We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week at Chalet Chartreuse!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Deux-Alpes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neilson Chalet Chartreuse
Reviewed February 4, 2014

18 of us stayed at Chalet Chartreuse last week (25.01 - 01.02) and had an absolutely brilliant week. Mikey is a very talented chef and served up better food than I've eaten in many restaurants and Marc goes out of his way and above his job description to accommodate all requests.

A huge breakfast every day, fantastic home made cakes every afternoon, champagne and canapes in front of the open fire at 7pm followed by a 3 course meal with fine wines and then (if you've got room), a cheeseboard and bottle of port - amazing. The chalet is very comfortable indeed and with such rustic charm. The hospitality and service at the chalet was so good that the only night we went out was the night the staff have the night off!

The hot tub was used every day - rolling up the shutter to look up at snow covered mountains cannot be beaten. The location of the chalet is great too, just a short walk to the Diable lift and we had some great skiing too. The staff went above and beyond what I was expecting, getting the hot tub ready for us and bringing wine (in plastic cups, don't worry owners!) out to us while we were in it.

We had one of the bedrooms on the ground floor - small but perfectly comfortable. Happier with this one as it had a nice sized shower - some of the rooms on the top floor have a small bath with a shower over it which wouldn't have suited us as well. Our room was behind the kitchen, a minor point really as the boys didn't crash around, and we were happy to be up early to make the most of our skiing anyway so no complaints there.

Chalet Chartreuse has set the bar high for chalet living for our next trip - I hope Neilson recognise the hard work and extra effort put in by Marc & Mikey as we were talking to several other holiday-goers who were having a very different experience to us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here at the start of December. The chalet was incredible and the staff were amazing. Marc and Mikey looked after us really well and served up some of the best food I've ever had. The rooms were very comfortable and there was an open fire every night. Hot tub was also brilliant and had a great time skiing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in Chalet Chartreuse last week (4-11 Jan 2014) with a large group of family and friends - 17 in total. We had a fabulous week in the Chalet and the hospitality, food and overall service couldn't have been better. Huge thanks to Mark, Mikey and Louis for looking after us so well. The chalet lends itself to a large group of 'sharers' and the chalet staff couldn't do enough for us - even served us beer and wine in the hot tub! I've stayed in a number of ski chalets and this certainly ranked up there with the best. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a fantastic week. The food and hospitality was fantastic - could not be faulted.

Breakfast was good, afternoon cake always really good after a day on the slopes. Canape's then dinner with as much wine as you can drink. Followed by port and cheese after dinner. Better than the restaurants.

Hot tub was great too. Overall a great place to stay and ski.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor but this was fine - no problems. Would avoid the 1st floor where the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickoPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Chalet Chartreuese is perfect for families, friends and couples. During our stay the atmosphere was always very warm and sociable. Will, Jonny and Connie were outstanding hosts.The accomodation was spotless, always kept clean and the food was excellent. The hot tub and sauna were brilliant-used every day. Would highly recommend the holiday, booked through Neilson and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic week at Chalet Chartreuse in Les Deux Alpes.

I have stayed in a number of Catered Chalets around Europe, and without doubt I can say this was as good as the best of them.

We had the warmest of greetings on Saturday afternoon from our amazing hosts, Connie, Jonny and Will - Champagne and lovely apple cake around the log fire, before being shown around around the fantastic chalet and facilities.

The entire chalet is perfect alpine charm - all wooden beams, rustic furniture and and cosy comfort. Ensuit facilities were great - and our balcony a perfect place to relax with a book and a view. The hot tub for 8 was a great place to socialise with other guests at the end of a day on the slopes - especially with the lights off and door rolled up to enjoy the stars and mountain view. The sauna was also a nice touch. Generally, the chalet is just a great place to relax - loads of comfy sofas and space to enjoy the log fire.

The hosting can't be faulted - it was exactly as one would hope. Connie, Jonnie and Will made you feel as if you were staying with family. They were always on hand to be helpful, and go above and beyond the call of duty. Helping my wife to repair her ski jacket, and staying late one evening to host a pub quiz for us all are two examples.

Breakfast was varied - different cooked options each day - and all were nice. Afternoon tea was always waiting for us, laid out, and evening experience was always lots of fun. Aperitifs and canapés, followed by 3 courses and then retiring by the fire for cheeses and port. Red and white wine designed to match each meal was a nice touch - and different to table wine that one often gets in other ski chalets.

Lastly, the location of the chalet was pretty good - about 5 mins walk from the Diable lift. Skiing on the mountain is also good - but not outstanding. Runs are often quite similar, and lack the variety of the largest ski areas. However it is certainly better the a lot of resorts, and off piste is excellent.

Finally, I wanted to respond to a couple of points made by a fellow guest during our week in a below review, which I am disappointed to read. I think the perception painted of the quality of the food is misleading - the vast majority was of a high standard and was always varied. Tartiflette, Asian chicken on slate starters and Eton mess were highlights. For a week's home cooking, preparing at least 6 dishes a day, it is easy to pick out a few faults while ignoring the general high attention to detail.

As across France, rooms are provided with twin alpine beds. We were not surprised as it clearly states the rooms are equipped as such.

Boot room is large and extremely warm with good storage, and there are radiators one can use to dry your kit within the boot room (as opposed to specific boot warmers)

Cleanliness from my perspective can't be faulted. The presence of the manager one evening was not due to issues at the chalet (as to me seemed the point inferred) but because for one day Connie had her arm in a sling, and it was to provide an extra pair of hands.

I would highly recommend the chalet and quality of skiing as being of a standard that will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked with Nielson through an agent and having stayed in Les Andres in Tignes before with them, was expecting quality accommodation. The property is without doubt stunning, rustic and traditional and to the standard expected. We loved the hot tub - open the electric doors - its ace..a nice view of the mountains especially when its snowing!! and as per previous reviews, there was ample towels and dressing gowns :). The bathroom was small but the shower good and the lounge area was comfortable, with plenty to keep us occupied..some lovely views for sure. The bedrooms were fine, but half the light bulbs were not working and under the beds was very very dusty, as were under the cabinets...this was poor house keeping! Talking of the beds...they were awful; singles with poor ability to push together, sunken mattresses and plasticy sheets and the beds squeaked awfully!!. Our room was directly behind the kitchen, meaning we were woken every morning at 6.30am by the breakfast preparations and late into the evening whilst clearing up!...not good for a relaxing holiday. There was no boot warmer, although the changing room downstairs was large and good for storage/changing.

As for the location, it was a 5 minute free bus ride to the main centre, which picked up directly outside the chalet which was excellent. The mountains for skiing and snowboarding were good but seemed more beneficial for those preferring off piste which was plentiful. It was quite limited in the amount of runs for intermediates and beginners and took a considerable time to reach the mid to top runs, above the front facing slopes (mainly blacks) via the gondola. The view at the top however was STUNNING and definitely worth a look.

The Nielson hosts, Connie and Jonnie were very welcoming and friendly and were accommodating generally. I appreciate all their efforts especially Connie with her broken arm and Jonnie who was new to the whole thing!

There were some aspects to the stay which could have been improved however. The chalet is twinned with a UK restaurant, but on occasions the food was very poor. Breakfast was fine...cereal and a variety of cooked stuff available ...the bananas with bacon and brioche really need reviewing! I informed the chef and host that i did not eat fish but without checking what was an alternative, the default was either the fish, the vegetarian option (i am not a vegetarian!) or put up and shut up. Day one..dinner of beef goulash with pasta...Pasta was not right...rice would have been better...day 2..the roast pork was severely over cooked, dry and unpleasant...day three, fish... I had to negotiate for chicken as salmon was the menu..but this was dry and served with cous cous..another dry dish. This was made worse by the split custard that was served..it should never have reached the table...i do not like scrambled egg tasting of vanilla! Day 4 - the manager was there and the dinner of stuffed chicken was OK. The confi duck on one of the last days was awful, dry and tasteless and accompanied by overcooked beans and repetitive mash potato.

The positives...some of the puddings were very nicely made, as were the afternoon cakes and the cheese and wine/port as a forth course was plentiful and of an excellent quality! The lounge is a great place to socialise and the local area is good.

In summary, excellent traditional accommodation needing attention to detail in relation to cleanliness. A menu that needs reviewing and the chef (who was new) needed some assistance in delivering quality food consistently - this influenced the rating of the holiday considerably, and staff that were good and willing to assist. The snowboarding was good but not as good as other resorts such as Tignes or the three valleys for choice. The journey home was long, tedious and unnecessary. (we did not need to arrive at Grenoble more than 3-hrs prior to the flight! and be herded like cattle. Would I revisit ... i had a great great time with my friends and some reasonable snowboarding...but probably not ...this would be due to the area rather that the accommodation and facilities, which only needs some finesse to bring it up to scratch.

Room Tip: staying on the upper floor is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules2641970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.2 mi away
Aalborg Hotel
Aalborg Hotel
#10 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Des Neiges
Hotel Des Neiges
#29 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#3 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Cairn Hotel
Le Cairn Hotel
#20 of 43 in Les Deux-Alpes
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Chalet Chartreuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Chalet Chartreuse

Address: Les Deux Alpes, Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Les Deux-Alpes
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing