We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Les Grandes Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Grandes Alpes
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week's skiing in La Clusaz - and found Les Grandes Alpes a really convenient, good quality, friendly place to stay.
Pros:-
*excellent staff who were always cheerful, good humoured and very helpful - even made a
phone call on our behalf to argue with a taxi firm in French!
* the views
* convenience, closeness to slopes and shops.
* beds made, linen included

Cons:-
*Only one toilet to share between 7 people in a 3 bed apartment - (but there are other, very clean toilets in the public areas!)
*We had to remove our roof box in order to get the car into the garage - stressful!!!

We will definitely go there again, now we know the lie of the land...

Room Tip: Check if any apartments have more than 1 loo!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tappymays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    51
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in the studio apartment. They accommodation was nice clean and warm. It probably wasn't the best for 4 adults it would have been ideal for a family.

The pool and sauna were great after a days skiing.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BA_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spent a week skiing with my wife and two teenage children. Thought the price was a bit high but the accommodation was spacious, clean, well equipped, comfortable, attractive to look at, and had stunning views of the mountains. There is an excellent supermarket in the ground floor of the building and a cafe selling pleasant fast-food. The walk to the pistes in ski boots was a strain on day one but we were fairly skipping it by the end of the week. There's a free bus that we didn't bother using.

We stayed in a 4-person apartment which had one twin bedroom and a sofa-bed in the living room. The sofa bed was reasonably comfortable but there wasn't much space to hang clothing for those of us using the sofa bed and we found it difficult to hang all of our wet gear around the room when we came in from the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here with some pals to do some cycling in the region.

It is extremely good value - clean and high quality. Perhaps it is more expensive in winter, but the September rates were spot on! Just minutes walk from town - so great for dining out. A supermarche within a minute of the apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We've stayed 4 wonderful nights, May 2013. The location is great, with comfortable private parking and a store just outside, the room was clean, and included all the appliances needed. the view of the alpes was great, and of course, the sevice was warm and helping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steakandWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well equipped and maintained apartments. We had a 2-bedroom apartment which was fine for a family of four, but would be a squeeze if you also had two people on the pull-out sofa. The location was fine, 5 min walk to the main square, 10 min to the ski lifts, although a bit of a trek with all your gear. The supermarket was 50 yards away which was very convenient as we were self catering.

The apartment was very quiet, clean and very comfortable. The swimming pool is not large, but fine for a relaxing dip after a day on the slopes. The view from the balcony was stunning, across the town and the ski terrain. Receptionists spoke good English.

The apartments have free Wifi, however to get reception we had to press ourselves against the door of our apartment as there was reception was lost as soon as you stepped away from the door. We reported this to the receptionist and an engineer was round within an hour or two on Easter Sunday which was impressive, but judging by his overalls he would have been more suited to fixing plumbing or electrical problems, not internet connection. It never did get resolved.

As often on the continent, pillows were pretty useless, offering no support.

All-in-all I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just spent an excellent week in Les Grandes Alps. The location of the apartments means there is only a short walk to the town center, with a supermarket directly at the front. All the staff are friendly and are happy to help. The apartments are very clean with everything working as it should. Views are nothing short of stunning. There were three of us in a 4 person room with a bunk bed in the bedroom that was separated from the main room using a curtain and a sofa bed in the main room that was actually very comfortable and easy to operate, all be it, a bit squeaky with all the springs that are used to assist in it's opening and closing. The only issue we had was the other chairs that were provided to sit on were deck chair type recliners, which were perfect for use on the balcony, but the room could have easily accommodated another type of 'comfy' chair. The swimming pool is small but you can activate a jet which can be used to swim against for any length of time, the views again from the pool are stunning, there is also a sauna room which is perfectly adequate. The common room is very cosy with two settees situated in front of a fireplace, with adjacent TV, several games tables and a pool table (which could do with leveling to be honest). All-in-all and superb place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heppy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#3 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaulieu
Hotel Beaulieu
#5 of 20 in La Clusaz
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#6 of 20 in La Clusaz
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#8 of 20 in La Clusaz
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Grandes Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Grandes Alpes

Property: Les Grandes Alpes
Address: 516 route des Grandes Alpes, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in La Clusaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Grandes Alpes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Les Grandes Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing