We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Alpen Roc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpen Roc
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights on a tour with JustGo holidays. The situation of the hotel could not be better, in the centre of the beautiful alpine village of La Clusaz. The hotel was typical of what you would expect an alpine hotel to look like, within easy reach of the ski lifts, the bars and shops. La Clusaz is like a picture postcard surrounded by snow-capped mountains and lush green valleys. The food was okay with a good choice of starters and sweets, but the main courses were a little weird, not really to my taste. One thing which really does need sorting out is the state of the balconies, they were falling apart and looked a little dangerous. But never the less this was our first coach trip with JustGo and it was just brilliant, (special praise for our driver Sergio). Some building alterations do seem to be ongoing but we didn't see or hear any of it. A really lovely place to visit, and a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 726 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by scaffolding and rubble outside.the balcony had building materials on it and was unusable.the first room we were given had a view of workmen outside the window on scaffolding and a working crane moving to and fro.second room had no light with window being completely blocked by large blocks of building materials on scaffolding stacked against the window.the window could not be opened causing a major safety hazard.no more rooms were available till next day and we had to stay there under the strongest protest.this was a shocking and stressful start to our holiday.the hotel was being renovated and should not have been open.the hotel was a building site in progress.the tour operator was shearings and i would not stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned. Refurbishment is no-where near finished.
Dust, debris, scaffolding everywhere.
Front veranda closed off, unsafe. Room balconies unsafe.
Rooms stink off new wood and preservative.
Weeds everywhere. No widow boxes. Photos are misleading.
Do not go there until management confirm that every thing is finished and tidy.
Could be nice when it's finished.

Room Tip: Rooms to front (south) have a good view of the mountains, Most rooms are on the side, Rooms to left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, nice meals, centrally located and close to the ski lifts. The hotel was very flexible with the very early and late arrival / departure times of our group. The participants were very happy with the hotel. I can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophw952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came as a group of five. The staff were great and very obliging with our numerous requests eg vegeterianism, strange leaving times.
Lace welcomed us to each meal in the restaurant and made us feel very at home.

We stayed half board and it was very convenient and greAt value. The post skiing drinks and cake, the Pre prandial reception each night were great touches. I didn't use the pool or spa but I'm told they were good after skiing.

A big thumbs up from us. Sam and family from london.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

When I booked this hotel and the price came up at 1400 euros for 5 days, I thought I would be getting some more for my money.
This is a nice hotel in the lovely skiing village of La Clusaz in the French alps, great location just a short walk from the slopes and minutes from most of the nicest little restaurants. The staff is really friendly but the hotel is not up to the expectations.
In the website they promised hot beverages facilities but when i asked they said they only had 3 kettles and they had given them away already. The swimming pool was not very warm and the carpets and decoration throughout the building could really do with some refreshing.
The rooms are a decent size and they have complimentary ice tea. coke and sweets for the skiers when they come back from a day in the snow.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has everything you need for a ski/ snowboarding break .... It is a 5 minute walk to the lifts which is quite tiring with ski boots on ...breakfast is continental ( apart from some little hot sausages).... Dinner is a choice between 2 starters for adults and 2 main. and 1 starter and main for the kids... My son ( age 11) chose from the adults menu .... There is also a fabulous dessert buffet and cheese table . You also get a free bottle of wine with your meal .... The menu is in French, but there is a lovely English waitress, who is more than willing to help you translate and is very friendly ....a nice touch is the welcoming free drinks and cake when you come in from the slopes ..... Fruit juice and cake in the reception area and upstairs in the bar, tea/coffee/chocolate all complimentary ...... The bar has a roaring fire and the most spectacular views of the mountain ....... The bedrooms are adequate..... 1 double bed and bunk beds .....separate bathroom and toilet and lots of storage space ..... They are cleaned every day and also have self regulating radiators in the main room and bathroom...... The rooms are cosy and made to look like your in a log cabin ....... The pool area is quite small, there is also a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi...... Towels are available from behind the main reception .....there is a space designated to your room where you can leave your skies/ snowboards ( situated in the ski hire shop at the rear of the hotel) ...... All staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#2 of 20 in La Clusaz
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#6 of 20 in La Clusaz
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaulieu
Hotel Beaulieu
#5 of 20 in La Clusaz
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige Odalys Le Chamois
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#9 of 20 in La Clusaz
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpen Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpen Roc

Address: Centre du Village 388 route des Grandes Alpes, 74220 La Clusaz, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Alpen Roc)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Clusaz
#4 Family Hotel in La Clusaz
Price Range: $151 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpen Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpen Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Roc Hotel La Clusaz
Best Western La Clusaz
La Clusaz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing