice but to go ahead as we had already paid for the room and it was on a non-refundable deal.
Otherwise it was reasonable accomodation although right at one end of the town and uphill with only 1 ski lift nearby. All the others and most restaurants etc were a bit of a walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2746_fo, HOTEL MERCURE LES DEUX ALPES 1800 at Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our hotel.

We inform you that the price on Internet does not include the extra fees for the children, beacuse the price depends of the age of the chidren. It is That why, we remind you by e-mail the child policy where you can finf it direclty one our website.

Otherwise, We were pleased, you really enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Mercure les Deux Alpes 1800.

Best regards,

Hotel Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#4 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Meije
Hotel La Meije
#14 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Des Neiges
Hotel Des Neiges
#29 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#16 of 44 in Les Deux-Alpes
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel

Property: Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
Address: 1 Promenade des Ecrins | Le Village, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 is set at the top of the Deux Alpes resort and offers views of the resort and the surrounding mountains. A chair lift, at the foot of the hotel, enables you to reach quickly and easily les Deux Alpes Ski Area. Rooms feature a private bathroom with bathtub or shower and hairdryer. A satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and a safe are also provided. Superior rooms also have a balcony. A wide-range of cuisine, including themed buffets, is available at the hotel's restaurant, Les Ecrins. Picnic baskets can be arranged at reception. Guests can enjoy crepes in the bar, Le K2, while admiring the view from the sunny terrace. In the summer, you can relax on the deck chairs provided. The resort's exceptionally high glacier allows guests to ski even in the summer. Other activities offered includes mountain biking, hiking, paragliding, watersports, ... Our young, dynamic and professional team make every efforts in order to provide you the best service. A friendly and relaxing atmsphere is all you need during your holidays ! We will share with you our best picks and best deals ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Les Deux-Alpes 1800 3m Hotel Les Deux-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing