We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turned out to be a real gem”
Review of Hotel La Meije

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Meije
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“turned out to be a real gem”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

we found it hard to pick a hotel in les deux alpes as none really stood out on trip, but someone had talked about great food at hotel la meije so we booked there . We were both really impressed with this hotel - the food was excellent every night , given the price point and the need to offer two choices of starters/mains - we have done lots of chalet holidays and this was better than all but the very top end . We wanted to change rooms to get a quieter room on the mountain side and they handled that speedily and with great charm , as they did everything else. A great location near the main express lift to the very top of the glacier ( 3 min walk) , close to the best bars ( polar bear etc ) ,good communal areas . Sure the carpets are tatty , but if you had the punters wandering about in wet/dirty ski boots you would take a while to swap them out too. A very easy place to recommend for a stay in les deux alpes

Room Tip: i would go for the mountain side/back for the quiet, but it depends if you want a big balcony etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    53
    18
    8
    12
See reviews for
36
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a two star hotel which is perfectly positioned in the centre of resort approx 100 yard walk to the main Jandri Express lift. The rooms are quite small as mentioned before but adequate and the hotel more than makes up for this with excellent service and food
Breakfast is cereals, pastries, fruit and yoghurts but the main meals are three courses with two options of exceptional quality, plentiful helpings and reasonably priced drinks to accompany them
Overall if your more concerned with the location and the quality of the food then this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

If you're looking for 5* luxury with spacious rooms then this is not the place for you ! If you're simply looking for a chilled base for skiing then this place is perfect. Our hotel room was tiny (this was an upgraded balcony one), but there is enough storage space, a comfy bed and loads of hot water, what more do you need when you're skiing ! The hotel is in a fab location, just a few minutes walk from the lifts and some great bars along the route.

The breakfast was a simple continental affair with a rather scrummy granola, enough to keep you going until lunch. After a hard days skiing, the bar area is very welcoming with it's roaring fire and cold beer ! The food in the evening was excellent, and the wine reasonably priced.

The staff were all very friendly and the free wi-fi is a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Very well run hotel which is 2 star in terms of room size and decor, bedlinen and towel quality and 4 star in style, food and service at front of house; the rooms were clean and functional, very snug in space terms, but cute with wood panelled walls and ceilings, a flat screen wall mounted TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The beds were blissfully firm and the rooms had plenty of dresser storage and inset wardrobe areas. Rooms have functional en-suites with plenty of hot water. The view of one room faced a wall; not a problem as we weren't on holiday to sit in the room anyway! The other room had a fantastic view to the back of the hotel; a chocolate box picture of an un-pisted expanse of snow; a real bonus. We had standard rooms, so can't give feedback on the family and superior rooms available.

In terms of the hotel overall, Daniel and the team are very professional and work hard to provide a warm and welcoming environment and the result is happy, social guests ~ the atmosphere felt very 'chalet style' to us and we enjoyed mixing and chatting with the other guests during our stay. The public area contains leather styled sofas, coffee tables, a log fire (lit each evening) and bar area, and is very modern and snug. Theres an hot tub on the outside decking - bit of a contrast set amongst the snow laden setting .... Brrrrr .........but was enjoyed by those who used it, and the sauna that is also provided free of charge by the hotel was a welcome addition. Theres also free wifi and free parking available on the main road outside the hotel.

The 3 course evening meal was very nice and the drink prices were reasonable. Food portions were very filing ! Tap (fresh spring) water is provided in attractive glass bottles for guests during meal times. Breakfast was continental with tasty, fresh croissants, ham, cheese and fresh fruit, and decent filter coffee. Croissants and pastries provided from 4pm were a nice touch.

The hotel is in the middle of town, a walk across the road takes you to the main square and to the lifts up. You can ski a series of blues from the top of the glacier to most of the way down to resort level; then its your choice whether to take the green winding piste (which in summer is a road) down for the final part, take the black, decend off-piste, or come down in the (white egg) bubble.

There are some fantastic bars and clubs within a stones throw away from the main square and the Hotel La Meije, food stalls along the road during the evenings, and plenty of shops. We will definitely be booking again for next year; this is the best resort we have been to and the hotel was great.

If you are thinking of booking Les Deux Alpes for the first time, look at the tourism website as the town (currently) provides all sorts of special events and treats, including a welcome drink and chocolate on Saturdays, alongside free access to the swimming pool and ice skating rink for ski pass holders.

We were in resort for half term week and on valentines day, we went to see the ESF ski instructors ski demonstration of speed skiing, agility, tricks and skiing in formation, and the ski and boarding jump display. All of this was set to great music and was fantastic. This was followed by a flare lit decent and then followed by a firework display, all provided free of charge on the Lupins slope. Apparently, ESF instructors host a display every Tuesday evening. But best to check out of the Les Deux Alpes tourism website for details of what is on, and when.

Anyway, a fantastic hotel and resort and we have never been to a ski resort where everyone is so friendly and welcoming to visitors to the town they live and/or work in. We had a ball. Well done Daniel and team and well done the workforce and traders at Les Deux Alpes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We (a small group of families) stayed here last year and, as promised in last years review, returned this February for 7 nights. Again, we couldn't have been happier. The hotel is warm, cosy and clean and has a fantastic location for the ski lifts. A highlight each night is the really excellent food with choice for vegetarians too.

The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful and on our last night, after two of our party had arrived back very late (23.30) from Grenoble hospital after a small skiing injury, the staff had kept two meals back especially for them - very considerate, thanks.

Everything I wrote last year still applies (the chef is new but with the same high quality) and I think this hotel offers great value for your hard earned money !

Room Tip: Book the front for the views or the back to be away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

If you are looking for an hotel in Les Deux Alpes that is incredible value for money, ideally placed for the lifts and all that the resort has to offer then you should really consider La Meije. OK, estate agents would outwardly describe it as Rustic but walk through the door and Dan and his team will make you very welcome as will the open fire in the lounge. It is on the main road so the rooms at the front can be noisy but the view kinda makes up for that. I stayed here last year and was so impressed with the food (worth staying for on it's own merit) so when I heard the chef had changed I was apprehensive. I needn't have worried. The new chef, Ryan, an Aussie, never disappoints. He has even convinced me Pollenta can be enjoyable! Don't believe nasty reviews written by people who have never stayed here, (booked but didn't turn up then demanded their money back I understand), if you want great food, a warm room, constant hot water, helpful, attentive staff and somewhere to lay your head after a hard day on the piste, then you could pick no better place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucca_Bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great hotel, simple but warm with excellent shower. Was in a back room so no road noise from those rowdy holiday makers enjoying the shots !!! Lovely fire in the siting area and a great breakfast. Thank you Dan and the team for a great few days - we will be back

Hilda
PS - the croissants on the bar every day were a very nice touch.

Room Tip: Get a back one although front ones have a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoratioLeatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Deux-Alpes hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Le Souleil'Or
Le Souleil'Or
#6 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
Madame Vacances Hotel Ibiza
#4 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Provencal
Hotel Le Provencal
#5 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Melezes
Hotel Les Melezes
#7 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meije? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meije

Property: Hotel La Meije
Address: 75 avenue de la Muzelle, 38860 Les Deux-Alpes, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Les Deux-Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Les Deux-Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Meije 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Meije reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing